|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Websites » Reviews » FanFiction.net » User review

Fanfiction.net

A website that features stories based on favorite TV shows, books, movies, comics, etc., that are written by other fans.

< read all 10 reviews

Ever wonder what happens next?

  • May 19, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
Did you ever wonder what happened after your favorite TV show ended?  Or what about the couple that you always wanted to see get together but they never did?  The superheroes you thought should team up?  The series cross-overs that might be fun to see?   

The list of possibilities is endles & chances are, you can find someone's version of it on Fanficion.net.  Some of my favorite TV shows ended abruptly, leaving lots of loose ends.  I can now go online & read about how other fans imagined it. 

Most of the stories are actually very well-written.  I've spent hours at a time reading some amazing stories.  Some even made me crack up laughing.  Of course, there are some writers that just can't portray the characters the way they should be.  So, at the end of each story/chapter is a review button, which should appeal to everyone here. 

If nothing satisfies & the mood strikes, you can write your own version.  There is downloadable writing software available on the site & beta readers to proof-read your story.  There are also community forums where you can discuss your favorite topics, which include:

Anime/Manga, Books, Cartoons, Comics, Games, Movies, Plays/Musicals, TV Shows, & Miscellaneous  subjects

It's a really fun site to visit if you have some time to kill. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
11
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
May 25, 2009
Things can get pretty strange out there in FanFicLand. I wonder if it still goes into Slash as much and as quickly as it used to. There was a series back in 82 called WIZARDS AND WARRIORS that only ran 8 episodes and it produced 2 of the best fanzines I've ever read; 1 straight zine and 1` Slash.
May 25, 2009
From what I've seen, reading through the descriptions, there are quite a few labelled slash, at least in the Justice League forum.
May 25, 2009
It seens to be the nature of the beast I guess. But nothing beats a good cross genre story slash or not. I'm thing of one WIZARDS AND WARRIORS story in particular in which the author crossed THE WIZARD OF OZ with WIZARDS AND WARRIORS and everone stayed in character.  It was hilarious!
May 25, 2009
I've read some pretty good ones. Some people really have a nack for capturing the character's personality. I've often found myself laughing hysterically at some of the stories. I wish I could write like that.
May 25, 2009
I once read a steamy sex story in a sex zine about Samurai Cat! It only lasted one page but it was perfect and stayed true to the character and ended with something like "...afterwards they groon\med each other and stepped out for a saucer of milk." It was brilliant!
May 25, 2009
LOL, sounds pretty funny. One of the best ones I've read involved Lois Lane taking Wonder Woman & Hawkgirl on their first trip to a mall. They were both outraged when they visited the Victoria's Secret store & ended up starting a brawl. There were panties flying, everywhere.
May 25, 2009
Sounds really funny but oddly uptight for this generation.
May 25, 2009
True but I found it refreshing.
 
May 23, 2009
I've been wondering what FanFiction.net was all about because many Lunchers are FanFiction writers, too.   I've read fan fiction on other sites, but this site in particular seems to have much more to offer than the other ones that I've seen.  That's awesome that there's downloadable writing software, proof readers, and that you can review stories.  Thanks for demystifying this for me, Jaime!
May 24, 2009
Hey, you're welcome!
 
May 19, 2009
What a great idea! What was your favorite story? I can imagine when Lost is over there will be many contributing their version of how it should have ended.
May 19, 2009
Actually, the show doesn't have to be over for there to be stories. I just checked & ther are currently 7,981 stories for Lost. My current favorite is the animated series Justice League. I also enjoy stories based on She-Ra Princess of Power, a childhood favorite of mine.
 
1
More FanFiction.net reviews
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Love it! Okay, so if you're expecting great literature hidden away in a remote corner of the internet, don't come looking at fanfiction.net. If, however, you want something light and fun to read for a bit, it's a wonderful little site.
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
Ok...I love this site. Sometimes you just want a bit more out of your favorite movies, books, or tv shows. This site give it to you.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
I mean...you gotta post your fanfics SOMEWHERE, right?
review by . June 16, 2010
Fanfiction.net is like looking for diamonds in a pile of crap. You may find something good, but all considered what all dwells there, is the search worth it? You're going to place your hands in many piles of dreck before encountering anything written in proper English, much less anything good.      That being said, I have encountered one or two good stories there, but all in all Fanfiction.net is a good example of the sort of the sort writing I like to avoid.
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
This is a fabulous website for new and blooming writers to try out their creative capabilities.
Quick Tip by . June 09, 2010
It's funny to see how people view books and want to change them
review by . June 05, 2010
I have been using this website for the past ten years. Though lately my use has tapered off significantly, as I rarely write fanfiction anymore, and what I do write tends to make its way onto Livejournal instead, this website has been absolutely invaluable for me for the past decade. It is a huge database of fanfiction--for those who don't know fanfiction is derivative fiction, essentially fiction using characters that the writer did not invent. Though there are some moral objections to the …
review by . July 09, 2009
As a teenager I remember wanting badly to write my own stories.  I think when it comes to high school almost every teenager has a moment when they say, "I want to write stories."  And writing is something that a lot of people want to do.  That a lot of people enjoy doing.  Even out of high school I still tend to write a lot of fiction.  But everyone needs a place to start.  Why not begin on a place like fanfiction.net?  You get to add and …
About the reviewer
Jamie ()
Ranked #177
Hello Everyone,    I live in Missouri, which is almost exactly in the middle of the United States. Many people refer to it as "Misery" but I think it's a great place to live. I live … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
peekablue
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists