|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Websites » Reviews » WordPress » User review

WordPress

Blog Publishing

< read all 7 reviews

I've decided to write a WordPress book.

  • May 7, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
It's actually pretty easy to write a book if you're heads-over-heels in love with a topic, which was definitely the case when I put pen to paper on my Google Apps "short guide" that turned into a "book". And I'm thinking of doing the same for WordPress, which is simply one of the best pieces of software on the web.
WordPress, here are the ways in which we love thee:

- WP is Open Source - you have all the source code and it's free.
- WP has a single-click install in Fastastico Deluxe on cPanel hosts (anyone at Microsoft listening?).
- It's very easy to use and customize.
- There's a huge community putting themes and plugins out all the time that make it massively useful.
- Nobody quite realizes it's not just a blogging platform, so people will think you're a superstar if you implement it to create kick-ass magazine-type sites.
- You can change anything if you know a little PHP.

Basically, every other type of blog platform needs to just stop doing what they're doing and start focusing on WordPress. It simply rocks, and keeps getting better all the time.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
7
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
5
Post a Comment
February 10, 2011
Just the right person to look for when I need some help :-) Regarding Wordpress, this rule applies: "The Domain Mapping Upgrade does not enable the permission to use advertising, any kind of prohibited code, or upload additional themes or plugins. With the upgrade, your blog will still be hosted here at WordPress.com, which means that you will not have FTP access to your files and you will still be required to abide by our Terms of Service.". I'm wondering if I set up a blog on wordpress and have my own domain bought from let's say name.com, is there a way to combine it with lunch.com recent monetization on google ads? Can to enlighten a little?
February 11, 2011
There are some providers like Dreamhost.com that will probably get you most of the way there - it's usually better to host WordPress on a third-party website if you're serious about it. I believe that Lunch's new community $$$ gig works on CNAME/DNS redirection though, which you could do from a domain name at any service like name.com. You could easily have blog.mydomain.com point to your WordPress piece and mydomain.com go to the Lunch community, just based upon your DNS rules.
February 11, 2011
I'm not so sure that I understand it right about Lunch's community & monetization. As far as I know, one needs to register with Google Ads or other ads for this to work. In that case, the mydomain.com cannot be hosted on WordPress if I figure it right. But if I'd like the blog at Wordpress to be my homepage & hence mydomain.com, will it work if say I forward mydomain.com to blog.Wordpress.com & community.lunch.com using the DNS redirection? In other words, whatever that's written on Lunch & Wordpress remain respectively on both sides, what I do is just a redirection of DNS and forwarding the url? That way, I still have control over mydomain.com. Am I making sense? :-)
February 15, 2011
You should be able to direct your main domain and subdomain to different IP addresses without any problem - the easiest way will be to send the request to your domain name host with the details. I think it would be easier to get WordPress hosting on a third party rather than on WordPress.com to make this work.
February 16, 2011
I believe so too. However, right now I'm thinking of using one of WordPress premium layouts so I'm not sure if I can still use that if it's not hosted on WordPress.com. Any idea?
February 16, 2011
It's definitely easier to use custom layouts on your own WordPress host. WordPress.com tends to be more restrictive simply because they have to ensure stability for millions of users, whereas you can pretty much do what you like on your own server! Check out woothemes.com for some professional off-the-shelf templates...
February 17, 2011
Great! Thanks for the tip! I'll definitely look into it!
 
March 13, 2010
I was thinking of starting another blog and was deciding between Wordpress and Blogger. I like the simplicity of Blogger and that I can a ton of "gadgets" super easily. But, your review's convinced me to give WP another look! Thanks!
 
May 08, 2009
That's a good point - unfortunately, CSS templates are all very codey. Have a look at sites like freecsstemplates.com where you might be able to find out that works out of the box.
 
1
More WordPress reviews
review by . April 16, 2010
Great Start for New Companies and Young Entrepreneurs!
I first came across WordPress while I was looking for a place to make a free/ cheap website for my company, International Baseball Connect. Not knowing much about building websites, hosting, or driving traffic, I was referred to WordPress from a close friend. From the beginning WordPress was great! Easy to use, clean, and made sense.      One thing that really popped out to me was the countless amounts of themes  out there for not only running a blog but for a a professional …
Quick Tip by . February 16, 2011
This is my second attempt on WordPress. The first time? Years ago and too overwhelming for me to try. I deleted the a/c almost as soon as I signed up. This time round, I found some themes I like so I was more willing to give it another try. Yes, it's still not as easy as Blogger but it's a little more versatile and looks nicer. Hence, I'm willing to give it another go. Love the preview function which allows me to switch theme almost instantly. I'm now getting the hang of it and beginning to like …
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
they now have over 200 million blog posts! Havnt found a better blog platform to use, http://www.kaceykaderly.com/blog was built with wordpress, very easy to use!
Quick Tip by . April 13, 2010
If I ever decide to start another blog, it will be on WordPress. Unless Blogger does a major overhaul!
About the reviewer
James Beswick ()
Ranked #12
Lunch.com's "token Brit".
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jbeswick
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Wiki

WordPress is an open source Content Management System(CMS), often used as ablog publishing application, powered byPHP and MySQL. It has many features including a plug-in architecture and a template system. WordPress is the most popular CMS in use today.[3]

It was first released on May 27, 2003, by Matt Mullenweg[1] as a fork of b2/cafelog. As of August 2010, version 3.0 had been downloaded over 12.5 million times.[4]

view wiki

Details

Polls with this website
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists