|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Websites » Reviews » Huffington Post » User review

The Huffington Post

A liberal news website

< read all 4 reviews

Dare to be different!

  • May 1, 2011
Rating:
+3
If you're not impressed with The Huffington Post, then you must at least be impressed with how far its founder Arianna Huffington has brought her blogging skill into the world of media and business. Huffington Post is a success story as far as blogging is. It is also possibly the most high profile and profit making blog in the world!

And the price tag? A staggering US$315 million! Holy Moses! 

Not impressed? The original blog was set up only a mere 6 years ago (May 2005)!!! Arianna Huffington has an impressive history and has certainly come far as a Greek American author and columnist. Of course, being the ex-wife of former Republican congressman Michael Huffington helps in her wide networks.

Now, I don't read HP regularly but I do take a peep once in awhile. As in when Richard Branson was surfing naked and also when GoDaddy.com CEO went shotting elephant in Africa.

I like HuffPost for its boldness and candor. I can always find interesting things to read on HuffPost, other than political news which it is geared towards now.


The Huffington Post is not only successful, it has a huge interconnected network of media heavy weights. I first get to see the President Obama release of his long form birth cert on the site. I also hear about his interview on Oprah Show on HuffPost.


Clearly, HuffPost is no longer the blogging site we first knew it to be. It is a different animal and takes on a different look than it once was. I do hope that it doesn't turned into another one of those news site we are all so familiar with. That could spell the end of its formula for success, imho.

For now, enjoy HuffPost for what it is.
Huffington Post is not only the first to post but also posted some of the best selection of photos on the Royal Wedding held 2 days ago. Lovely couple, aren't they?


Hence, Huffington Post is not the stifling and boring news site we are all familiar with. It interacts well with its wide audiences and I hope one day, as with CNN, it becomes a lot more global than it currently is. No doubt about it, Huffington Post will be a force to reckon with in no time! It's definitely the darling and envy of many blogging and community sites! What Huffington Post may lack in integrity (not that it is, just that it is typically more liberal than the others), it surpasses the others in interactivity. That is what makes it a successful venture in the future. The media industry is evolving constantly with all the social media tools available and we'll likely see readers getting more and more involved in bringing news to the rest of the world. Huffington Post is well poised for that role in our lives!

Huffington Post dares to be different! And, in doing so, it's at the forefront of the news-grabbing media industry!
Dare to be different! Dare to be different! Dare to be different! Dare to be different! Dare to be different!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
May 01, 2011
yup. Agreed.
 
1
More Huffington Post reviews
Quick Tip by . May 01, 2011
posted in A Whole New World
Caption
HuffPost gives its readers a voice, not merely news reporting and spoon feeding. Interactive & the news portal of the future!
review by . December 12, 2008
Huffington Post is not for the faint at heart. It is a lively, entertaining, bold, tongue-in-cheek site dedicated to explicating the most vital and relevant political information. Championed by political commentator, author and pundit Arianna Huffington, this is definitely a place where you either highly agree or vehemently disagree with the information provided.    Without a doubt, this site leans quite far left as far as social and economic issues. For example, Huffington Post …
review by . December 18, 2008
In the months leading up to the election I would constantly check out Drudge Report for its conservative, right-leaning stories on Senator Obama and other hot topics, like California's Proposition 8. Finally, I got so overwhelmed by what the right was thinking that I needed a website to balance out Drudge. That's when I stumbled upon Arianna Huffington's "Huffington Post."    HuffPo, as some call it, features links to news stories from other media websites. Except what this website …
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #3
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Wiki

The Huffington Post, also referred to as HuffPo or HuffPost, is an American news website and aggregated blog founded byArianna Huffington, Kenneth Lerer, and Jonah Peretti, featuring various news sources and columnists.The site offers coverage of politics, media, business, entertainment, living, style, the green movement, world news, and comedy, and is a top destination for news, blogs, and original content. The Huffington Post was launched on May 9, 2005, as a commentary outlet andliberal/progressive alternative to conservative news websites like the Drudge Report.

(via Wikipedia)
view wiki

Tags

Websites, News Websites, Online Media, Politics Websites, Business Websites

Details

Polls with this website
ABC News

Best News Sources

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists