|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Gaming » Reviews » Nintendo DS » User review

Nintendo DS

hand-held gaming platfrom from Nintendo

< read all 3 reviews

great game platform for kids

  • Sep 4, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+4
My 7-year-old son has one of these and he's fascinated by it (ok, addicted to it). There are lots of terrific games for kids  of all types, from Nintendogs (train your dogs by speaking to them, petting them, etc.) to the amazing Pokemon games (his and his friends' favorites). Really incredible little machine, at a reasonable price (about $120), with engaging (albeit small) graphics, interaction by voice, touch, or buttons, and great games available for it.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
2
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
January 11, 2009
I think two things make this especially good for kids. One is that the game-makers seem to focus on this platform for the most kid-friendly games - there are a LOT of E (for everyone) games available for this platform. And the other is that since it is relatively inexpensive and popular with the grade-school set, a lot of kids have it, so the kids help each other learn the games and can play many of them together over wifi (a favorite Friday afternoon activity at my son's after-school care). One thing I've discovered lately, however, after my son has gone through his first player, is that there seems to be a well-known manufacturing issue, which makes the top screen liable to break off given a bit of rough use. (It happened after my son dropped his a few times while the machine was open). Still, I stand by the review. It's given my son a solid year (so far) of fun, which is much longer than any other toy he's had. He still loves it (even after getting a Wii).
 
January 10, 2009
My friend has one of these, that she plays on the subway. Curious to know: What do you think makes this model especially child-friendly?
 
October 24, 2008
hey darcy, update your profile pic!
 
1
More Nintendo DS reviews
review by . March 17, 2007
Pros: Great game play experience when used with games that utilize the touch screen     Cons: Bigger than most previous Game Boys and the newer DS Lite     The Bottom Line: Great system overall, especially when it came out, but it is worth the extra money to get the newer DS Lite version to enjoy this system.     This is a great improvement from the Game Boy Advance series of systems, although it seems kind of bulky, especially in comparison …
review by . November 28, 2004
I have to admit that I was completely suprised at how much I enjoy my Nintendo DS. The advances Nintendo has made over its "GameBoy Advanced" are amazing. In fact, just the "mini" games in Super Mario 64 game has more entertainment value than almost any Gameboy Advanced Game. Another thing that is incredible is the size of the game... it is the size of a standard flash memory card, which makes Nintendo DS games about 75% smaller than those for GB Adv.    Here are a run down of …
About the reviewer

Ranked #1844
Member Since: Aug 11, 2008
Last Login: Apr 26, 2009 12:24 AM UTC
Recent reviews by darcyd
About this video game console

Wiki

In a surprising number of ways, the Nintendo DS is quite unlike any video game system that's come before. First, there's the two screens, one above and one below. The idea might seem like a gimmick -- the screens are far enough apart that you won't be able to see them as one long screen -- but the format works in a complementary way. Depending on the game, the DS serves action in one screen and details, maps, stats, or alternate views in the other. Switching your eyes between screens takes a little getting used to, but quickly becomes automatic, like checking a rear-view mirror while driving. Both screens are back-lit and a little larger than that of the Game Boy Advance SP, so they'll be easy to see in most conditions.

Nintendo DS used with a stylus Players can control games using the touch-sensitive bottom screen of the DS. The bottom screen also functions as a PDA-style touchpad. It comes with a small stylus, as well as a stylus that attaches to your thumb. This touch screen might be both the best and worst feature of the DS. One one hand, it brings the freedom of PC-style mouse control into gaming, but using it also tends to block what's going on in that screen. For example, while playing the Metroid Prime: Hunters, you could use the left thumb pad to move, the left shoulder button to fire, and the touch screen to look and jump. As you track foes on the bottom-screen map, however, your view will be partially obscured by your own right thumb.

The good news is that ...

view wiki

Details

Brand: Nintendo
Developer: Nintendo
Release Date: November 21, 2004

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists