|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » SeamlessWeb » User review

SeamlessWeb

An online food ordering web site where users can order food from online menus.

< read all 2 reviews

SeamlessWeb: Ordering Food Has Never Been Easier

  • Dec 3, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
I travel quite a bit on business and often find myself at a loss when it comes to ordering food.  Room service is usually uber-expensive and most of the time I have no idea what restaurants and take out joints are located nearby the hotels I am staying at.  When I was in Manhattan this past summer, someone suggested that I check out SeamlessWeb.  I jotted down the name of the site and shoved the smidgen of torn off paper into my pocket (secretly thinking, yeah right...).  It seemed like a stupid, desperate name which often brings you to stupid, desperate sites. 

Well when I got back to the hotel, I quickly realized they didn't offer room service.  No, I am not joking.  This was a hotel that was completely void of an on-premise restaurant or one affiliated with their establishment.  It was getting late and I really didn't feel like walking around the streets of NYC .  Light bulb!  I remembered the wadded up piece of paper I had shoved into my pocket earlier that day.

I quickly pulled up SeamlessWeb, signed up for a personal account and began to explore a virtual city of endless food choices!  Chinese, Italian, sandwiches, burgers... I discovered that the restaurants utilizing SeamlessWeb were expansive and varied. 

What's really nice about SeamlessWeb is that everything is aggregated into one central repository complete with reviews, popularity ranks, low to high prices and estimated time of deliveries.  You no longer have to go searching through countless restaurant sites trying to locate menus and making calls to place orders.  Everything is done online via the SeamlessWeb platform. 

I have used the service a few times now and always order based on popularity and existing reviews.  So far, I haven't been let down.  If you're one to travel frequently, I highly recommend this service.  They are currently serving 13 major US cities and London.

Bon appetit!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
21
Fun to Read
21
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
August 02, 2011
This sounds like a great idea.
 
December 22, 2010
Love it! I reviewed OpenTable.com with the same exact problem- traveling, hungry and no clue where to go and it saved me! They have an iPhone/iPod Touch and Droid app as well so if you're out and about you can see if there's an open table at a local restaurant, a menu and prices. Another plus? It's international. I'm going to have to check out Seamless because Open Table doesn't offer reviews, last I checked! Thanks for sharing :)
 
October 09, 2010
This is perfect when you get in to town late and there's nothing convenient around your hotel. Love the idea. I'll definitely be checking it out! Thanks!
 
February 02, 2010
My wife is going to Italy I wonder if they have this over there. Nice Job!
 
January 18, 2010
Bookmarked! Not heading US anytime soon for me. Where I'm traveling now, for most part I found restaurants nearby.
 
December 03, 2009
LOL Thanks Devora! I was wondering where to add tags at... ;-)
December 03, 2009
No problem! You just click on the little pencil symbol next to "Tags".  Now this review will end up in the Technology and Websites community ;)
 
December 03, 2009
Wow, this sounds awesome.  I just checked out the site and they're available in San Francisco! *fist pump*  Thanks for sharing!

By the way, if you look to your right, I added in some information and tags to help people find your review more easily ;)
 
1
More SeamlessWeb reviews
Quick Tip by . December 03, 2009
That's great it's available in many major cities, it's in Chicago too! I might just check it out.
About the reviewer
Crystal Williams ()
Ranked #238
Hi! My name is Crystal, and I have multiple personalities. No. I don't have a disorder. I just know how to apply myself in any given situation, love variety and not afaid to go after what Iwant (even … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Crystal
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Wiki

SeamlessWeb is an online food ordering web site where users can order food from online menus.

SeamlessWeb was launched in 1999, providing companies with a Web-based system for ordering food from restaurants/caterers, florists, gift-basket purveyors, and other local vendors. They currently serve over 1,500 companies in the United States and in London. The service is also available for personal orders in New York City, London, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Chicago, Boston, Philadelphia, Washington D.C., Houston, New Jersey, and Connecticut. They were acquired by Aramark in April 2006.

The name "SeamlessWeb" was coined to reflect a unique approach to creating efficiencies in billing. Solutions can be integrated easily – seamlessly – with companies' existing accounting systems.

Users enter their address and SeamlessWeb returns a list of restaurants that will deliver to the submitted address. Users then select a restaurant, create an order from the online menu, and submit the order electronically by entering their credit card or a company billing code. Ratings, reviews, photos, tags, and other information is provided to help the user find the most appropriate meal.

SeamlessWeb does not prepare or deliver any food. Once a user submits an order, it is automatically sent to a dedicated computer terminal or fax machine at the restaurant. The restaurant confirms the order with SeamlessWeb and then prepares and delivers the order. At many restaurants, users also ...
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists