|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Final Fantasy VIII

An RPG video game released by Square (Playstation 1)

< read all 8 reviews

A Quick Tip by Ashgail

  • Feb 21, 2011
The game generally viewed by many as a radical departure from the tried and tested Final Fantasy formula is one of my favourite games of all time. The character designs are superb, the world is well versed in its own culture and the junction system is one of the more innovative ideas that Squaresoft experimented.

However, as many would say, the story is where this game falls to disgrace. There are several nice plot twists, but Squaresoft fails to implement a proper story to back up these twists, and the final boss appears out of thin air, lacking proper explanation for her motives.

Final Fantasy VIII is also on the easy side of the spectrum, where players do not have to pull their hairs in frustration because a boss defeated the party in one hit. Aside from the hidden bosses, the main game is extremely easy, which might make or break some players.

Final Fantasy VIII is only to be played by the more forgiving players which is interested to see how Squaresoft deviates from the usual formula and experiments in a variety of ways
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
February 22, 2011
Honestly, I think Square made this one for the fangirls. The whole story was centred around this silly, juvenile high school romance with some generic chick and a moody, jerk-ass bishounen. I couldn't bring myself to care about any of the characters in this game and that was the killing blow for me. Drawing magic and junctioning was kinda lame, but I could have lived with it if the story and characters had been good.
February 22, 2011
You are aware that most Final Fantasy protagonists are bishounens, right? Cloud crossdresses in game, Vaan perfectly fits the description, and Tidus and Zidane are not those tough guy types either. Like I said, people were divided between liking 8's system and despising it till the end of time
February 22, 2011
Yeah, but FFVIII's story was closer to Twilight than it was to FFVII, regardless of Cloud's cross-dressing. Bishounen don't bother me at all, but some sappy chick flick love story in my RPGs is definitely not wanted.
February 22, 2011
Well, if you didn't like it, then I can't convince you to like it. :) What I can do is to redirect you to Shadow Hearts 2 and introduce you to one of JRPG's wonders
February 22, 2011
I've heard a lot of great things about the Shadow Hearts series. I've been wanting to track down the first game -- supposedly it's better to play em in order, right? -- but even used copies are fairly expensive. Oy, the curse of niche RPGs... if you miss them the first time around you don't always get a second chance >_<
February 22, 2011
It is indeed sad. I wish it could've got more recognition. Shadow Hearts has the perfect balance of drama, comedy and action. The humour, cast and impressive battle system is what makes the game so memorable. If you can find a copy at decent prices, probably you should play it in chronological order, but I must warn you that the first Shadow Hearts is just a so-so game. Covenant (2) is the best in the series, while 3 is considered okay, since it lost some of Covenant's charm. But if you REALLY must choose either one of the series, go for Shadow Hearts Covenant.
 
February 21, 2011
I'm one of those more forgiving players, and I found myself completely in love with the Junction system. Once you figure it out, it's easily one of the greatest skill systems ever. I always disagreed that there was a real Final Fantasy formula in the first place - the series has been constantly evolving and changing since its inception. It's like people played two of the more similar games in the series and assumed that it was the "tried and tested" formula.
February 21, 2011
I'd have to agree with you there, being there's really no "tried and tested" formula since Final Fantasy is a series that is constantly evolving, but the feel of VIII is a bit different than what people used to have.

For example, VIII is the only one (I think?) that allows you to choose your commands from a set list of battle commands. So it's either you want to have the ability to Draw in battle, or would you forsake draw for a Summon? This change in design from the usual "Attack, Magic, Item, Defend"

Also another aspect is the 'boost' feature. I feel that it's one of the more creative experiments to increase the attack power of Guardian Forces while not disrupting the gameplay. It's sad to see that one of the better system only stays in VIII
February 21, 2011
There's at least one other game (FFV) that allows you to switch around your battle commands. If you haven't played it, I suggest you try it out, the job system in that one is a lot of fun to tinker around with.
February 22, 2011
I really should give FFV a second try. Initially, I spent only 1 hour on that game before giving up on it
 
1
More Final Fantasy VIII reviews
review by . July 15, 2011
posted in The Gaming Hub
The fact that Final Fantasy 8 looks really pretty is obvious is universally agreed upon. But once you get underneath the glamour and glitz of Squaresoft's multimillion-dollar blunder, you'll see that there is... Well, I want to say nothing, but that's not true. There's something under there, but it's bigger and much more confusing than your average rocket scientist or brain surgeon could handle. I shall try my best to explain it.    First I have to get the boring stuff - er, …
Quick Tip by . February 22, 2011
posted in Siliconera Bounce
If I remember correctly, I was even more impressed with VIII than VII. Squall was a much more interesting protagonist than Cloud, and everything that mattered just felt improved from VII, especially the battle system. It's also got Triple Triad, my favorite mini game in an FF. Sure, the romance went over head a bit at the time, but I was glad it went better than the last one.      EDIT: Was the story really that bad? I really need to replay this one...
Quick Tip by . February 21, 2011
posted in Siliconera Bounce
My least favorite Final Fantasy. It had weird design choices that got annoying like the draw func. The story ...  Oh boy its spits you're face bad. I HATED the characters and the story is so poorly connected. There's no flow in it and no rhyme or reason behind why things happen. It felt like square just made a big list of cool plot twist/elements and THEN tried very lazily to connect them. Plot holes galore and just plain painful execution of ideas that seem like they would be interesting …
Quick Tip by . September 26, 2010
posted in The Gaming Hub
This is where the FF game series went downhill for me, it's damn impressive PS1 graphics don't overlook the cornerstones of FF games to come, overly corny soap opera dialouge, lack of sense in the story, and WAY too much mixing of sci fi and fantasy.
review by . September 02, 2009
posted in The Gaming Hub
When Final Fantasy VII debuted in 1997 it was hailed as the greatest of great RPGs. When Final Fantasy VIII came around in 1999, it had so much to live up to. So much hype that the bar was set too high, even for Final Fantasy VIII to hit. Almost ten years later, it's a little easier to look at Final Fantasy VIII with fondness. In part because that bar it had to reach is no longer there. The hype has settled. We can now look at Final Fantasy VIII for what it is. It's a great game to be sure, but …
review by . February 19, 2009
Following a legend is never easy.....especially when that legend is considered by many to be the greatest RPG of all time. Even today, nearly twelve years after its release, Final Fantasy VII still receives all the accolades.....but Final Fantasy VIII does a tremendous job escaping the shadow of its predecessor. Let us take a closer look at the eighth installment in this best-selling series.     Story:     The star of this installment is Squall Leonhart, a …
review by . July 02, 2001
posted in The Gaming Hub
When people play a Final Fantasy game they expect several things to come out of the finished game! For one thing a great story, great charicters, cool battle system, drama, comedy, and greatness, cool graphics, and overall a great game! That said and done Final Fantasy VIII is the worst example of how to make a great RPG! When a great RPG company like Squaresoft, who been making the best RPG's for years now, comes in and makes a game, people expect it to be great!!! Esspecally if it's a Final Fantasy …
About the reviewer
Yusouf ()
Ranked #1295
You wa shock!!! A figure collector and a closet otaku!      -I'll update this when I have the time to do so ;__;-
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Ashgail
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this video game

Wiki


SquareSoft has always had a sure-fire hit when releasing any of theirFinal Fantasytitles, andFinal Fantasy VIIIshould be no exception. The basis of a good RPG (role-playing game) has always been the story; spectacular graphics are secondary.Final Fantasy VIII's involved and interesting story line is filled with great twists, well-developed characters, suspense, and romance. As an added bonus, the graphics are beautiful. Everything--from the low-lit jazz club to the steam-filled railroad tunnels--is gorgeous and perfectly sets the mood and tone of a scene.

The game mechanics are standard fare for an RPG: acquisition of items and spells, turn-based combat, experience points earned in combat allowing advances in levels. From exploration to battles to dialogue, Final Fantasy VIII has it all. However, Final Fantasy VIII falls to that great weakness of RPGs: random battles. While necessary for advancing in levels, the battles occur with such frequency that they can grow annoying, making for a tedious game experience.

The epic storyline spans four discs--over 40 hours of gameplay--and is based around a mercenary cadet who finds himself caught up with an underground rebel faction. He winds up in a plot to assassinate the sorceress who has just seized power from the president.

You could complain of limited replay value, but this gripe is of no consequence: the game is such a satisfying experience, it doesn't require replay. Final Fantasy VIII is easily worth both the hype ...

view wiki

Details

ESRB: teen, T - (Teen)
Number of Players: 1
Publisher: Square
Developer: SquareSoft
Console: PlayStation 1 Games
Genre: RPG
Release Date: February 11, 1999
Polls with this video game
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists