|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Video Games » Reviews » Wii Fit Plus with Balance Board » User review

WII Fit, fits my life

  • Jan 21, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+3
Believe it or not, my 6 year old actually received the WII Fit Plus as a Christmas gift.  The grandparents aren't worried about her exercising or getting fit, but they know that my daughter enjoys doing things and staying active all of the time.  And with our winter being one of the craziest, coldest, and snowiest that I can recall, it's been a wonderful addition in our house!

The WII FIT PLUS

The WII Fit Plus came with a balance board and a ton of exercises and activities to help keep anyone active.  You can work on yoga, strength training, balance and other items and it will keep you busy.

My daughter enjoys the balancing items like crusing around on the Segway to hunt down the balloon gophers and she enjoys the rhythm boxing.  Those two seem to be her favorites.  I like working on the yoga type stances, the step classes are kind of fun too, the rhythm boxing and rhythm kung fu are exciting to do.  There are many items to try and to like, I am sure most everyone can find something they enjoy. 

With these activities and my daughter has been learning a lot about rhythm, balance and stamina to complete items.  She has been trying diligently to get through the activitites to unlock the "expert" levels and seems to be whisking through the variety of strength, aerobics and balance items.  They also don't have just the one level, they make it a challenge. You usually have about 3 different levels, but things change up on the different levels and the length of time you do the activity increases as well.  

I think it keeps you interested and keeps you challenged.  The advertisers keep showing people using this and doing the pant drop showing you how much they have lost.  I cannot say this could be a replacement for the gym or an exercise club.  But, if you use it with a reduction in eating, or eating better, it does help get you active and keep you from being a total couch potato at home.

If you are looking to delicately jump into an exercise routine, this might be a great jump to get you started, especially if you are not a club type person or you feel embarassed being in a gym because you aren't the already healthy picture of yourself.  It might be a great thing to try to get you kick started.

If you have younger children that want to play with video games, this gives them great interaction and is fun with the variety of things they can try.  It's fun watching my daughter giggle at the "balance board" figure as he talks to you about how long it's been since you were last here and when he changes hats to celebrate holidays and things.  She really thinks he's a cutie!

Enjoy it if you have it, if not, you might see if a friend has it and you can take it for a trial run.  You might enjoy it in your house!  I know that we sure do!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
10
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
January 25, 2010
Great review, Kim!  This sounds like fun and I'm glad to hear that both you and your 6 year old enjoy it :)  By the way, I moved your review from the Wii Fit data point to this one for the Wii Fit Plus so that Lunchers can find it more easily ;)
January 25, 2010
Thank you. Still learning the ropes out here, I do appreciate the help!
 
January 22, 2010
We got the Wii Fit Plus for Christmas but have not played it. The original Wii Fit was fun, so I'm assuming this one will be too. Nice review!
January 22, 2010
It's enjoyable. You should break it out!
January 22, 2010
Yeah, I will try and convince the spouse to re-hook up our system. We took it down when we went home for Christmas and New Year's to play video games with family. Of course, now I'm sick and shouldn't play anything until I'm well. This stinks! LOL!
 
January 21, 2010
We just bought my dad a Wii for his birthday this month and now my mom wants the Wii Fit for herself. Great insight here, thanks for such a well organized review, Magick1! I even saw this posted up on Lunch's Facebook fan page!
January 21, 2010
Wow...glad I could help. Thank you for your kind comments!
 
1
More Wii Fit Plus with Balance Boar... reviews
review by . January 28, 2010
posted in The Gaming Hub
I really liked the original Wii Fit but after a few months, many of the 'fun' balance games felt like a 'been there done that' kind of thing.    They were still fun but many of them needed to go to another level. Additionally, the other fitness selections also were limited in their variety and difficulty.    Wii Fit Plus is a great way to take your Wii Fit program to the next level. Nintento has obviously looked at the popularity and flexibility of some other …
review by . December 26, 2009
posted in The Gaming Hub
If Wii Fit has a flaw, it may be that it begins with an induction ritual during which it announces that you are underweight, overweight, weak, or older than your years. In our reasonably healthy family, only the 18 year old gymnast completely satisfied the Wii's requirements. However, you can do this bit in private and password protect your data if you choose to.    Wii Fit has activities for balance, yoga, strength training, and aerobics. The activities are of three types.   &nbs …
About the reviewer
Kim Johnson ()
Ranked #435
Ilike writing, when Ihave time, enjoy trying new things and I love sharing my opinions about products. My family is pretty active with an almost 7 year old just getting ready to test for her Black/White … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Magick1
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this video game

Wiki

Wii Fit attracted millions of new players to the world of video games. Now Wii Fit Plus offers a range of new features and enhancements to help players reinvigorate their workouts, along with exercises and balance games designed to keep them fun. Players will find a new dimension to the Wii Fit experience as they easily set their own customized workout routines, or choose 20-, 30- or 40-minute workouts based on how much time they have available.

'Wii Fit Plus' game logo

 
Yoga and strength activity selector in 'Wii Fit Plus'
6 new yoga & strength activities.
View larger.
The 'Perfect 10' balance game from 'Wii Fit Plus'
The 'Perfect 10' balance game.
View larger.
Workout personalization options in the Locker Room in 'Wii Fit Plus'
Personalization options.
View larger.
The 'Obstacle Course' balance game from 'Wii Fit Plus'
'Obstacle Course' game
View larger.
Targeting specific body areas for excercise in 'Wii Fit Plus'
Target specific body areas.
View larger.
Users will also be able to choose from specialized workout routines that focus on all-around individual personal fitness goals or certain target areas. And with the addition of activities like Skateboarding and Rhythm Kung Fu, players will be using the Wii Balance Board accessory in a variety of new and fun ways.

Gameplay
As with the original Wii Fit release, Wii Fit Plus is designed, as its name implies, to improve the user's fitness. The game contains a large number of activities that fall into a variety of categories, including: yoga, aerobics, strength training and balance games. With all but a few exceptions, which utilize variations on a standard Wii Remote configuration, all activities utilize the Wii Balance Board (included with this bundle), either alone or configured with either...

view wiki

Details

ESRB: EVERYONE
Publisher: Nintendo
Developer: Nintendo
Console: Nintendo Wii
Genre: Sports
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists