|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Websites » Reviews » Netflix » User review

Netflix

An online DVD and Blu-ray Disc rental service, offering flat rate rental-by-mail and online streaming to customers in the United States.

< read all 10 reviews

Don't you just hate it when people can't explain to you why something happened?

  • Aug 5, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
I got started with Netflix not too long ago, enticed by Watch Instantly.  Everything was going well, but recently I had some weird experience.

I was waiting for a new DVD from my queue, but after over week of returning my last DVD nothing came through in our mail.  I finally went to the site and tried to see what was going on.  It showed that they received the last DVD a week ago, but it showed nothing has been mailed out.

I didn't see any on-line inquires, but there was a phone number for 24 hour customer service.  My husband called in late in the evening, and the customer service representative told him that account is on hold and she couldn't tell us why.  He needed to call in the morning to get the proper folks to figure out why.

So I called the following morning.  The representative was able to pull up the record that my husband had called the night before, and told me that the request to lift the account hold has been submitted and will take 2-3 days.  Naturally, I asked what the reason for the hold is.  Did we do something wrong?  If so, let us know so we can correct it.  The answer was "I don't know.  The system does this sometimes."  Errr....  What does that mean?  Was she saying "This is a BUG that we can't figure out"?  Or was she saying that there is some hidden policy?

Finally we got an email saying that the hold on the account has been lifted.  But there was no explanation nor apologies.  Wow!  Does Netflix have total monopoly in this space that they can do this to their customers?

I did some on-line search to see if anyone had similar issue, and viola.  Here is a forum post from another victim: Account on Hold.

Although this is an isolated incident and somewhat of a minor infraction, I am a bit disappointed after being a fan of Netflix.  I just wished the customer service handled this better.  It would have been much better to admit that there is an issue and they are working on it.  A simple apology for the inconvenience might have prevented me from venting.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
7
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
8
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
December 01, 2009
I'm really surprised to read this. Twice I returned disks without the internal sleeve, and both times I didn't get credited for the return. The first time I didn't realize there was a problem for over a week. When I called the 800 number I was sent 3 extra movies to make up for my lost time. The second time I knew what had happened and called right away. I was then told that the receiving center doesn't have any way to track them when we send them with just a piece of paper with our contact info, even though that's what we're told to do. It's such a small inconvenience that I don't mind making the call if I've lost the internal sleeve. It's too bad you had that experience. I hope it doesn't happen again.
 
August 14, 2009
I just came back from checking that out on NetFlix. I've only been a member for a short time (less that 6 months) and I've already had one movie not arrive, so I'm pretty sure they'll be looking at me suspiciously soon. I used to work for the post office so I know that a lot of these movies wind up in a department we called 'Nixie" where they stayed for months at a time until a clerk got around to trying to piece the envelope back together and find out where it was supposed to go. Eventually most of them would be sent back to NetFlix as undeliverable but that might take as long as a year. By then somebody may have had to pay for the DVD. This happened an awful lot, and this was just in one small depot. Imagine what a problem it must be nationwide!
August 14, 2009
Oh Interesting. I always wondered what percentage of DVDs get lost and what happens to them... I'm not sure if that was the case with ours though. Our account showed they received our DVD, but nothing was sent out after that. I have no idea why our account was frozen and that's what bugs me. LOL
August 14, 2009
You'd think they'd at least have the decency to give you a reason. But I do know that a significant number are delayed a very long time in being returned to netFlix by the post office because they insist on running them on the computerized equip even though Netflix has asked that they been processed by hand for this very reason.
 
August 05, 2009
Ooooh, sorry about that experience, must've been frustrating!  Considering what great customer service they usually have, that's weird that they didn't do anything to make amends, like a free upgrade for a couple months, or a simple apology.  Even @suzette got a coupon for a buy one get one free pizza when Domino's delivered her pizza way late.  Netflix needs to step up!
 
1
More Netflix reviews
review by . November 07, 2012
posted in WHAT CAN I SAY?
If you're the movie nut that I am, you've probably endured that scenario a million times where you'd be waiting in anticipation to see some movie you missed in the theaters but really wanted to see, made the walk over to Blockbuster Video (possibly in two and a half feet of snow because it's winter and you live in Buffalo) in anticipation of renting it, and not finding it there. In 1997, a guy named Reed Hastings had that happen once too often and decided to do something about it. He came up with …
review by . November 06, 2008
Netflix has been around forever, but I was never interested in getting a subscription.  I felt like a luddite or a cavewoman, having to go to the video stores to rent.  But serioulsy, it was just sooooo unappealing to me that I have to PLAN what to watch days ahead.  There are so many things in life that I have to PLAN ahead.  Why should I plan my video rental?  This is one of very few things left that I can do spontaneously.  So I have been going to local video stores.  …
review by . July 10, 2010
   I've used Netflix for almost a year now and for the most part I'm rather impressed. Very extensive selection to choose from, especially for the unusual rental types such as animae, and foreign films. Also the movies come in a very timely manner. The only thing I could want improved was their customer service, and their PS3 streaming. But hey you get what you pay for and for the most part Netflix doesn't disappoint at $9.99 a month.
Quick Tip by . June 11, 2010
This feature is SO convenient!
Quick Tip by . June 11, 2010
Netflix has an amazing variety of films, you can get things from them that are extremely hard to locate.
review by . February 08, 2009
posted in WHAT CAN I SAY?
What can I say? I used to go to Blockbuster and stay in line to get my movies--there are days that I didn't even come home with the new release I droved 5 miles for to bring home. Back in 2001 or 2002, I was introduced to "Netflix" by a co-worker and I was instantly hooked.    the Pros:  -no lines, no late fees, watch the movie whenever you want  -Millions upon millions of movie selection, they have a wide range of foreign films  -hundreds of warehouses …
review by . December 01, 2009
I never thought I'd subscribe to Netflix.  I was late to use Redbox too.  For the longest time I wondered about those big red machines in my local stores.  Once I started using Redbox I loved it, except for needing to return the disks.  I ended up paying way more than a dollar a movie because I was lazy.  So I looked into Netflix.        I've been using Netflix for several months now and I don't have any complaints.  I've never had a bad disk …
review by . April 24, 2009
the turn around is solid watch now is decent very good selection customer service has always been top notch it does the job i want it to do, plain and simple it keeps on getting better
About the reviewer
Jennifer ()
Ranked #114
On my spare time, I love to see and experience new things; hence traveling and eating are one of my favorite things to do. I like abstract art (love Mark Rothko's works), classical music, interior design, … more
About this website

Wiki

Netflix (NASDAQ: NFLX) is an online DVD and Blu-ray Disc rental service, offering flat rate rental-by-mail and online streaming to customers in the United States. Established in 1997 and headquartered in Los Gatos, California, it has amassed a collection of 100,000 titles and approximately 10 million subscribers. The company has more than 55 million discs and, on average, ships 1.9 million DVDs to customers each day. Netflix previously claimed to spend about $300 million a year on postage. On February 25, 2007, Netflix announced the billionth DVD delivery. Two years later, on April 2, 2009, the company announced that it had mailed its two billionth DVD, and awarded the recipient with a complimentary lifetime membership. It topped the ForeSee Results’ Top 100 Online Retail Satisfaction Index with an American Customer Satisfaction Index score of 86, well over the industry average of 75.
view wiki

Details

Polls with this website
Amazon

Where Do You Rent Your Movies?

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists