|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Websites » Reviews » Google.com » User review

Google It

A website known for its search engine

< read all 16 reviews

Have you ever googled your name?

  • Jan 9, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+3
Come on, admit it...we all have googled our own name at least once to see what comes up.  It's amazing in this era of technology and the information superhighway to find out how many times our name may appear.  People can find out if we have a Facebook, Twitter, Digg or MySpace Account but let's be honest MySpace is so yesterday.  Now, Facebook-practically everyone and their mom has a Facebook profile.   Celebrities tweet on Twitter. It's been told that many employers google prospective employees names to see what's on their Facebook, MySpace and other social networking sights.

Journalists have been warned not too blog or post their political affilations and opinions.  Students who have posted scandalous and racy pics on their Facebook or MySpace profiles have been suspended or expelled from school. Even things have gone as far as them being charged with distributing child pornography because they "sexted" or sent provocative pictures to a boyfriend/girlfriend/classmate.  Just because of a lapse in judgment,  their futures can be jeopardized. 

So, make sure you don't post any embarrassing photos of yourself online.  Just think of it like this...don't put up anything that you wouldn't want your mother to see. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
August 07, 2010
I was reading @tunguz' review of Googled: The End of the World As we Know It and I remembered reading your review here and googling my own name. :) I just wanted to mention the review to you, I thought you may be interested.
 
January 12, 2010
It's not just everyone and their mom who has a Facebook profile nowadays; it seems like it's everyone and their grandma :P  I've Googled myself before, but my name is much too popular to get any results that pertain to me.  And that's sound advice on what to, and what not to share online.  Thanks for sharing, Kim! :)
 
January 09, 2010
Thanks for the advice, I wasn't careful in the beginning while I was posting on the net but I learn my lesson now. plus tell my daughters that all the time when they are on the Internet either on Facebook or MySpace.
 
1
More Google.com reviews
Quick Tip by . April 29, 2011
posted in A Whole New World
Best search engine. So far no one can dispute that. Bing is trying hard though. In any case, the investors think it's worth a whopping $540 a share, so what more can I say?      However, lately Google has been going into areas which others excel in, much more like a copycat than anything. It doesn't bode well. It feels like Google is having "problems" being large!
review by . July 14, 2009
I’m not quite sure what triggered the latest wave of anti-Google sentiment, from the death of Google Appsto the concept of Google stealing Apple’s ideas (really?) but I suspect it won’t go anywhere. For all the corporate spending on Apple-hatred in the Windows-versus-Mac debate, Apple has gained a sizable share, even against a corporate behemoth with a lock-in application like Microsoft Office. Ultimately, thanks to the Internet, the decision is largely …
Quick Tip by . October 19, 2010
The toolbar is great and I like the results from my searches.
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2010
I, and many of my fellow computer geeks have come to rely on Google to answer all question no matter how obscure....
Quick Tip by . August 25, 2010
I could not live without it. Google is my hope for the future greatness of the country
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2010
Go to Google.com, search for "world cup" & scroll down to the bottom. It's cute!
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
How did the world do anything before google?
Quick Tip by . June 11, 2010
Google is the best search engine and I would be lost without it
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
a household word lets google it
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
I love all things google! :D
About the reviewer
Kim ()
Ranked #262
I'm afreelance writer, poet, blogger and educator. I'm a single parent to two beautiful children and a proud grandmother. I'm a Midwestern girl at heart, Democrat and I was born and raised in Illinois. … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
brunettemomSI
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Wiki

Google is the most used search engine on the web, started by Larry Page and Sergey Brin.  The search results are returned based on a PageRank algorithm, which involves over 200 criteria to find results for each search.

In addition to web pages, Google search also returns images, Excel files and YouTube results that are linked with the search.

Google search offers an "I'm feeling lucky" option which returns only the first search result, bypassing all others and all advertising.  This option is reported to lose Google $110 million a year, as 1% of searches choose this option.
view wiki
Polls with this website
Logo

Most popular websites to visit

by

First to Review

"Google It!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists