|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Websites » Reviews » VeggieTrader.com » User review

VeggieTrader.com

A website for organizing the trade of homegrown surplus fruits and vegetables for free.

< read all 1 reviews

Gardeners: Check Out VeggieTrader.com -- A New Fruit & Veggie Exchange

  • Jun 16, 2010
Rating:
+5
More and more people are growing their own food--either to save money, to avoid pesticides and enjoy fresher produce, or both.
 
You may also have fruit trees where you live. We were happily surprised to find a pear tree in the backyard of the house we moved into a few years ago. Well, I should say I was. No one else ate pears in our house, and we had a TON of them at the end of the summer!
 
You might have the same situation with your garden--lots of extra food that you can't eat fast enough. You can freeze or can it, and you can also check out this new website,VeggieTrader.com. It's a free site where people with extra produce can sign up to exchange their fruits and veggies with another gardener who has something they'd like to trade.
 
This is a new site as I mentioned, so the more people who register, the more successful it will be. The site has lots of information about how it works, how to "make a trade," and a link to help you find out where to donate extra food if you'd rather do that than swap it. You can even find out how to buy and sell your fresh produce.
 
All of you gardeners may want to bookmark VeggieTrader.com for the end of summer when that big bumper crop comes in!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
32
Thought-Provoking
33
Fun to Read
35
Well-Organized
34
Post a Comment
March 03, 2012
This sounds like a wonderful idea. The implementation must be local ; otherwise, the shipping costs might be prohibitive.
 
February 06, 2011
Great idea!
 
October 27, 2010
I like the concept and love the tee shirts... i have tons of pumpkins that I am going to offer up.  I must admit that the "I'd like to swap" has slight swinger undertones I'm still trying to get comfortable with.... or is my mind just in the compost pile?
 
June 18, 2010
This sounds so interesting. Unfortunately my green thumb isn't so great, but I will definitely be recommending this to my friends that garden. Thanks! :)
 
June 17, 2010
Too cool! I wish there was a site like this when I had a large garden. Not only could I not eat all that I was growing by myself, but I couldn't find enough people to give it to either! I've gotta tell my friends about this site. Thanks for the heads up on this, Teresa! :)
June 18, 2010
Please DO tell people. I hope this site (and/or sites like this) take off. It's a great idea!
 
June 16, 2010
what a great concept! I see trees all over our neighborhood, laden with lemons, plums, avocados -- far more than I know any one household can eat, and I'm sure much of it goes to waste. hope this takes off!
June 16, 2010
That's been the case with our pear tree! Our dog chews the pears up, wasps come when they fall off the tree, and we wind up throwing most of them away. At the very least, if a group isn't started in my city by the time our pears ripen, I will donate the pears to a food bank this year! I hope they'll take perishables??
 
1
About the reviewer
Teresa Britton ()
Ranked #145
Founder of MomsWhoSave.com deals site and work-at-home mom of three. I've also worked in advertising and for non-profits.       I'm a northerner now living in the South (enjoying the … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MomsWhoSave
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists