|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Websites » Reviews » Craigslist » User review

Craigslist Office

A website for classified ads

< read all 17 reviews

It's my second job

  • Dec 11, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+3
If I were to close my eyes and be on the craigslist.org homepage I would still be able to navigate the website. I moved to the Northern Bay Area in 2006 and since my arrival craigslist.org has become my new best friend. Althogh I think I am more obsessed with looking at what others are posting than actually using the site for any purpose. I did post some furniture on there once...but nothing came of it. Oh and I foud my new apartment on there...I almost forgot.

Whether your searching the "jobs" section or looking for a place in the "housing" section or if you are as bent as I am on reading EVERY missed connection craigslist.org is never a boring place to review. I have friends who have found long term partners on there, cars, and even jobs! I mean a site that allows people to connect directly with each other and moderate their own actions...its what I call web 2.5 at its finest.

I must spend an agregate of at least 15 hours on craigslist a week; it might as well be a partime job!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
11
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
1
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
December 11, 2008
I once picked up a free piano from Craigslist. It's a great site if you actually take the time to browse around for awhile.
 
December 11, 2008
OMG you are soo right ProfessionalLush! And DorsiD I think a free chair, rocker at that, is always a solid find!
 
December 11, 2008
Jobs, apartments, bookshelves, booty calls: it truly is one stop shopping. Even better, you don't have to wear pants to go there! Thanks Craig, I totally owe you one.
 
December 11, 2008
Densils_POV, I totally agree with you - I wish Craigslist could pay me for all the time I spend there! I guess I'll just have to be happy finding all kinds of good stuff! Just yesterday I picked up a very pristine rocking chair for FREE- and all it cost me was a phone call and a gallon of gas. Cool!!
 
1
More Craigslist reviews
review by . June 07, 2011
posted in Awesomeness
Internet phenomenal, scourge to society or mirror to human civilization? Who knows but one thing's for sure - you haven't lived until you've tried to sell a sofa on Craigslist.      As a website, it's an amazing survivor of the 1995 era where WebPagesThatSuck outed the most outrageous offenders of terrible navigation, poor display, graphics and just general awfulness. I've heard that founder Craig Newmark likes it that way. I can guess from this single …
review by . February 05, 2010
Yes, I know Craigslist is more than just buying and selling "stuff".  I haven't found much use for Craigslist outside of selling stuff, though.  I haven't even purchased anything off the site.  Just today I gathered up some stuff and listed it in my own virtual garage sale.  You can read about that here:      http://jeffdalydose.wordpress.com/2010/02/04/digitalgaragesale/      So what some other uses for Craigslist?   …
Quick Tip by . October 19, 2010
Great site for donating used toys and to compare rent prices in neighborhood.
Quick Tip by . August 04, 2010
I actually use this site quite often. It has allot of different aspects to it, and I know it has received some bad press but I defiantly think it has more to offer then to offend.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
i love having craiglist. i can search for just about any thing i want or need.
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
Great for entertainment, but very unreliable for finding job prospects, etc. Be careful to avoid scams!
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
not always a reliable source to find goods
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2010
A great service but do business at arms length,
Quick Tip by . June 07, 2010
So helpful and extensive networking for finding a house, apartment, furniture or job even.
Quick Tip by . May 26, 2010
Great way to find used items at GREAT prices.
About the reviewer
Densil ()
Ranked #670
Favorites   Books: Tales of the City (Armistead Maupin) was the first series of books that I ever explored. I watched every episode in the PBS miniseries and I hope to see the play no Broadway. … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Densils_POV
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Wiki

Craigslist is a central network of online communities, featuring free online classified advertisements – with jobs, internships, housing, personals, erotic services, for sale/barter/wanted, services, community, gigs, resume, and pets categories – and forums on various topics.
 
The service was founded in 1995 by Craig Newmark for the San Francisco Bay Area. After incorporation as a private for-profit company in 1999, Craigslist expanded into nine more U.S. cities in 2000, four each in 2001 and 2002, and 14 in 2003. As of September 2007, Craigslist has established itself in approximately 450 cities in 50 countries.
 
Craig Newmark began the service in 1995 as an email distribution list of friends, featuring local events in the San Francisco Bay Area, before becoming a web-based service in 1996. After incorporation as a private for-profit company in 1999, Craigslist expanded into nine more U.S. cities in 2000, four in 2001 and 2002 each, and 14 in 2003.
 
In 2009, Craigslist operated with a staff of 28 people. Its main source of revenue is paid job ads in select cities – $75 per ad for the San Francisco Bay Area; $25 per ad for New York City, Los Angeles, San Diego, Boston, Seattle, Washington D.C., Chicago, Philadelphia, Orange County (California) and Portland, Oregon – and paid broker apartment listings in New York City ($10 per ad).
 
The site serves over twenty billion page views per month, putting it in 33rd place overall among ...
view wiki

Tags

Websites, Craigslist, Classified Websites
Polls with this website
Logo

Most popular websites to visit

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists