|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Websites » Reviews » Flickr » User review

Flickr

A photosharing website

< read all 7 reviews

The Best Photosharing Site Out There

  • Dec 19, 2008
Rating:
+5
Whether you're a professional or amateur photographer, Flickr is one of the best photosharing sites out there!  As someone who is classically trained in photography (ya know, old school black and white prints in the darkroom), I found Flickr to be a great source of inspiration for my digital shots.  I've met many contacts through there, and they've managed to get me a bit of exposure, whether it's having my photo bought to be printed on a postcard, or to be published in a travel guide.  Here are the many reasons I love Flickr and why it's far superior from all the other photosharing sites out there:

  • The community: I can share pictures with others with common interests, get comments and feedback on my pictures and vice versa.
  • Great user interface.
  • Easy to upload.
  • High resolution photos.
  • I can view and retrieve my photos in several different sizes, including the original.
  • I can edit my pictures on Picnik through their site if necessary.
  • The organizing feature is SUPER handy.
  • It's easy to create sets and collections and to organize them.
  • I can do batch edits.
  • I can do all sorts of cool things through their partner sites, such as make books and stickers with my photos.
  • Tags make it super handy to look for my photos.
  • I like being able to give titles and descriptions to photos, not to mention geotag them.
  • Most important of all, I love how easy it is for me to sort through my photos, and how easy it is to share them with others.

Flickr has free accounts, but I love having a Pro account, which costs $25 a year or $48 for two years.  Why?  Because with the Pro account, I can upload an unlimited amount of photos, plus I get all those features mentioned above, several of which the free account does not have.  The Pro account is totally worth it!
flickr

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
64
Thought-Provoking
21
Fun to Read
24
Well-Organized
28
Post a Comment
August 24, 2010
I've never tried flicker but after reading your article I'm pretty intrigued with it. Think I'll give it a try! Thanks.
August 24, 2010
Thanks for reading, Bryan! Hope you like it because it's a great community! :)
 
April 07, 2010
I'm with you, devora! i'm a huge Flickr fan and have been for several years. I had the free account for a long while at first, but went pro with Flickr about 2 years ago. I've recently also upgraded to a pro account with Picnik, which provides a LOT more editing and creative options with my photos.
 
December 17, 2009
Thanks for advising me to get a pro-Flickr account. I may do this!
 
November 21, 2009
I've recently joined and added you ;p but, I only have free 'cuz I'm broke LOL and I wanted to see what all the fuss is about. Maybe it's because I have the free account but, I think it really stinks that when you delete photos, it doesn't free up space for you to upload more. Photobucket.com allows for editing, organizing, sharing, etc and all for free without any restrictions (from what I can see.)
 
October 12, 2009
Great review + I love Flickr. I use it mostly to host photos that I want to put on my blog, but its great to also upload other documents to make a portfolio of sorts. My boyfriend hates Flickr and I have no idea why. I need to find out because hes the only person I've ever heard with an objection to the site!

PS What is your Flickr link? I'd love to see your photos! I'm at mmaquino if you feel like getting a new contact ;)
October 13, 2009
Thanks, lady!  Glad to see another member of the flickrati here ;D  I mainly use it to keep my thousands of photos organized, plus it's easy to send out the link to friends and family.  I've been busy and neglecting real photography lately, so it's mostly just food and nightlife pics right now.  My flickr is here.  I added you as a contact! :)
 
August 22, 2009
I use flickr for personal photos to share. Its API and unlimited photo upload attract me! I use Fotki for nice scenery photo which I want to store, promote, sell. I use Tinypic for miscellaneous photos. Vi.sualize.us for bookmarking nice photos online. And Vimeo for videos, flash that i made. Youtube for playlist and favourites. Thats about it i guess. =)
August 23, 2009
Wow, you sure are a social media butterfly! :P  I'll have to check out Vimeo for videos though, since its come so highly recommended to me.  Thanks for your comment, Wee Young!
 
August 05, 2009
I likee flickr too! I was an original Pro Account holder and thI used the site almost religiously. Now it seems that I share my pics more on Facebook since that's where my people are all congregated. I still use and love flickr though!
 
July 25, 2009
Yeah. Flickr is real Web 2.0 success story. All power to 'em.
 
May 19, 2009
Somehow I fell out of love with flickr (yes, I have a pro account, as well), in early 2008 when they started to prevent some people from seeing some (indecent) photos. I am not into indecent photos :-), but I di not want to be "censored", and I think it was especially the rude and undiplomatic way they enacted this that turned me off. As I tend to do I fumed and shouted and made a fool of myself in flickr forums which is why I have not been using Flickr a lot since then. Pity, for it sure is the best photosharing site out there. But sometimes you have to stand to your principles even if it cost you, don't you???
May 20, 2009
I actually joined flickr in early 2008, so I didn't really get to experience the changes. Sometime late last year though, this lady who I had been following got her artistic, slightly controversial photos flagged as "unsafe", which I thought was ridiculous, but that was the only time that I was turned off by flickr. What did you think about flickr allowing the upload of videos? I know a lot of flickr-ers did not like that!
May 20, 2009
Hi Devora, videos are another point in the development of Flickr I disliked (although this came when I had already stopped using Flickr so often). I joined Flickr in April 2007 and as far as I am concerned it could have stayed the way it was then. But as stated above I have not found a true alternative, which is a pity for Flickr and my taking digital photographs somehow belonged together - I am taking much less photos these days.
 
April 30, 2009
I was into flickr at the start many years ago but lost interest thereafter when I couldn't even see my own photos when I arrived in China. I much prefer picasa now for storage but not so much as a community site. In fact, running very short of time to even write blogs & reviews!
May 01, 2009
Hmmm, that's strange, because I was totally able to to use flickr the last few times that I've been to China, and I actually have quite a few flickr contacts who live there!  I've heard a lot about Picasa though.  I know that they're powered by Google, which I love, so perhaps I'll be checking it out!
May 01, 2009
I don't know about it now, I hardly check Flickr. Around 2 years ago, some of the earlier pix uploaded had an x on them, so it was difficult. Same with sites hosted on yahoo, cannot be accessed in China. My personal site was in limbo for 2 years now, I can only view it when I'm out of China, which make it a hassle to update! Picasa & Flickr have their own niche market. If you post photos mainly for the public, then Flickr would be better. It's easier to post bulk pix on Picasa though. That's just my personal experience :-)
 
1 2 Next
More Flickr reviews
Quick Tip by . December 04, 2010
posted in Shutterbugs
Flickr is one of the best websites out there for picture sharing between photographers. Only down-side is paying to have a Pro acct which is absolutely necessary
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
great site for pics
Quick Tip by . April 13, 2010
Flickr has been growing on me... as the web becomes decentralized I love this as my photo utility. Rocks Facebook anyday...
Quick Tip by . March 13, 2010
One of the very few site that I'm convinced to pay for the service.
Quick Tip by . November 21, 2009
I'm trying to figure out what all the fuss is about.I think that Photobucket does much better for much less!
Quick Tip by . August 22, 2009
Loves the api, tools available to use in facebook, etc and the unlimited photo uploads. But interface could be improve
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #4
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Wiki

Flickr is an image and video hosting website, web services suite, and online community platform. In addition to being a popular Web site for users to share personal photographs, the service is widely used by bloggers as a photo repository. As of November 2008[update], it claims to host more than 3 billion images.

Flickr asks photo submitters to organize images using tags (a form of metadata), which allow searchers to find images related to particular topics, such as place names or subject matter. Flickr was also an early website to implement tag clouds, which provide access to images tagged with the most popular keywords.

Flickr also allows users to organize their photos into "sets", or groups of photos that fall under the same heading. However, sets are more flexible than the traditional folder-based method of organizing files, as one photo can belong to one set, many sets, or none at all. Flickr's "sets", then, represent a form of categorical metadata rather than a physical hierarchy. Sets may be grouped into "collections", and collections further grouped into higher-order collections.

Finally, Flickr offers a fairly comprehensive web-service API that allows programmers to create applications that can perform almost any function a user on the Flickr site can do.  To use the Flickr API, users need to know their Flickr NSIDs. Several sites have been developed to aid users in this, including idGettr and What Is My Flickr Id.

view wiki
Polls with this website
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists