|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Websites » Reviews » Google.com » User review

Google It

A website known for its search engine

< read all 16 reviews

Google It!

  • Apr 17, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
Internet search is Google.  It's not the other way around anymore.

Anytime someone asks a question, the appropriate response is "Google it."  Sure, there are trademark issues related to this, but that's how powerful the brand has become.

Google is the Internet.

For me, life without Google would be a nightmare.  How can I check my email?  How can I find out the newest website or find articles on a current event?  How am I supposed to read my RSS feeds?  How am I supposed to blog?  Post pictures on Picasa?

I even text Google when I need something... whether it's the weather, a phone number for a local business, or even defining a word!

And I don't know how many times I've helped someone out with their computer and Google came up.  Here's an example:

Me:  How do you check your email?
Them:  I type Time Warner Web Mail in the Internet.
MeTimeWarnerWebMail.com
Them:  No.  Time Warner Web Mail in the internet.

At this point, I had NO idea what they were talking about.. but I decided to type in timewarnerwebmail.com.  Didn't work. 

Them:  It's not that.  I type in Time Warner Web Mail in the Internet and it gives me a list of stuff.  I click on my mail.

Now I'm really confused.  Is it their favorites?  Nope.. not there either.  Then it hits me.  Google.com.. then SEARCH for Time Warner Web Mail.  Yup... there's the link.

Them:  Yes!!  See type it in the Internet.


Google = The Internet

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
1
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
May 05, 2009
& the Chinese version of Google is Baidu.com! This one is powerful for MP3 and if you listen to chinese songs, this is where u want to go!!!
 
May 04, 2009
Spot on! I look up the most random things on Google and get my answer every time. Have you heard of ChaCha? Sounds like a good on-the-go-need-and-answer-now resource. However if you have a decent phone I would still prob just Google it!
 
1
More Google.com reviews
Quick Tip by . April 29, 2011
posted in A Whole New World
Best search engine. So far no one can dispute that. Bing is trying hard though. In any case, the investors think it's worth a whopping $540 a share, so what more can I say?      However, lately Google has been going into areas which others excel in, much more like a copycat than anything. It doesn't bode well. It feels like Google is having "problems" being large!
review by . July 14, 2009
I’m not quite sure what triggered the latest wave of anti-Google sentiment, from the death of Google Appsto the concept of Google stealing Apple’s ideas (really?) but I suspect it won’t go anywhere. For all the corporate spending on Apple-hatred in the Windows-versus-Mac debate, Apple has gained a sizable share, even against a corporate behemoth with a lock-in application like Microsoft Office. Ultimately, thanks to the Internet, the decision is largely …
review by . January 09, 2010
Come on, admit it...we all have googled our own name at least once to see what comes up.  It's amazing in this era of technology and the information superhighway to find out how many times our name may appear.  People can find out if we have a Facebook, Twitter, Digg or MySpace Account but let's be honest MySpace is so yesterday.  Now, Facebook-practically everyone and their mom has a Facebook profile.   Celebrities tweet on Twitter. It's been told that many employers …
Quick Tip by . October 19, 2010
The toolbar is great and I like the results from my searches.
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2010
I, and many of my fellow computer geeks have come to rely on Google to answer all question no matter how obscure....
Quick Tip by . August 25, 2010
I could not live without it. Google is my hope for the future greatness of the country
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2010
Go to Google.com, search for "world cup" & scroll down to the bottom. It's cute!
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
How did the world do anything before google?
Quick Tip by . June 11, 2010
Google is the best search engine and I would be lost without it
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
a household word lets google it
About the reviewer
Justice Erolin ()
Ranked #140
Hmm... let's see.    I'm a 20-something living in Los Angeles, CA. I was born and raised here, with the exception of a 3 year stint in the Philippines. This "long" vacation helped … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
justiceerolin
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Wiki

Google is the most used search engine on the web, started by Larry Page and Sergey Brin.  The search results are returned based on a PageRank algorithm, which involves over 200 criteria to find results for each search.

In addition to web pages, Google search also returns images, Excel files and YouTube results that are linked with the search.

Google search offers an "I'm feeling lucky" option which returns only the first search result, bypassing all others and all advertising.  This option is reported to lose Google $110 million a year, as 1% of searches choose this option.
view wiki
Polls with this website
Logo

Most popular websites to visit

by

First to Review

"Google It!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists