|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Websites » Reviews » Netflix » User review

Netflix

An online DVD and Blu-ray Disc rental service, offering flat rate rental-by-mail and online streaming to customers in the United States.

< read all 10 reviews

I'm saved from the cave dewelling!

  • Nov 6, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+4

Netflix has been around forever, but I was never interested in getting a subscription.  I felt like a luddite or a cavewoman, having to go to the video stores to rent.  But serioulsy, it was just sooooo unappealing to me that I have to PLAN what to watch days ahead.  There are so many things in life that I have to PLAN ahead.  Why should I plan my video rental?  This is one of very few things left that I can do spontaneously.  So I have been going to local video stores.  When my local video store finally shut down, I was resorted to the limited selections from video-on-demand offered by our cable provider.

Recently, I learned about Netflix VOD from one of my esteemed colleague.  Wow, this is going to change my life!  There are a ton of selections, including foreign and independent films.  The video quality is pretty good.  On our 42 inch HD TV, the quality is as good as Time Warner HD channels.  It uses embedded player in Internet Explorer.  The streaming happens within seconds and when the internet connection is flaky, the player retries and resumes.

For $8.99 a month for unlimited streaming, I say this is the best bargain ever.  I just hope this isn't just an introductory teaser rate.

One on my wishlist is the ability to use remote control rather than keyboard/mouse attached to the PC.  Even with wireless keyboard/mouse, it's a bit pain.  Otherwise, I love this!

------------------------------------------------------------------------

After having used it for a month, here are some fresher perspective.

  • The movie selection is definitely only a fraction of the DVD selection.  It's still much better than cable's VOD or DirecTV Pay-per-View, I think.
  • If your internet is flaky, it can be frustrating at times.  At certain points, movie pauses and the expected time to resume can be 10s of minutes.  Sometimes, the player re-evaluates your download speed and significantly reduces the video quality.  All this no fault of NetFlix; it's just the side-effect of having unreliable internet service.
  • I still like it.  It augments planned DVD rental very well.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
72
Thought-Provoking
24
Fun to Read
22
Well-Organized
24
Post a Comment
March 03, 2012
$9 per month for unlimited streaming is good value.
 
October 23, 2011
I love Netflix; getting DVD's in the mail gives me something to look forward to; plus they're quick to get the DVD's to you and they notify you by email when they have received the ones you send back. I would love to get Netflix to stream on my TV but not through my computer; doesn't Netflix also stream through XBox, PS, and a couple other game devices? I'm waiting to get a game console that will work so I can enjoy the streaming movies. I figure if Netflix has been great to deal with through the mail, then streaming through a game device would be wonderful!
October 23, 2011
Geeez -- I didn't realize this review was all the way back from 2008 when I wrote my reply LOL
 
January 19, 2010
Good review! You brought up some interesting points, which made me think of renting in a store versus online. I'm sure eventually video stores will close down and we'll only be able to get videos from places like Netflix, but I admit...I'll probably miss actually going to a video store and hand selecting a movie.
 
December 27, 2009
Living the life of a troglodyte has its advantages. I have not had much problem with the streaming video (I only have a "G" wireless band for my home. But my internet runs at a decent speed. The convenience has been great and the price is right (it sound like we have the same one video plan for 8.99).
 
December 02, 2009
I love the Netflix OnDemand feature - It integrates really well with the xBox too. Which is nice for those of us that don't want to hook up the computer every time to watch a video. The selection is expanded at a rate such that I always have something new to watch, so I'm fairly happy with it. But it is kind of a bummer when you want to watch something specific.
 
August 03, 2009
Great review - I switched to a more stable DSL and it's much better now. I hear they're adding more channels like Hulu by the end of 09.
August 03, 2009
Thank you. Ours has stabled too. We were seeing flakiness due to our wireless connection. Although our internet does go down every once in a while, it hasn't affected our movie watching experience once we hooked up our computer to the router with cable.
 
April 14, 2009
I use watch instantly on a mac and it works fine, unless I'm thinking of something else? My BF and I always joke about watch instantly, because I end up watching the weirdest stuff, like PBS biographies, or documentaries about large cats. The selection is seriously lacking. They hardly have any new or popular movies, but still, you can't argue with the convenience! I just hope they make more content available. (BTW, Man On Wire was available - until it won an Oscar! They promptly removed it from watch instantly! See what I mean??)
 
April 01, 2009
Can you use the software on a Mac? How cool! Thanks for the info!
 
December 10, 2008
I'm impressed by how good the streaming is for those "watch instantly" movies and TV shows!
 
November 14, 2008
We replaced our keyboard/mouse with this integrated keyboard-mouse with handles on the side. It's much bulkier than a remote control, but it works out pretty decently. I can almost hold beer in one hand and browse with the other. :-) http://www.amazon.com/BTC-Wireless-Multimedia-Keyboard-Joystick/dp/B000B7RBKE/ref=sr_1_10?ie=UTF8&s=pc&qid=1226632964&sr=1-10
 
1 2 Next
More Netflix reviews
review by . November 07, 2012
posted in WHAT CAN I SAY?
If you're the movie nut that I am, you've probably endured that scenario a million times where you'd be waiting in anticipation to see some movie you missed in the theaters but really wanted to see, made the walk over to Blockbuster Video (possibly in two and a half feet of snow because it's winter and you live in Buffalo) in anticipation of renting it, and not finding it there. In 1997, a guy named Reed Hastings had that happen once too often and decided to do something about it. He came up with …
review by . July 10, 2010
   I've used Netflix for almost a year now and for the most part I'm rather impressed. Very extensive selection to choose from, especially for the unusual rental types such as animae, and foreign films. Also the movies come in a very timely manner. The only thing I could want improved was their customer service, and their PS3 streaming. But hey you get what you pay for and for the most part Netflix doesn't disappoint at $9.99 a month.
Quick Tip by . June 11, 2010
This feature is SO convenient!
Quick Tip by . June 11, 2010
Netflix has an amazing variety of films, you can get things from them that are extremely hard to locate.
review by . August 05, 2009
I got started with Netflix not too long ago, enticed by Watch Instantly.  Everything was going well, but recently I had some weird experience.      I was waiting for a new DVD from my queue, but after over week of returning my last DVD nothing came through in our mail.  I finally went to the site and tried to see what was going on.  It showed that they received the last DVD a week ago, but it showed nothing has been mailed out.      I didn't …
review by . February 08, 2009
posted in WHAT CAN I SAY?
What can I say? I used to go to Blockbuster and stay in line to get my movies--there are days that I didn't even come home with the new release I droved 5 miles for to bring home. Back in 2001 or 2002, I was introduced to "Netflix" by a co-worker and I was instantly hooked.    the Pros:  -no lines, no late fees, watch the movie whenever you want  -Millions upon millions of movie selection, they have a wide range of foreign films  -hundreds of warehouses …
review by . December 01, 2009
I never thought I'd subscribe to Netflix.  I was late to use Redbox too.  For the longest time I wondered about those big red machines in my local stores.  Once I started using Redbox I loved it, except for needing to return the disks.  I ended up paying way more than a dollar a movie because I was lazy.  So I looked into Netflix.        I've been using Netflix for several months now and I don't have any complaints.  I've never had a bad disk …
review by . April 24, 2009
the turn around is solid watch now is decent very good selection customer service has always been top notch it does the job i want it to do, plain and simple it keeps on getting better
About the reviewer
Jennifer ()
Ranked #114
On my spare time, I love to see and experience new things; hence traveling and eating are one of my favorite things to do. I like abstract art (love Mark Rothko's works), classical music, interior design, … more
About this website

Wiki

Netflix (NASDAQ: NFLX) is an online DVD and Blu-ray Disc rental service, offering flat rate rental-by-mail and online streaming to customers in the United States. Established in 1997 and headquartered in Los Gatos, California, it has amassed a collection of 100,000 titles and approximately 10 million subscribers. The company has more than 55 million discs and, on average, ships 1.9 million DVDs to customers each day. Netflix previously claimed to spend about $300 million a year on postage. On February 25, 2007, Netflix announced the billionth DVD delivery. Two years later, on April 2, 2009, the company announced that it had mailed its two billionth DVD, and awarded the recipient with a complimentary lifetime membership. It topped the ForeSee Results’ Top 100 Online Retail Satisfaction Index with an American Customer Satisfaction Index score of 86, well over the industry average of 75.
view wiki

Details

Polls with this website
Amazon

Where Do You Rent Your Movies?

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists