|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Websites » Reviews » Urban Dictionary » User review

Urban Dictionary

A web-based dictionary of slang words and phrases.

< read all 4 reviews

Essential Tool For Over Thirty-Somethings

  • Aug 18, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5
>> Key take-away: The Urban Dictionary is a go-to resource for anyone older than 31. <<

In your twenties, the chances are that you have some remaining connection to popular culture, and you haven't embraced the fact that you're slow becoming a relic. If you're lucky, you'll still know that Kanye West isn't a vacation town in Florida. Once you go over the tipping point at 30, you've become a living joke to the generation before, and teenagers look at you like some sort of muppet-operated dinosaur.

Despite the fact you remember The A-Team before it was rehashed into a movie and you think that people are starting to mumble in TV shows, the culture and language is evolving around you without your participation. Did you know 1990 is now 20 years ago? Holy hell! Radiohead is not new anymore. And Cortana out of Halo is not Megan Fox.

But despite your steady ride on the gentle ramp toward the grave, the younger generation has thrown us a lifeline, much like the way we paid for the retirements of everyone before us. This comes in the form of the Urban Dictionary, a communications trading post between the old and the young, which help translate their like-laden ramblings into something comprehensible.

For example:

Book Google: 
When you need to figure out something, so you look it up in a book, like in the olden times, when dinosaurs ruled the earth.
Guy 1: Quick! What's the definiton of "callow?"
Guy 2: I don't know! My iPhone 4 doesn't get signal here!
Guy 3: Book google that shit!

Hit the slide: To quit one's job in truly stunning fashion

Ineption: Completely inept at understanding the film, Inception. e.g. "You don't understand Christopher Nolan's latest masterpiece? Talk about ineption."(Just for JRJ)

Powerdisking: watching several episodes of a TV show in a row, usually from a DVD box set. This can be done over several evenings, or a marathon weekend. e.g. "I missed the first three seasons of Mad Men, so I spent the past two weekends powerdisking all the episodes in order to be up to date for the premiere of season four later this month."

Traffic Tetris: When you come to a stoplight and make the conscious decision to avoid getting behind a dumptruck or semi and opt for the lane with 10 vehicles instead of just two so you're sure to move sooner when the light turns green. e.g. "Oh no! I got stuck behind the tow truck at the red light. I need to brush up on my "Traffic Tetris" skills."

As you can see, Urban Dictionary is way more useful that any real dictionary could ever be. Whenever I'm 404'd, I think BWTHDIK and AFAIK I can check Urban Dictionary and then shut up and keep talking. It's really important that I absorb at least a dozen new words a day since they don't even card me in Trader Joe's anymore - damned slight.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
21
Fun to Read
21
Well-Organized
21
Post a Comment
January 14, 2011
cool. I found this review when I was just fooling around Adri's quick tips. Sweet!!
 
August 18, 2010
OMG, I've been totally meaning to write a review about this little gem!  Though your review has totally opened up my eyes to new possibilities and now I look forward to, and feel more ready than ever before, to journey towards my *gulp* thirties ;)

By the way, where's Youtube Attention Span?  Now that's a good one!
August 18, 2010
30 is coming for you Debbie. It's coming. :-0 I also like Meeting Affective Disorder: "A form of boredom that occurs in relation to mandatory meetings, most commonly those centered around a presentation. Symptoms include difficulty in staying awake, and delirious hallucinations more commonly referred to as daydreams."
 
1
More Urban Dictionary reviews
Quick Tip by . April 15, 2010
Click here to read my other Quick Tip on the Urban Dictionary.      I use "Urban Dictionary" to look up the meanings of slang Spanish words in Chicana literature. It is a useful tool for all readers..
Quick Tip by . April 15, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Click here to read my other Quick Tip on the Urban Dictionary.      I looked up my name and it means "a name of someone who is very pretty" and "Is the name of a very sexy and attractive young woman." Nice!
Quick Tip by . April 15, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Look up your name on Urban Dictionary. I dare you.
About the reviewer
James Beswick ()
Ranked #13
Lunch.com's "token Brit".
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jbeswick
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Wiki

Urban Dictionary is a Web-based dictionary of slang words and phrases. As of 2009, the site claims over four million definitions "written since 1999." Submissions are regulated by volunteer editors and rated by site visitors. Time magazine's Anita Hamilton placed the Urban Dictionary on her 50 best websites of 2008 list.

The dictionary was founded in 1999 by Aaron Peckham, then a freshman computer science major at California Polytechnic State University.

The definitions on Urban Dictionary are meant to be of slang or subculture words, phrases, and phenomena not found in standard dictionaries. Most words have multiple definitions, usage examples, and tags. Many of the entries on Urban Dictionary are coarse, profane or offensive. A high percentage of entries are sexual. Many appear to be the inventions of users either for purposes of mischief or fame-seeking.[citation needed] Although some of the entries come with pictures, users cannot directly upload pictures into the site.

Racist, homonegative or sexist terms are acceptable as long as their definitions only document the use of such slurs and are not themselves abusive. Site guidelines recommend that submitters and volunteer editors shun definitions that include inside jokes, personal references to non-celebrities, nonsense, advertisements, or descriptions of sexual violence. However, the website does little to prevent definitions with those traits from appearing.[citation needed] Urban Dictionary's chief...
view wiki
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists