|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Video Games » Reviews » Michael Jackson The Experience » User review

Dance Along With The King of Pop!

  • Dec 22, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5
I bought this as a Christmas gift for my niece and soon proved why I'm the coolest Auntie EVER (that's what she said). I grew up watching MJ videos and wishing I could dance like him, so this was a must play for me.
                               

The dances vary from easy to hard and you can either dance with Michael or as one of his back-ups (for multiple players). They have a section for warming up, so you don't hurt yourself, with a real dancer walking you through a full warm up routine. There is a dance school to teach you the moves and allow you to rehearse before the "show". However, my ADHD (or typical 10-year-old) niece had no patience or time for that so we just jumped in and it was easy enough to pick up.
                                                            
You only have to move the controller and match it up at the right time to the exact action as it hits a circle in the upper corner of the screen. The dance moves are shown as human outlined figures with the controller arm highlighted. I couldn't stand still when following the moves even if I wanted to, so I was doing the full dance moves which helped me keep time and get a few Perfects in a row! It isn't a watered down version of MJ moves like I had originally expected. This helped me realize what an amazing dancer MJ was- I can't believe he did all that for 50 years! I could barely do it for 5 minutes and I'm a freestyle breakdancer LOL!  I actually felt like I was dancing with the King of Pop and that makes it well worth the $40.
                              
The range of songs from ALL MJ albums was fantastic and you get to unlock more along the way. The full list of songs is:
  • Another Part of Me (from Bad) (Only with Wal-Mart or HMV special edition)
  • Bad (from Bad)
  • Beat It (from Thriller)
  • Billie Jean (from Thriller)
  • Black or White (from Dangerous)
  • Dirty Diana (from Bad)
  • Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough (from Off the Wall)
  • Earth Song (from HIStory: Past, Present and Future, Book I)
  • Ghosts (from Blood on the Dance Floor: HIStory in the Mix)
  • The Girl Is Mine (from Thriller)
  • Heal The World (from Dangerous)
  • In the Closet (from Dangerous)
  • Leave Me Alone (from Bad)
  • Money (from HIStory: Past, Present and Future, Book I)
  • Remember the Time (from Dangerous)
  • Rock With You (from Off the Wall)
  • Smooth Criminal (from Bad)
  • Speed Demon (from Bad)
  • Streetwalker (from Bad - 2001 Special Edition)
  • Sunset Driver (The Ultimate Collection)
  • The Way You Make Me Feel (from Bad)
  • They Don't Care About Us (from HIStory: Past, Present and Future, Book I)
  • Thriller (from Thriller)
  • Wanna Be Startin' Somethin' (from Thriller)
  • Who Is It (from Dangerous)
  • Will You Be There (from Dangerous)
  • Workin' Day and Night (from Off the Wall)

Another fun part of the game is that it also has a karaoke option. The words to the song are played along the bottom of the screen so you can sing and dance, if you're a multitasker or really want to become the King of Pop.

It should be noted that the game will be released in February 15,2011 on Kinect and Playstation Move. However, for now, it's on the Wii, DS and Playstation Portable. Though I can't imagine how you'd play it on a mobile system and I'm not sure I'd want to try, I'll leave that to someone else to review.

I like this game so much that I want to go out and get a Wii System just so I can do it in my living room. In fact, by the end of the evening, Nando and I were convinced we needed a Wii station playing this game at our reception to get everyone up and dancing. So, if you always wanted to dance and sing like the King of Pop- this is your game.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
18
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
January 05, 2011
This looks totally awesome. I want it! Now I have to get a Wii!
January 05, 2011
One of my friends got this Video Game for her son for Christmas. It's amazing!
January 05, 2011
This game rocks! I feel the same way Bethany- this is why I want to get a Wii now, guess we'll have to add it to our registries ;p @Shauna- lucky son! Did you play along with him? It's SO much fun!
 
December 31, 2010
Oh my gosh, when my daughter (who is in love with MJ as much as I am) and I saw this advertised on TV I said to her and the hubbie that I wanted a Wii just for this game - now that I read your fantastic review, now I have to put a system on my wish list!! This sounds so awesome!!!!!!! Oh my -- the lists of songs are great, and what a fantastic idea!! I want it...and bad!! You are an awesome Aunt for sure Samantha!! And a great review; I love how you broke it all down with your explanations and the song list. Great job!!
December 31, 2010
Thanks, soul twin :) I kept thinking of you when I was writing this review. I DEFINITELY want to get a Wii just for this game and while I'm at it I may actually do the Wii Fit but, I won't need it with this game. Your fam will have a BLAST- Jenna and I sure did and then, Fernando (soon-to-be Mr. Sam LOL) dove in and did some moves.
December 31, 2010
Awww-how sweet for thinking of me!! I'm ready to put a Wii on layaway just for this game. Great exercise not to mention grooving to the best music!!
December 31, 2010
I wish you lived closer, we could get a MJ Experience party going :)
January 01, 2011
Wouldn't that be a blast!!
January 02, 2011
Definitely!
 
December 23, 2010
wow! This game sounds like it is going to make me sweat! very nice write up! Oh--what is favorite MJ move?
December 23, 2010
My fave MJ move? Gotta be the moonwalk LOL He copies a lot from James Brown who was a HUGE influence on his dancing, so the other moves that I like (all the footwork) was taken from JB and doesn't qualify as a MJ move. But, the moonwalk is all his ;p
December 31, 2010
Can you imagine the stamina he had -- not only doing all the moves, but singing along at the same time, over and over while on tour, not to mention the videos? I am amazed at the never ending energy he had. And you're right about the influence James Brown had on him; Michael said he studied his moves since he was a child, and he also was mesmerized by mimes and ballet which you can clearly see in his dancing too. He never ceases to amaze me....bless his heart. I gotta get a Wii!!
December 31, 2010
No...I was huffing and puffing after Thriller and I'm a freestyle breakdancer LOL....I was like this man did this for 50 years, performed and sang AND did this amazing dancing all at the same time?!? And actually, I have to correct myself- he didn't invent the moonwalk but, copied it off the Soul Train dancers, which he watched religiously. Soul Train is actually how he learned to do the robot which he busted out for his first time performing live with the 5! He may not have invented it but, he made it famous....so I think I can get away with saying the moonwalk. I just had to tell you guys that in the interest of full disclosure ;p
December 31, 2010
This is what I like about sites like this, I get to learn more about something that I didn't know was a fact. Moonwalk woo-hoo!!
December 31, 2010
Not to mention the shoes he created and patented for his famous "lean" on Smooth Criminal - brilliant!!
December 31, 2010
Yep Woo- if you need to know anything about MJ, Brenda and I have you covered lol! Yep! And those whole costumes with LED lights that were created for "This Is It" that sadly never saw the spotlight of night :(
January 01, 2011
Oh yeah -- and I loved the purple costume he would have worn during the Jackson 5 segment of the tour. And the new Thriller costume...and...well, you get the idea! LOL
January 02, 2011
LOL...I loved everything about it :)
 
1
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
Ranked #15
I'm a human jukebox that is constantly changing my station depending on my mood!   Feel free to share your passion with me in my communities: Pass the Remote!, Hip Hop Culture, Wedding Planning … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
djevoke
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this video game

Wiki

Michael Jackson The Experience is a dance and party game for Wii in which players at all levels can groove right along with the King of Pop. Designed as a complete Michael Jackson gameplay experience, the game features 26 unforgettable hits, authentic choreography, lyrics to each song and visual representations of "The Gloved One" made famous in live performances and music videos for each song. Additional features include: 4-player support, and multiple modes including co-op and competitive as well as a practice mode.

Michael Jackson The Experience game logo
Groove Like the King of Pop

No artist in history has commanded the stage like Michael Jackson, the undisputed King of Pop. With over 800 million albums sold worldwide and 13 #1 singles in the US, there is no doubt that Michael Jackson's music influenced pop culture as we know it today. Michael Jackson The Experience is the ultimate performance game featuring the world's ultimate performer - providing an interactive experience that enables players to step into the shoes of Michael Jackson himself and relive his most iconic moments through their own performance.

Michael Jackson in the Motown years from Michael Jackson The Experience
The ultimate dance/party game for fans of the King of Pop.
View larger.
Gameplay

Michael Jackson The Experience is the essential Dance and Party game for fans of the King of Pop. Packed with 26 of Michael's most unforgettable hits including "Billie Jean," "Beat It," "Smooth Criminal" and many more. The game features full ...

view wiki

Details

ESRB: E10+
Number of Players: Single-player, Multi-player
Publisher: Ubisoft, Triumph International
Developer: Ubisoft Montreal, Ubisoft Montpellier, Ubisoft Paris, Ubisoft São Paulo
Console: Wii, Nintendo DS, Xbox 360, PlayStation 3, PlayStation Portable (PSP), Microsoft Windows, Apple Mac
Genre: Music
Release Date: November 23, 2010 (NA)
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists