|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Websites » Reviews » Amazon.com » User review

Logo

Online shopping website

< read all 23 reviews

My favorite online place to shop

  • Jun 23, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
I've been a customer of Amazon's since it opened, and over the last decade it's incredible to see how they've developed. What started as a simple but well-built online bookstore has emerged as the premier destination for practically everything imaginable, yet they've retained the ease-of-use, developed customer communities and practically invented the concept of online consumer reviews.
I realize now that I spent over $2,500 last year on Amazon.com, which doesn't sound like much but covers several hundred purchases. It's unusual for me to check the mail and not have an Amazon box waiting. I then resell books I've read on their Marketplace system (note: their selling fees are outrageous), and keep my mail man busy with a constant ebb and flow of boxes. The only time I ever had to return a defective product (a kitchen blender), the returns process couldn't have been easier - in about 5 clicks, I had a return mail voucher in my hand and scheduled a pickup from their carrier. I'd always worried about returns, but it's actually easier than going back to a store.

For full disclosure, they selected me for their Vine Program earlier this year, so I receive about 4 free products a month on the basis that I provide balanced and detailed reviews. This is, of course, the ultimate perk - but it's an effective way of getting a body of reviews prior to a product's release, and none of the Vine members I've seen are swayed by the free factor (actually, in many cases, they're harder on the products). Maybe Lunch.com could have a similar program one day. :-)

Outside of their retail business, even their elastic computing platform, Amazon EC2, works amazingly well. It's fascinating that they chose to open their infrastructure, thereby essentially creating the "cloud computing" model long before everyone else appeared. I've used EC2 in several projects, together with their payments platform and been very impressed (and so have my clients, hurray). One of these days, I'm going to buy a Kindle, but for everything else Amazon is a joy to use. I couldn't be happier.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
June 24, 2009
I am a big fan of Amazon.com as well! I order most of my Blu-rays from them.  I also wanted to let you know that you can now post you reviews to great sites like Twitter and Facebook using the Share box at the top of your review!
June 24, 2009
Thanks for the info!
 
1
More Amazon.com reviews
Quick Tip by . December 27, 2012
posted in WHAT CAN I SAY?
Since I live in a rural area, Amazon is an extremely convenient addition to my life as I can easily buy stuff without having to drive 12-15 miles away to buy electronics or graphic novels.  With Amazon's Prime membership, which costs $80 a year, it includes free, speedy shipping (only two days from purchase, sometimes sooner) and being able to stream some movies for free on your computer.      However, like what the mighty Madpenguin has said in his review, Amazon isn't …
Quick Tip by . September 21, 2010
As an author and independent publisher, Amazon has offered me a world market. While I am saddened by its impact on indy bookstores, and would urge people, whenever possible, to patronize their local after using Amazon for shopping around - I depend on it for global sales.
Quick Tip by . October 19, 2010
It is most worth becoming a prime member to receive your purchases in two days.
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2010
Best e-shopping site oin the Internet in my opionion!
Quick Tip by . August 03, 2010
Although not highly advertised, one of my favorite Amazon features are the "So You Want To" guides.
review by . May 18, 2009
I admit it, I have a problem...I'm addicted to Amazon.com.  If I'm on my computer, 95% of the time, I'm looking at Amazon, or if I'm not looking at Amazon, I just finished.  I started with books.  I've purchased dozens of books through Amazon.  They have a mind-boggling selection & you can get them for much, much less than at a regular book store (even with shipping costs included).      Another great aspect is the customer reviews.  While not …
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
If you can't get it on Amazon, chances are that you can't get it.
review by . July 03, 2009
It's admirable to see that so many people love Amazon.com.  I really enjoy the place.  I showed up to Amazon in September of 2000.  My first review was of a strategy guide.  It's still there.  The horrible paragraph of a review... the type of review I'd later come to hate.  I didn't actually make my first transaction from Amazon until about 2006.  Plenty here have commented on how Amazon is a great place to shop.  And I won't fault them.  It …
Quick Tip by . June 11, 2010
I shop Amazon all the time and I love it!
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2010
The 800 pound gorilla in book sales.
About the reviewer
James Beswick ()
Ranked #13
Lunch.com's "token Brit".
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jbeswick
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Wiki


Amazon.com, Inc. (NASDAQAMZN) is a US-based multinational electronic commerce company. Headquartered in Seattle, Washington, it is America's largest online retailer, with nearly three times the Internet sales revenue of the runner up, Staples, Inc., as of January 2010.

Jeff Bezos founded Amazon.com, Inc. in 1994 and launched it online in 1995. The company was originally named Cadabra, Inc., but the name was changed when it was discovered that people sometimes heard the name as "Cadaver." The name Amazon.com was chosen because the Amazon River is the largest river in the world, and so the name suggests large size, and also in part because it starts with 'A' and therefore would show up near the beginning of alphabetical lists. Amazon.com started as an online bookstore, but soon diversified, selling DVDs, CDs, MP3 downloads, computer software, video games, electronics, apparel, furniture, food, and toys. Amazon has established separate websites in Canada, the United Kingdom, Germany, France, Italy, Japan, and China. It also provides international shipping to certain countries for some of its products.

In 2010, Amazon's decision to remove Wikileaks from their servers resulted in numerous calls to boycott the company, with many people particularly incensed that Amazon then went on to sell copies of the Wikileaks material, despite using this material as its reason for removing Wikileaks
view wiki
Polls with this website
Logo

Most popular websites to visit

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists