|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Websites » Reviews » YouTube » User review

YouTube

A video hosting website

< read all 16 reviews

Freedom of Choice and the Democratization of Propoganda

  • Apr 20, 2009
Rating:
+4

There is a lot to love about YouTube.  It gives you the freedom to choose your own entertainment programming (not from hundreds of channels, but from millions of video clips).  It also gives you the platform to share and distribute your own programming (entertainment or otherwise).  It was truly groundbreaking on both accounts and it is the early mover advantage in these two areas that will enable YouTube to have a lasting presence on the web.

The Evolution of Dance is the second most viewed video on YouTube of all time.  It is a great example of the viral nature of entertainment distribution.  With YouTube, viewers can share and experience a wide variety of entertainment choices on-demand.



Chocolate Rain is a great example of the second pillar of YouTube, the democratization of propaganda.  It is no longer just governments and the power elite that have the opportunity to mold and shape public opinion through an appeal to their minds and their emotions.  Cinema has long proved effective at conveying a message and evoking an emotional response.  YouTube gives that opportunity to everyone.  Got something to say?  Know how to say it in a way that will touch hearts and minds?  Upload away and send a link to all your friends.  Who knows how far it will reach?



Finally, YouTube can simply be used as a generic video blog to share personal "home movies" with others.  Now instead of crowding your friends and relatives into the living room and boring them with endless shots of your vacations, kids, and dogs, you can send them links and let them enjoy at their own leisure.



YouTube is a natural extension of the web itself.  It simply shares information in video form.  Now it just needs to move from vanilla video to "hypervideo", where videos are linked from within other videos, just as hypertext (HTML) links text-to-text.

You may ask why YouTube doesn't get a +5.  Well, the reason is that YouTube lacks the ability to have meaningful dialog surrounding the videos on the site.  The comment functionality is too banal and any thoughtful interaction gets lost and buried in a sea of idiocy.  But that is where Lunch.com comes in.  The next time you seen an interesting video on YouTube, simply click the LunchThis button and write a review!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
23
Thought-Provoking
16
Fun to Read
19
Well-Organized
19
Post a Comment
September 15, 2010
Great review Peccatorlmpius - I'm going to share your YouTube review on Social Media Club Lunch Meat blog that comes out today. Stay tuned, I'll post a link shortly. Loved your last paragraph, we do need more people to bring the good content to Lunch so we can have a dialog around the worthwhile stuff.
September 15, 2010
Thanks for the kind words, Jessica! I will look forward to the post. It is all about the dialog. That is where betterment happens.
 
August 11, 2009
Yep, Youtube has certainly made Susan Boyle famous and my reviews a lot more interactive! I am beginning to love scouting for all the old songs I thought I had lost for good and to find them on Youtube is like finding lost loves! :-)
August 11, 2009
Yes.  This is one of my favorites:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CB17uWuBrL0
 
July 31, 2009
Great review, PeccatorImpius!
 
1
More YouTube reviews
review by . April 22, 2009
posted in Images
Youtube HP
& I've got a review to do! For the record, mine is the first review on Lunch for YouTube!?      I'm definitely not an early adopter when it comes to YouTube...   It's like sashimi, it's an acquired taste. When YouTube was first introduced to the web many years ago, it didn't grow on me. It still hasn't. Occasionally, it opens up the world for me. And I love looking into the world. That's what YouTube does.      …
Quick Tip by . August 05, 2013
posted in Awesomeness
Just like the Wikipedia Black Hole, it's easy to get lost down a Youtube Black Hole from constantly watching interesting videos.
Quick Tip by . March 01, 2012
I've found myself frequenting YouTube a lot lately. I don't follow any specific vlogs as those always appear to be hit-and-miss with me, but I love checking out old music videos of stuff I grew up with and then clicking on the suggested videos to find even more old stuff I've forgotten about. I also like the fact that you can look up snippets and/or entire episodes of shows or even movies on this site.
Quick Tip by . September 21, 2010
This has liberated a million videographers-in-spirit. Fun, informative, freewheeling.
Quick Tip by . August 04, 2010
I like this site for entertainment. I also like that you can make your own videos and control the viewing of them.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
i can find any artist or look up any song and there some where is a version of it
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
#1 video site online for a reason!
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2010
Emerging technology will open new marketing opportunities for anyone in business.
Quick Tip by . June 07, 2010
You can find anything!
Quick Tip by . May 26, 2010
I use YouTube on many of my Blogs. GREAT resource and add so much to my writing
About the reviewer
David P. Nesbitt ()
Ranked #60
Soul: The first thing to know about me is that my worldview is decidedly Christian. Therefore, my chief end in life is to glorify God and to enjoy Him forever. My content on this site and my life in general … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
PeccatorImpius
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Wiki

YouTube is a video sharing website where users can upload, view and share video clips. YouTube was created in February 2005 by three former PayPal employees.[1] In November 2006, YouTube, LLC was bought by Google Inc. for $1.65 billion, and is now operated as a subsidiary of Google. The company is based in San Bruno, California, and uses Adobe Flash Video technology to display a wide variety of user-generated video content, including movie clips, TV clips and music videos, as well as amateur content such as video blogging and short original videos. Most of the content on YouTube has been uploaded by members of the public, although media organizations including CBS and the BBC offer some of their material via the site.
view wiki

Details

Polls with this website
Logo

Most popular websites to visit

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists