|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Websites » Reviews » Craigslist » User review

Craigslist Office

A website for classified ads

< read all 17 reviews

Craigslist, The Internet Within the Internet

  • Dec 15, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+3
Ahh, Craigslist, the good, the bad and the ugly. Craigslist is really the Internet within itself. Just about anything you can get across the web, you can get at Craigslist. You can find a job, market your services, buy a house, find a doctor, connect with others, sell your stuff and so much more. Since you can do so many things, it can actually become quite addictive.

First the good. You can really find so many deals on Craigslist. Usually, it's used stuff, but most of the time you have the chance to see what you're buying before purchasing it, unlike Amazon, Ebay and other online stores. You can often talk to buyers and sellers and meet them somewhere to see items to get a better feel for them and what they're buying/selling. Craigslist is also great for posting and finding jobs. Hundreds of jobs are posted on Craigslist daily, ranging from general labor jobs to executive jobs. In addition, if you offer any type of services, you can use Craigslist as an outlet for promoting/advertising.

Now to the bad. You can really get ripped off on Craigslist. Since it's a free service most places, there are so many jobs, products and services that aren't completely true, exaggerated, complete lies, etc. It's important to be on your toes when looking at things. If it sounds too good to be true, then it probably is. With this being said, many larger cities are starting to charge to use the service, which could cause less people to use it. One of the nice things has been that Craigslist has been free, which is great for job and service postings.

Overall, I think Craigslist is a great tool, but you just have to be careful because there so many shady things on there. It's important to really investigate and do your research and make sure not to give out personal information.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
17
Thought-Provoking
10
Fun to Read
10
Well-Organized
11
Post a Comment
August 04, 2009
The title of your review is so true!  And that's a nice weigh out of the good and the bad, though I think that charging a bit to put an ad up on CL is actually a good thing because it makes it slightly more legitimate.

Believe it or not, but there's actually a documentary on CL called 24 Hours on Craigslist.  I haven't watched it yet, but it sounds like it could be interesting!
 
May 17, 2009
And unlike those other places you can meet lots and lots of hookers. =)
 
1
More Craigslist reviews
review by . June 07, 2011
posted in Awesomeness
Internet phenomenal, scourge to society or mirror to human civilization? Who knows but one thing's for sure - you haven't lived until you've tried to sell a sofa on Craigslist.      As a website, it's an amazing survivor of the 1995 era where WebPagesThatSuck outed the most outrageous offenders of terrible navigation, poor display, graphics and just general awfulness. I've heard that founder Craig Newmark likes it that way. I can guess from this single …
review by . February 05, 2010
Yes, I know Craigslist is more than just buying and selling "stuff".  I haven't found much use for Craigslist outside of selling stuff, though.  I haven't even purchased anything off the site.  Just today I gathered up some stuff and listed it in my own virtual garage sale.  You can read about that here:      http://jeffdalydose.wordpress.com/2010/02/04/digitalgaragesale/      So what some other uses for Craigslist?   …
Quick Tip by . October 19, 2010
Great site for donating used toys and to compare rent prices in neighborhood.
Quick Tip by . August 04, 2010
I actually use this site quite often. It has allot of different aspects to it, and I know it has received some bad press but I defiantly think it has more to offer then to offend.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
i love having craiglist. i can search for just about any thing i want or need.
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
Great for entertainment, but very unreliable for finding job prospects, etc. Be careful to avoid scams!
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
not always a reliable source to find goods
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2010
A great service but do business at arms length,
Quick Tip by . June 07, 2010
So helpful and extensive networking for finding a house, apartment, furniture or job even.
Quick Tip by . May 26, 2010
Great way to find used items at GREAT prices.
About the reviewer
Spence ()
Ranked #446
Sup! Spence here. My list of interests is getting a bit long and somewhat uncontrollable. The thing I love doing the most is reading and writing. I get to write full-time as a job, but then come home … more
About this website

Wiki

Craigslist is a central network of online communities, featuring free online classified advertisements – with jobs, internships, housing, personals, erotic services, for sale/barter/wanted, services, community, gigs, resume, and pets categories – and forums on various topics.
 
The service was founded in 1995 by Craig Newmark for the San Francisco Bay Area. After incorporation as a private for-profit company in 1999, Craigslist expanded into nine more U.S. cities in 2000, four each in 2001 and 2002, and 14 in 2003. As of September 2007, Craigslist has established itself in approximately 450 cities in 50 countries.
 
Craig Newmark began the service in 1995 as an email distribution list of friends, featuring local events in the San Francisco Bay Area, before becoming a web-based service in 1996. After incorporation as a private for-profit company in 1999, Craigslist expanded into nine more U.S. cities in 2000, four in 2001 and 2002 each, and 14 in 2003.
 
In 2009, Craigslist operated with a staff of 28 people. Its main source of revenue is paid job ads in select cities – $75 per ad for the San Francisco Bay Area; $25 per ad for New York City, Los Angeles, San Diego, Boston, Seattle, Washington D.C., Chicago, Philadelphia, Orange County (California) and Portland, Oregon – and paid broker apartment listings in New York City ($10 per ad).
 
The site serves over twenty billion page views per month, putting it in 33rd place overall among ...
view wiki

Tags

Websites, Craigslist, Classified Websites
Polls with this website
Logo

Most popular websites to visit

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists