|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Wine » Reviews » Pinot Noir » User review

Pinot Noir

A red wine grape of light to medium body

< read all 2 reviews

Made from the grapes of no wrath... (insert rim shot here_____)

  • Apr 10, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
Thank you, thank you be sure to tip your waiter/waitress.

First off this is a biased review, no fair and balanced opinion here, I basically love this wine, it's my favorite with a good Syrah not far behind.

The thing about pinot noir is it's a very difficult wine to make, the grapes are very sensitive in their cultivation and if any of the variables like sunlight, soil type, pruning, fermentation, etc are off one bit the end result is awful. (Perhaps I should remove the word "no" from the title).

When done right though the experience it provides can be fantastic.  The wine will take on hints of the oak in the barrels it was aged in along with hints of berries.  I've found pinots that are very strong almost like a cab, and some quite light.  Some pinots were meant to be paired would a great steak (like Hitching post's), and others I like with a rich piece of chocolate cake, mmmmm, I can taste the bliss already. That's what I like about it the most is the wide range of characteristics the wine can take on.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
8
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
July 15, 2009
I'm new to the Pinot world. As a Sangiovese fan, it can be hard to find my fave wine and I started to dabble in "Plan B"s, my favorite of which is quick becoming the Pinot Noir. Great review...makes me want a glass ;p
 
April 27, 2009
Great review- I love pinot noir variations myself! Never tried it with chocolate cake though- will let you know how I like it!
 
April 17, 2009
Hey all, much thanks for all the great comments, been away for awhile working too much, please don't feel like I'm ignoring y'all.

My favorite pinot with chocolate cake lately has been Laetitia Pinot Noir Estate. The reserve they do is exceptional but a fuller richer version, much better with a steak than cake :) Link to reserve

 As for new ones I'm still keeping my eyes open. I bought a bottle of Schug, little known, was supposed to be good but the bottle had spoiled and turned to vinegar :(

I know this movie catapulted pinot to new heights but the pinot they feature from the restaurant the Hitching Post is top notch in my book.
 
April 17, 2009
Haha, witty title!

I don't eat steak, but what would be a good pinot noir to go with a rich piece of chocolate cake?
 
April 13, 2009
What Pinot have tried recently that you have really liked? For me I drank a Kosta Browne paired with Seared Ahi and a wasabi butter sauce, Sonoma Coast 2006 very good!
 
April 12, 2009
I totally dig a good Pinot Noir. Any recommendations on wineries?
 
1
More Pinot Noir reviews
Quick Tip by . June 09, 2010
My family and I will sit around drinking pinot and merlot all afternoon and well into the night on some weekends. I prefer the boldness of the merlot over the lighter fruitiness of the pinot, but then again I have a lot of good memories with the former so I am a little biased. If your ever low on funds, you can get a very good pinot by Arrow Creek for something like six bucks a pop. Very nice wine for the price I must say, but if your looking to host a tasting party look elsewhere.
About the reviewer
Dylan ()
Ranked #1279
Member Since: Apr 10, 2009
Last Login: Apr 6, 2010 10:52 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
someguynameddylan
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this wine
Polls with this wine
Cabernet Sauvignon

What is your favorite wine?

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists