|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Hotels » Reviews » Airbnb.com » User review

Airbnb.com

Online Rental Site for Private Apartments throughout the World

< read all 2 reviews

Not recommended

  • Oct 6, 2011
  • by
Rating:
-1
Would not recommend Airbnb.com.  First and last time user.  I started the search 3 weeks prior to my trip to Boston, MA on Airbnb.com.  It is a listing service only, the site has no authority to actually book the apartment/rooms for you.  The host/owner/manager has to approve your request first.  Long and tedious process to e-mail each host and wait for their reply - sometimes took 2 - 3 days.   I communicated with 4 hosts and each replied their property was not available for my dates when Airbnb website showed the dates are available.  The last host actually said in writing he was holding his unit for me, pending my booking through Airbnb.  After booking, he replied the unit was no longer available.  Ending up booking my room through a traditional site, Priceline.com

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
5
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
October 06, 2011
Sorry to hear about your experience there. I haven't entirely given up on them, but I did have a similar experience this past holiday when I tried to get a room in NYC. The availability calendar said that they were available, but when I contacted the host, he said it was not.  I ended up getting a nice hotel room off of booking.com.  I'm not going to rule out Airbnb for the future, but I'll definitely keep these things in mind.  Thanks for sharing!
October 07, 2011
Devora: The lesson I learned in that using some of these new/non-traditional sites is that more time and patience are required. If you planned your trip in advance, these sites may work out. Good luck in your future travels.
October 07, 2011
Thanks, you, too! And for sure! Sites like Craigslist and Airbnb do take time, but they work for people who are on a budget and/or want a new experience.
 
October 06, 2011
Sorry you had such a horrible experience! I usually go through VRBO.com and I've never had a negative experience, since you're dealing directly with the owner themselves. Thanks for the heads up!
October 07, 2011
Djevoke: same comments as I replied to Devora. I'll keep vrbo.com in mind next time. Thanks.
October 07, 2011
Anytime :) I hope it works out better for you!
 
1
More Airbnb.com reviews
review by . January 10, 2010
   Craigslist is great for old couches and day-of concert tickets, but if you’re looking for a place to stay next time you’re traveling – Craigslist is a crapshoot. I’ve had friends who have had Craigslist vacation rental experiences on both extremes.   Friend X went down to North Carolina with a bunch of friends and rented a house on the beach for a week through craigslist. She loved it, had a great time, beautiful house, was clean, got her security deposit …
About the reviewer

Ranked #1956
Member Since: Oct 6, 2011
Last Login: Oct 7, 2011 06:00 PM UTC
About this website

Wiki

Called the "Ebay for space" by Time Magazine, Airbnb is an online marketplace allowing anyone from private residents to commercial properties to rent out their extra space. The reputation-based site allows for user reviews, verification, and secure online transactions. Listings include vacation rentals, private rooms, entire apartments, bed and breakfasts, boutique hotels, castles, treehouses, and many other traditional and non-traditional accommodations.

 

Airbnb’s open platform allows users to post listings of their space. Prospective travelers can search by city or country, utilizing filters such as price and room type to find exactly what suits their needs. Travelers contact hosts directly through the web site, which includes user profiles and friend recommendations. Dates are confirmed through on-site messaging, and the traveler books directly online using their credit card or PayPal account. Hosts receive a reservation request which they can accept or decline. Both parties then receive an itinerary on accepted reservations, and are set to go.

view wiki
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists