|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Video Games » Reviews » Nintendo Wii » User review

Nintendo Wii

A motion sensored gaming console by Nintendo.

< read all 20 reviews

Oh, my achin' agin' anteriors!!

  • Dec 28, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5

Santa dropped this off at our house the other day, and I'm pretty sure he had a smile on his ruddy face when he did it.  "I'll teach those bleedin' couch potatoes", he said with a laugh.  "Ho Ho Ho", and off the old jelly belly flew, with his sleigh full of Wii related accoutrements for sedentary families around the world.

 

Having the good fortune to have a semi-geek in the house, the Wii thing was soon set up in the kid's bedroom, and after 5 hours I thought I should check on the adult kid and the little kid – just in case.

 

Santa had sadistically included an extra controller and nunchuk with the package, so added to the pair that comes with the set, a full scale 2 kid war was in progress, covering bragging rights for five included games – boxing (little kid leading), bowling (big kid ahead), baseball (no clear advantage – but then we don't play baseball here, because it's just not cricket), tennis (neither will see Wimbledon) and golf (Tiger's safe for now)

 

They had set up a Mii (avatar) for each member of the family (self included), and looking at the body shape they chose for me, I immediately remembered that I should make a New Year resolution to lose weight. 

 

Soon enough a challenge was issued, and hours later I emerged as the household bowling champion, but threatening to sue for physical abuse for my boxing loss.  (I think they made it personal)

 

All these games have an aerobic and physical element, and if you don't get yer lazy azz in gear, nothing much happens.  Bowling for instance, requires you to swing the controller like you would a bowling ball (making sure that you secure it around your wrist first so you don't put a hole in your TV), and after hours of unaccustomed exercise, your muscles can really feel the burn.  And it's not only your arm muscles.  One does not bowl without the correct body language after all. 

 

Oh the pain!!

 

Now they're looking at all the other doo-dads and wing-dings to further their Wii experience, and making strong birthday and father's day hints.  IMHO they should drop off their requests to the fat man in the red suit, and get HIM to come over and play some games.

 

Off to review some Icy Hot and Radian B, and make a massage appointment.

 

 

 

 

Amanda Richards, December 28, 2008

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
10
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
December 31, 2008
We had a very similar experience when our Wii arrived. I felt compelled to make Mii's for everyone we know... and had some perilous moments playing tennis. Congrats on your bowling victory! Next you'll have to try the Wii Fit board & do yoga - it's actually really neat. Rest up!
 
1
More Nintendo Wii reviews
review by . July 15, 2011
posted in Siliconera Bounce
  First of all, I'd like to say that before I review why I'm not fond of the Wii, keep in mind that this is entirely subjective, and if you personally enjoy it, then more power to you.   I remember the Wii coming out back in November of 2006 and like the PS3, I thought to myself “Like I'm gonna buy that thing, that thing is a joke.” However, unlike the PS3, to this day, I still see no desire to buy one. The Wii has beaten the PS3 and the Xbox 360 in sales, mainly …
review by . March 04, 2010
A New World of Physical Video Gaming
The Nintendo Wii is one of a kind. Developed in an industry that is normally dominated by intense graphics and violent game play, the Wii Fit is a bit of an anomaly.  The Wii brings family fun and physical interactivity to the gaming world. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy the classic style of game-play too – I've been playing games like Halo and Final Fantasy for years – but there's just something astounding about how simple yet effective the core components of Nintendo's new system …
Quick Tip by . September 26, 2010
posted in The Gaming Hub
Nintendo's new golden child system has that ease and comfort we've come to expect from Nintendo as well as a large and exclusive library of games.
Quick Tip by . August 12, 2010
Excellent gaming system for young children, or for us big kids. This system has wonderful graphics, and is easy to use. A must for those who love gaming, and can afford the price-tag.
Quick Tip by . June 04, 2010
Decent console, but overrated. Great games are few and far between and those that are actually great are completely ignored by the general public, inviting developers to give up on trying to make stuff of absolute substance and concentrate on crap. Online multiplayer and friend system is terrible in order to "protect the children." Still, when I DO find good games for the Wii (Zack and Wiki, No More Heroes, etc), I do get a lot of enjoyment out of them.
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2010
I only gave it a 3 because I don't approve of kids gaming too much, my family only got a WII when I was 18 (because my 12 yr old sister won it somewhere) and I enjoy it now and we play with it in moderation.
review by . March 10, 2009
posted in The Gaming Hub
The Nintendo Wii is quite revolution in its own right. With all the things it can do, it's hard to say it won't be competition for the market this year. What it boils down to is what you like. If you want a console for some gaming fun, then the Wii is definitely for you, in more ways than one.  However, an increasing problem the Wii is suffering from more and more is the lack of quality games.  It wouldn't surprise me if many gamers let their Wii sit collecting dust just because good, …
review by . February 12, 2010
The Nintendo Wii is a fantastic game system for kids especially but I think most adults will love it just as much. The Wii doesn't have nearly as good of graphics as the Playstation 3 or Xbox 360 but the game selection is so much better for young kids. Many of the games on these other systems have a lot of foul language and so far I am not seeing that at all with Wii games. In addition there is a huge selection of games that kids will love. Most of the games fully utilize the motion sensing technology …
review by . January 21, 2010
I'm not much of a game fan - don't have an Xbox nor do I game using a PC. But this is fun! I use it mainly with the Wii Fit balance board attachment for exercise, and it provides a nice variation from the usual cardio machines or strength routines.    Easy to set up and use. The graphics are not what you'd call top-notch, but are usable. All in all, I'm very pleased with it - never would have thought I'd own a game deck, but the Wii changed that!
review by . October 26, 2009
Wii is awesome. I love the interactive aspect. The sports games are great, allowing you to actually take swings with the Wii controller to play the games. This is leap years above the competition.
About the reviewer
Amanda Richards ()
Ranked #41
I write reviews for a hobby. Most of my reviews are short and to the point, on account of my short attention span. I try to make my reviews both informative and entertaining, and sometimes I succeed. … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
arichards
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this video game console

Wiki

The Wii is a home video game console released by Nintendo. As a seventh-generation console, the Wii primarily competes with Microsoft's Xbox 360 and Sony's PlayStation 3. Nintendo states that its console targets a broader demographic than that of both. The Financial Times reported that as of September 12, 2007, the Wii is the sales leader of its generation, based on sales figures from Enterbrain, NPD Group, and GfK.

A distinguishing feature of the console is its wireless controller, the Wii Remote, which can be used as a handheld pointing device and detect movement in three dimensions. Another distinctive feature of the console is WiiConnect24, which enables it to receive messages and updates over the Internet while in standby mode.

The Wii is Nintendo's fifth home console, the direct successor to the Nintendo GameCube, and able to play all official GameCube games. Nintendo first spoke of the console at the 2004 E3 press conference and later unveiled the system at the 2005 E3. Satoru Iwata revealed a prototype of the controller at the September 2005 Tokyo Game Show. At E3 2006, the console won the first of several awards. By December 8, 2006, it had completed its launch in four key markets.
view wiki

Details

Brand: Nintendo
Category: Video Game Consoles
Developer: Nintendo
Console Type: Console

Polls with this video game console
Atari 2600

Favorite Game Consoles

by

Atari 2600

Rate Your Favorite Consoles!

by

The current Nintendo DSI

Rate your Favorite Console!

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists