|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Websites » Reviews » PerezHilton.com » User review

Logo

A celebrity gossip website

< read all 2 reviews

No thanks. Give me an old school gossiphound any day!

  • Mar 10, 2009
  • by
Rating:
-5
Perez is severely lacking. Just read some of the "old school" gossiphounds from back in the day and you'll see what I mean . A wry turn of phrase. A play on words. Wit. Eloquence. If you admire these traits in a blogger, you better avoid Hilton, for he gets it all wrong. 
This pink-haired buffoon resorts to name-calling, doodling on pictures, and outright snarkiness in his blog, which is tremendously popular , for some unknown reason. Why, Perez?  I understand liking and disliking certain celebrities. We all do. But to resort to such childishness is not entertaining- it's sad.

Speaking of sad, he can't even be bothered to run spellcheck.  You'd think he'd care a little bit more with so many readers!

Too bad Liz Smith's column is now toast. She was informative AND classy- two things Mr. Hilton is not and never will be! 


What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
10
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
May 08, 2009
I'm no big fan of gossip sites but I have often found they break news that will have traction on the web. Perez is pretty good at this. I have a whole bunch of gossip blogs fed into my Google reader. Perez also wins because of the frequency of posting. He bangs ouot about 60 posts a day. That, in part, accounts for his success. It's a sticky front page.
December 01, 2009
I agree. He is very quick to report breaking celebrity news. Several times he has released true news before TMZ and E!, which says a lot about his contacts in the industry and the ambitious nature of his work, regardless if people agree with it or not.
 
March 24, 2009
I'm quite conflicted on Perez as well. Gossip is a pretty crass activity, but it can be done tastefully — a little inneunendo here, a little turn of the phrase there. But Perez? He just draws coke lines coming out of celebrity's noses in AP photos. It's disturbing, but I wonder if he also reveals gossip for what it is: classless and tacky.
 
March 24, 2009
Totally agreed, I don't get him. Nice info in the wiki- I didn't know where he came from.
 
March 17, 2009
I don't enjoy his site. Perhaps I just don't care THAT much about celebrity gossip? I just don't get it. But the same could be said about my show and music in general.
 
1
About the reviewer

Ranked #468
Member Since: Mar 10, 2009
Last Login: May 7, 2009 05:18 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
mollyr530
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Wiki

Perezhilton.com is a gossip website written by blogger Mario Armando Lavandeira, Jr. who use to write on the website PageSixSixSix.com.

Perezhilton is his pseudonym for his writing of gossip about celebrities, musicians and actors which draw from rumors where he adds his own commentary or drawings.  His writing and blogs have received a lot of positive and negative review.  Although it is a well visited website, many readers think his attitude is too harsh on may stories that are not even close to true.

Lavandeira has been involved in many legal cases as many photographers other media companies have sued for Perezhilton displaying copyrighted images before they have had a chance to publish it through their magazines - thus diminishing potential profit.
view wiki
Polls with this website
Logo

Most popular websites to visit

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists