|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Lunchers » Reviews » Debbie (devora) on Lunch » User review

devora on Lunch

The Lunch account of devora.

< read all 5 reviews

A Tribute to Lunch's Most Adorable Member!

  • Jan 20, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5
“I'm so cute, it'll make you puke.”
--Debbie


A while ago, I told devora "You're just too awesome.  Why, you have attained a level of awesomeness so few mortals are even aware exist.  You must look in the mirror everyday and say, 'So this is what Fonzie from Happy Days feels like!'"  She truly is.  The only thing standing in YOUR way from being that awesome, dear reader, is devora. 

So who is devora, and why is she so important to Lunch.com?  Well, before we get to that, let's first realize that devora is her username on Lunch.  Her real name is Debbie and in her own words she is "Your friendly Lunch.com associate community manager, here to aid you with all your Lunching needs!"  And boy does she ever!  Got a question?  Debbie can answer it.  Any suggestsion for Lunch?  Debbie can help you out.  I'm beginning to think if I should ever be sued by someone I should make Debbie my lawyer.  She wouldn't even have to argue, she'd just get chummy enough with the Plaintiff that they'd throw the case out just because she's so incredibly awesome, friendly and all around charismatic.  

Debbie began writing reviews a couple of years ago.  Mainly of Restaurants.  "...just for fun," she says, "They weren't the amazing at first, but I'm honing my skills!"  And yes, many of Debbie's reviews are definitely deep, informative and fun to read.  Her reviews of French Laundry and dim sum showcase her fun, informative and even curious style.  Debbie isn't just out to inform, she's out to learn as well.  Almost any time you write a review you can usually find that Debbie will come to it, with the same charming attitude she tends to write her reviews.  It makes for respectful engagements, even when people don't agree. 

Such is the case when Debbie might go into other territory.  Certainly she has her fair share of writing reviews of Restaurants and Food.  She often takes time to review many other things.  Sometimes in a serious manner (Gatecrashers) and some that are there more so for the sake of good humor and fun (Kanye Gate).  It's pretty fun stuff to read and sometimes thought provoking. 

Of course, Debbie has a life outside of Lunch.  "When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek."  Along those lines Debbie also talked about one of her passions:  "I enjoy... well, you probably guessed it -- eating.  Seriously, most people think I'm joking when I say that because of my dimunitive size, but it's true.  I'm willing to travel the distance and pay the price for extraordinary dining experiences!  It's not so much about the act of eating as it is discovering and experiencing a new type of food, taste, and/or cuisine."  Debbie, ever the curious one, is about new experiences.

With that in mind it's interesting to discover that Debbie once considered herself a vegetarian (and a part time vegan).  "When I hit my ten year mark, I decided to start eating seafood.  A year and a half later, when I went to Boulevard with J.R. and Sam, I started spontaneously eating meat, and have somewhat gone on an eating rampage since.  Eating seafood and meat again has totally opened up my eyes, or shall I say palate, to the rest of the culinary world."

Meeting Debbie and getting to know her has been a fun experience as well.  While her eyes are open to the culinary world, my eyes are open that there are more people out there who are as friendly, easy going and all around fun as Debbie.  They can't be as awesome as Debbie, but hey, they can try, right?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
33
Thought-Provoking
29
Fun to Read
30
Well-Organized
30
Post a Comment
January 21, 2010
Love the review. I've only been here at Lunch for a short amount of time, but I can tell that everything you wrote about Debbie is **SO** true! She has been a great help to me, and I love her comments on reviews! She is truly awesome!
January 21, 2010
Aw, so glad to hear this! Looking forward to getting to know you better and reading more of your good stuff on here, Adrianna! :)
January 22, 2010
Thanks, Debbie. I feel the same way about you. :)
 
January 21, 2010
Love, love, love it!!! I loved how the ending...er...ended up! We can all try to be as awesome as Debbie, don't know if it's possible but, we can always try ;p
January 21, 2010
I heard you had a hand in this, Miss DJ Evoke, so thank you! And you're pretty awesome yourself! ;D
 
January 20, 2010
Awwwwwww, I am super flattered, Sean!  It's crazy how well you can get to know people through their reviews and how many friends you can make through your writing.  Most definitely a pleasure hanging out on Lunch with you all!  In regards to my diet, most people I meet now are shocked that I once was a hardcore vegan considering I pretty much eat everything now, and that I'm willing to try the weirdest of the weird.  And lawyering needs?  You got it!  Maybe I'll write a review about it when all is said and done :P

Thanks for making my day, Sean!  I'm going to toot my own horn by sharing this with my friends now :)
January 21, 2010
Toot, toot! Devora's coming through. LOL! There's already an honorary procession in your way.
January 21, 2010
I remember how JR and I felt so bad when we had ordered filet mignon and THEN found out that you were just getting out of a decade long vegetarian diet! How sweet is this review, I loved it so much the first time I saw it. No one deserves it more than Lunch's resident rock star! Toot away....
January 21, 2010
LOL, Sean! 

Aw, thanks, love!  I remember J.R. said something like, "Well, if I had known, I would've ordered this filet mignon more cooked...", and look at me now -- eating beef tartare and rare-cooked steak!  Tons of life changing stuff happened that day, before, during, and after I met up with you two that day! :)
 
January 20, 2010
Only a fool would not be appreciative of Debbie...she is helpful but I dunno about making one puke because of the 'cute' LOL! Glad to know ya, Debbie, glad to hear you're not 100% vegan anymore...
January 20, 2010
oh nice one, Sean. Now it is time for you to be picked on....
January 21, 2010
Yes, do it, Woo, do it!!!! Your Queenie one rocked!
January 21, 2010
hear that, Sean?...time for me to make you hide under your bed and suck on your thumbs LMAO
January 21, 2010
>:D
January 22, 2010
Can you pick on the other Sean?  He likes it!  LOL, I kid the other Sean!
January 22, 2010
He already picked on me. Now it's your turn. LOL! >:D
 
January 20, 2010
Nice review Sean.
Everybody likes D, she's just so likeable. And she has yet to make me puke, which has me questioning at least the last half of her motto. LOL! Plus, who's more helpful at answering questions or giving advice about the site?
January 21, 2010
If my list of cute videos didn't make you puke, then I don't know what would ;P
January 22, 2010
I bet I know what would make Orlok puke ;-) would everyone like to know?
January 22, 2010
Is it Waffles?  Because you know he hates Waffles. 
January 22, 2010
Nope, but any amount of nuts or legumes would do it. Although, sending me into anaphylactic shock and killing me wouldn't be so amusing... I don't think.
 
1
More Debbie (devora) on Lunch reviews
Quick Tip by . December 24, 2009
posted in Awesomeness
A very smart lady with a wonderful sense of humor & great taste in '80s music. If you need help on Lunch you can place your trust in Debbie!
Quick Tip by . December 22, 2009
Happy Birthday Debbie! I hope you have plenty of good food, great friends and delicious Pisco for your day of celebration! YOU ROCK!
Quick Tip by . December 20, 2009
One of my favorite people on the site. She's attained a level of coolness so few mortals are aware exist; like Fonzie from Happy Days!
Quick Tip by . December 20, 2009
One of the Best People I've talked to in the Site! She's a CM and if you're hungry or blue, her profile is the best to be!
About the reviewer
Sean A. Rhodes ()
Ranked #6
I'm a more analytical person. I believe that the purpose of the review is not for me to give you my opinion but for me to give you an analysis and help you decide if you want to get it. If you reading … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sean_Rhodes
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists