|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Blogging » Reviews » Tumblr » User review

A blogging platform that allows users to post text, images, video, links, quotes, and audio to their tumblelog, a short-form blog.

< read all 8 reviews

A Place To Keep All Your Random Internet Interests....

  • Nov 6, 2009
Rating:
+5
Tumblr is the best site to post all your random finds on the Internet!

You can post anything, anywhere
:
With Tumblr, you can post text, links, videos, playlists, conversations, images and anything you could want from anywhere you happen to be. You can even send posts via email or iPhone with their FREE mobile app.

Your blog is tailored to fit your style and personality:

You're not stuck with their themes, you can choose between their themes or customize your own. I use a really cool one that looks like a desk you'd have for your home office.

Super easy to share your posts with everyone:
If you like something that someone posts, you can reblog it, just like the retweet for Twitter. You can share your posts directly to Facebook. With their bookmarklet tool, you can share what you're checking out on the web with other bloggers. You have all your RSS feeds posted to Tumblr. 

Two blogs (or more), one spot:
You can have as many blogs or tumblogs as you want and can keep track of them all in the same spot! I have one about inspiration, tips, life, etc and another for wedding planning- DIY tips, advice, reviews, etc. With each post, you can assign which blog you want to post your pic/text/quote/reblog, etc.

Feature Bloggers and Quotes:
They feature quotes and bloggers every day with their "On Our Radar" portion which has led me to some of my favorite bloggers that I never would've discovered. You can see the Top Posts of the week.

I also really like the fact that they have analytics for you to keep track of your viral influence and that others can contribute to your blog. So, if you have a company or organization and you don't have the time to be the sole contributor, you can allow other people to contribute to the blog- how cool is that!
With all these amazing features, you should definitely give it a try, it's free and incredibly user-friendly.

You can check out/follow my tumblogs at either Evoke Life: www.djevoke.tumblr.com or I'm Engaged...Now What?: www.evokelove.tumblr.com.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
24
Thought-Provoking
19
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
20
Post a Comment
November 15, 2009
Are you kidding me. I never commented on this?? We have had numerous discussions about Tumblr and I *know* I read this awesome review before! I think I must have just clicked over to the site and got busy doing stuff and forgot to come back and give you your props. I agree with everyone who mentions COMMENTS as a must-have, built-in, no-brainer feature. I want to throw in that people shouldn't have to use Google Analytics to get basic traffic data. That should be built-in as well. This is supposed to be an super EASY platform to blog on. That being said, the process of getting your stuff up is really easy. I love it. Just starting my blog about being broke: http://brokeinla.tumblr.com
 
November 07, 2009
I've been using Twitter and to be honest, I haven't been all that impressed. Too few options and it's not always easy to find people that you know.
 
November 07, 2009
I've been seein you tumblin' on FB.  So glad to see a review of it up on Lunch!  I haven't really blogged in years, so I'm still really accustomed to LJ-type blogging, but your review makes me wanna blow the dust off of my tumblr and give it another shot! :)
November 07, 2009
I just started like I said below, so I haven't been able to dig into it but, I really like what I see so far!
 
November 07, 2009
Tumblr RULES - it's definitely the most design-savvy. I didn't have a hard time editing my layout either, and I'm NOT the most HTML-knowledgeable. The only things I don't like about tumblr are:

A. No comments! You can add them on your own using Disqus, but it's not as perfect as I'd like it to be, i.e. hard to control where the link to comment goes on your page.

B. No mandatory "bio" section. I can't tell you how many times someone has started to follow my blog and left me like, "What? Who IS this??" It's so hard to tell sometimes!

I think I'm following you already, but my blog is here if you wanna see :)
November 07, 2009
Soooo....THAT'S where your random YouTube videos and photos come from, aha! I agree with both of your don't likes. But, I do like the fact that you can like or reblog something and when you reblog it, you can add comments. I dig your blog and I'm following you now ;p
 
November 07, 2009
Hey there! Your blog looks AMAZING! So cute. I'm definitely going to check this out. I've been thinking of starting a new one. Thanks for the tip!
November 07, 2009
Thanks hon..I've just started on both, so I'm trying to figure it all out ;p
 
1
More Tumblr reviews
review by . April 27, 2010
posted in How To Tumblr
My tumblr dashboard
Tumblr is an amazing platform anyway you look at it! It's simple, easy and so much fun!       Many people use tumblr as their main blog, but the way I use it is mainly for reblogging and posting random stuff I find around the web! I love the community aspect of tumblr! Following people on tumblr has really enriched my social media experiences and I can honestly say that I've developed great friendships because of tumblr.      Most of the small startup I work …
review by . April 13, 2010
posted in How To Tumblr
 Tumblr is by far my favorite way of interacting online right now. It's the first thing I check in the morning. The people I follow are great and the idea of reblogging is clutch.      Tumblr is like what Twitter was for me a few years ago: it's small and intimate. I feel like I really know all of the people I'm following and that are following me. 
Quick Tip by . May 05, 2010
posted in How To Tumblr
A little rough at first but once I got the hang of it, its been great. May get a +5 in the days to come...
Quick Tip by . November 15, 2009
Super easy way to blog. Missing a couple of features that would make this the no-brainer choice. Still good though.
Quick Tip by . October 25, 2009
So pointless and time-consuming, but I just can't get enough of this addictive blogging platform!
Quick Tip by . October 21, 2009
I LOVE Tumblr- Photos, videos, links, and everything to make your blog just what you want it. You can also reblog things that inspire you!
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
Ranked #14
I'm a human jukebox that is constantly changing my station depending on my mood!   Feel free to share your passion with me in my communities: Pass the Remote!, Hip Hop Culture, Wedding Planning … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
djevoke
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Tumblr is a blogging site with a user friendly interface.

Wiki

Tumblr is a blogging platform that allows users to post text, images, video, links, quotes, and audio to their tumblelog, a short-form blog. Users are able to "follow" other users and see their posts together on their dashboard. Users can "like" or "reblog" posts from other blogs on the site. The service emphasizes customizability and ease of use.
view wiki
Polls with this website
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists