|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Websites » Reviews » Blogger.com » User review

Logo

Online blogging site

< read all 3 reviews

Simple and friendly blogging platform

  • Mar 2, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
By friendly of course I mean user-friendly... Blogger is the only blog platform I have used, so I can't compare, but I am extremely satisfied with all of its features and gadgets. I have two of my own public blogs there (Eco-Babyz and AnV Design), one personal blog, and one more group blog that I contribute to.

PROS:
  • Very easy to use, even for a first time blogger like me or computer illiterate bloggers like my mother.
  • Customizable backgrounds, fonts, colors.
  • A ton of great gadgets to make your blog attractive, interactive, personal, and unique.
  • Ability to link to Adsense and make money from Google ads on your blog.
  • A widely compatible blog platform for other popular sites.
  • Content registers in Google searches.
CONS: I've got no complaints. Please comment if you do...
_______________________________________________________
Update as of 1/28/2010

Now that I have been using blogger for more than a year, I have a little more to say about it. Here are more pros and cons that will hopefully make it easier for you to make choices:

PROS:
  • It was really great how easy it was to set up my own domain through Blogger (registered with GoDaddy) and have a seamless transition that my readers barely noticed
  • Having a blog with Blogger has done great things in terms of visibility on the web
  • You don't have to pay extra to post videos, everything is free
  • No advertisements unless you want to put some there yourself
  • It links with my gMail, so less accounts to handle
CONS:
  • When you are in Layout trying to change things around, it can get glitchy and I currently still can't figure out why I can't move widgets to where I want them to.
  • It is hard to tweak it to look to your specs without hiring a professional
  • Blogger is slow to load, can get annoying for some people, but I can handle it with FiOs

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
March 13, 2010
Well...all I hear is that Wordpress will get you much more in terms of SEO benefits, but I agree that blogger is easier to use. It depends if that's a trade-off you're willing to make.
March 13, 2010
I agree, you just can't have everything these days! I have high hopes for Blogger, hopefully they will improve... Thanks for commenting!
 
March 13, 2010
As a "Blogger", I loved how easy it was to introduce me to the blogosphere and to personalize my blog. My only gripe was the lack of themes to choose from, Wordpress has more variety in that aspect. Like I told @jbeswick, I've been debating between starting another blog with Blogger or going to Wordpress!
March 13, 2010
I have contemplated Wordpress a lot, but after a year I am so entrenched in Blogger I don't think I could switch :)
 
March 02, 2009
As a fellow Blogger user, I agree that it's extremely user-friendly and intuitive, and really makes things easy for newcomers to the blogosphere. My only issue would be that there's apparently no way to make past blog posts private or filter who views it- as I came to discover a few weeks ago- so I guess users just have to consider carefully before posting!
 
1
More Blogger.com reviews
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
i love blogging but blogger itself could be easier and better to use more consistent
review by . December 14, 2008
Do you like to Blog? Do you like to write about things in your life or share tidbits of wisdom with the world?  Blogger is a place you can do that. It's easy to sign up for blogger, and you even have a choice of layouts to choose from. Some bloggers just like to go there to share stories while some go there to write professionally for a larger audience. Whatever the reason, if  you like to write, Blogger is a great website to try your writing skills at. No one is going to rate, belittle …
About the reviewer
Anastasia B ()
Ranked #22
I am a woman, a wife, a mother, a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a Christ follower, an Interior Designer, a blog author, a cook, an artist, an eco-conscious consumer, a nature lover, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
EcoMama
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Wiki

Blogger is a blog publishing system. It was created by Pyra Labs, which was bought by Google in 2003.
view wiki
Polls with this website
Logo

Most popular websites to visit

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists