|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Websites » Reviews » woot! » User review

w

A website with daily deals

< read all 3 reviews

My Daily Shopping Site

  • Apr 15, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
Woot has a single item each day.  It sells it until it sells out.. and usually at a price well below what you can find elsewhere.

However, some days, there are woot-offs, where they sell a single item until it sells out, then they replace it with another item.  This can go on for at least 24 hours.  I've seen it last for days on end.

The best part of Woot is that on some lucky days, they sell a BOC (bag of crap) for $1.00.  It could be anything... from random stickers to bobble heads to a large plasma TV.  Yes, it's been done before.  Oh, and during woot-offs, there will be at least one BOC.

Most of the items, you don't really need... but then again, you wouldn't think of buying it at full price.  Sometimes, they sell really good items, like flash drives and other gadgets for really cheap.  These sell out ridiculously fast.  And the shipping is set at $5, regardless of the item.  So if they sell a LCD TV?  Yup.. $5 shipping.

Here are some of the items that I've purchased on Woot:
  •  6 Star Wars Bobble Heads for $30 total
  • 16GB Flash Drive for $20
  • 3 Ear muffs for $4.  Yea, I live in CA.. so i don't really need ear muffs.
  • Wine from wine.woot.com and Shirts from shirts.woot.com


Like I said.. you hardly need most of the items... But it's like going to the dollar store.  You just can't pass up a good deal.


Tip:  Go on Woot at 10 pm PST.  That's when the new deals come up.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
11
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
July 19, 2009
I am a long time wooter...in fact, at one point it was kind of like a problem. The BOCs are soooo tough to get now. I was able to get one maybe 3 years ago. The "bag" was a laptop bag that I still use. One of my 3 items was a remote control car that I gave to my nephew. Nice $1 gift! :D
 
May 03, 2009
Interesting site. I can't stand the blog/chatter before the product description. But some of the stuff is good and cheap. So it is definitely worth a daily visit.
 
May 03, 2009
Interesting site. I can't stand the blog/chatter before the product description. But some of the stuff is good and cheap. So it is definitely worth a daily visit.
 
April 15, 2009
Ooooh, I've always been curious about Woot! because my time I visit my brother, his place is FULL of Woot! packaging! Maybe I should check it out, I'm always up for a BOC :P
 
1
More woot! reviews
review by . September 25, 2009
Woot.com
I was told about this website a while back and it is pretty cool. Woot.com is an online store which sells one random item for a 24 hour time period or until the item is completely sold out.  Once the item has been sold out or the time expires you can no longer buy that item from Woot.com. Most of the items are pretty cool or useful and they are all at reasonable prices.  Checking the site once turns into checking the site twice, then checking the site every day.  On Tuesdays Woot.com …
review by . December 10, 2008
Do you Woot!?  Woot.com is an online store and community that focuses on selling cool stuff cheap.  Woot sells one item per day until it is sold out or until 11:59pm central time, whichever is sooner.  Think of it as a highly-selective QVC.  In truth, most of the items you may not need - at least I don't - but it's still fun to see the bargains that can be found.  
About the reviewer
Justice Erolin ()
Ranked #132
Hmm... let's see.    I'm a 20-something living in Los Angeles, CA. I was born and raised here, with the exception of a 3 year stint in the Philippines. This "long" vacation helped … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
justiceerolin
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Wiki

Woot! is a website that offers a deal per day on an item via its website.  http://www.woot.com/


Woot.com is an online store and community that focuses on selling cool stuff cheap. It started as an employee-store slash market-testing type of place for an electronics distributor, but it's taken on a life of its own. Woot sells one item per day until it is sold out or until 11:59pm central time when it is replaced (see next entry for details). However, each item that they sell is in stock and typically ships within 2-3 business days. Woot offers a new item every single day. The details: a new product is released every morning at 12am central time, seven days a week.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists