|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » IMDB.com (Internet Movie Database) » User review

IMDB

An online database of information related to movies, actors, television shows, production crew personnel, video games, and most recently, fictional characters featured in visual entertainment media.

< read all 5 reviews

Before there was wikipedia there was IMDB

  • Nov 24, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
For someone like me who is a movie buff, this site was one of the greatest toys invented.  I remember when it first came out how I could amaze my friend by reciting an actor's entire resume.   What I really like about it is that many times I am watching a film and I see a recognizable actor that I do not know the name of or what film he/she might have been in before.  With a couple of mouse clicks I can get the information.  I used to be quite active on this site and am a member who is able to add updates.  I used to bug my uncle, a character actor named George Simmons, for details about his career so I could post it.  It was never important to him.  Now that he has passed on, I wish I knew more about the many specific television episodes as well as the vast number of films for which he was an uncredited extra.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
8
Thought-Provoking
8
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
January 25, 2010
It's definitely great for refreshing one's memories and finding the right film under each actor or actress. I had a lot of fun with it when I first came across it eons ago!:-)
 
November 24, 2009
I had no idea that the IMDb had been around for so long! I'm no movie buff, but I still use it for reference from time to time. That's unfortunate that your uncle didn't leave behind a record of all the movies that he has been a part of, but I'm sure all of the actors of this generation are more involved in IMDb. Thanks for sharing!
November 25, 2009
Thanks for posting the data point. I have a lot of photos of my Uncle in a lot of movies that I have no idea what they were. Also he was in the first 5 seasons of MASH and I was only able to add episodes to his bio that I had stubs from residual checks for. He did play the father in The Reflecting Pool episode of the Twilight Zone and I have the TV guide showing him in it.
 
1
More IMDB.com (Internet Movie Datab... reviews
review by . August 26, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
Is there any website better to find things out about your favorite movie, actor or television show than the internet movie database (from here on out called the IMDB)?  Probably not.  In terms of finding out much of what you want to know about movies, this is probably the best place to go to.  The way the site has improved over the years actually helps things out more than hinders them.  The only real problem is that in order to explore ever last crevice on the IMDB you'll have …
Quick Tip by . May 03, 2010
Highly informative website for all of your movie needs. It's like an online movie encyclopedia!
Quick Tip by . January 25, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
A great site for movie buffs. I love it when I first discovered it though I've only been back for some info search these days.
Quick Tip by . August 31, 2009
This is the website/database to find any and all information available on any movie ever made or that is being made or might be made. Best!!
About the reviewer

Ranked #9
I first got on this blog to discuss my first passion which is books. Since I have gotten on I find that books are only a piece of this blog and I can discuss just about anything that comes to mind. It … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MichaelN
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Wiki

The Internet Movie Database (IMDb) is an online database of information related to movies, actors, television shows, production crew personnel, video games, and most recently, fictional characters featured in visual entertainment media. IMDb launched on October 17, 1990, and in 1998 was acquired by Amazon.com.

The IMDb website consists of one of the largest accumulations of data about films, television programs, direct-to-video products, and video games, reaching back to each medium's respective beginning. In many cases, the information goes beyond simple title and crew credit, but also includes data on uncredited personnel, production and distribution companies, plot summaries, memorable quotes, awards, reviews, box office performance, filming locations, technical specs, promotional content, trivia, and links to official and other websites. Furthermore, the IMDb tracks titles in production, including major announced projects still in development.

The database also houses filmographies for all persons, cast and crew, identified in listed titles. Filmographies include biographical details, awards listings, external links, and information about other professional work not covered by title entries in the database such as theatrical and commercial advertising appearances.

The IMDb also offers ancillary material such as daily movie and TV news, weekly box office reports, TV listings, cinema showtimes, user polls and ratings, and special features about various movie events ...
view wiki

Tags

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists