|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Video Games » Reviews » Microsoft Xbox 360 » User review

Xbox 360

A video game console.

< read all 3 reviews

Xbox 360 Arcade version better than the other 2

  • Feb 5, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+1
I think the xbox 360 arcade version has to be the best bang for the buck.  First of all, its only 199 compared to the other 2 (299, and 399).  The only actual difference between them is mainly the hard drive.  So I went around doing some price hunting on how much these hard drives cost if I bought them separately.  So first place I checked, was amazon.com.  For a brand new 120 gb hd, which comes with the elite version (399), it was going for 134.99.  So if I bought the hard drive separately and got the arcade edition, it would be a about 335 total.  Of course the other little difference between the elite edition and the arcade is that the system is black and it comes with a head set and the 2 systems comes with different free games(usually crappy ones no one wants).  Of course if those things are worth an extra 65 bux to you then I guess you should go for the elite.   But I also realized a lot of people were selling brand new 120 gb hd because they bought the elite system and already had a 120 gb hd so they were selling the ones that came with the system.  I got mine for less than 100 including shipping.  so if you do the math, I got an xbox 360 with a brand new, but black, 120 gb hd for less than 300 bux.

Ohhh one last thing I should mention, the arcade version is guarantee to come with the newer hardware so you're for sure not getting those screwed up older systems that causes those red wings of death so often.

UPDATE 04-10-2009:
Microsoft customer support really sucks.  I can not play original xbox games.  I've emailed their customer support guys and its safe to say they're clueless.  So I did some research online and a lot of people have the same problem.  Someone found out it has to do with the 120 gb hd having issues.  How long have this hard drive been out and why have they not created a patch fix for this?
arcade box

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
April 28, 2009
Does the Arcade version have the HDMI output? I wasn't sure if all the new models had it, or just the higher end ones. Also -- why are you playing original Xbox titles on the 360? It's 2009... Get Over It!
April 28, 2009
Arcade version doesn't come with HDMI cable. had to buy it separately for a whopping 10 BUX!!! As for playing original xbox games, I wanted to test out some of the classic games that people rave about. Hell, I still buy old school SNES games that are remade for the newer consoles =)
 
February 06, 2009
Well the arcade bundle currently comes with Sega Superstars Tennis game and 5 bundled Xbox Live Arcade games. And the elite comes with lego indiana jones and kung fu panda. These are holiday bundle promotions. Basically they're giving the games away for free to increase sales. Obviously these games aren't bestsellers... In fact, mine are still wrapped unopened and will never be opened since I have no intentions of playing it ever.
 
February 06, 2009
You didn't mention what games come with the XBOX360 Arcade and now I am curious!
 
1
More Microsoft Xbox 360 reviews
Quick Tip by . July 21, 2011
The best thing to get for your xbox is xbox live and dont get Ps3
review by . July 28, 2009
The XBOX 360, is another console within this gaming generation that's turning heads.  It so far trails in second place to Wii but manages to do better than the PS3.  The system launched in 2005... a year before its competition.  And while many were uncertain at first, thanks to a launch that didn't present a lot of games, the 360 has managed to solidify itself.       Preface   I have to do this for the sake of my own sanity.  Gaming has become akin …
About the reviewer
Jerry Lau ()
Ranked #170
"I'm a gambler. Whatever I can bet on, I'm a fan of. It doesn't matter whether its horse racing, boxing, football, or even a coin flip - if I can bet on it, I will."    That was 2 … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
foboftheyear
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this video game console

Wiki

The Xbox 360 is the second video game console produced by Microsoft, and the successor to the Xbox. The Xbox 360 competes with Sony's PlayStation 3 and Nintendo's Wii as part of the seventh generation of video game consoles. The integrated Xbox Live service allows players to compete online and download content such as arcade games, game demos, trailers, TV shows, and movies.

The Xbox 360 was officially unveiled on MTV on May 12, 2005, with detailed launch and game information divulged later that month at the Electronic Entertainment Expo (E3). The console sold out completely at the release in all regions except in Japan, and, as of January 5, 2009, 28 million units have been sold worldwide according to Microsoft. The Xbox 360 is available in three configurations: the "Arcade", the "Xbox 360", and the "Elite" console, each with its own selection of accessories. The 'Core' system (which included no accessories, except for a wired controller) has now been discontinued.
view wiki

Details

Brand: Microsoft
Category: Video Games
Developer: Microsoft
Release Date: November 16, 2005
Console Type: Console
Polls with this video game console
Atari 2600

Rate Your Favorite Consoles!

by

The current Nintendo DSI

Rate your Favorite Console!

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists