For the underappreciated screen treasures you love
E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial

A movie directed by Steven Spielberg

< read all 25 reviews

A Quick Tip by RabidChihuahua

  • Oct 23, 2012

This movie was a favorite of mine during my childhood and even after watching it for the first time in ten years, it's just as great as I remembered it to be.  One of the best family films of the 80's and one of the landmark films of American cinema, E.T. combined strong special effects with a brilliant soundtrack and believable characters.  Like any good movie, it does a good job at changing tones, as there's scenes that made me laugh my ass off (like E.T. getting drunk) and others that moved me (the end of the movie).

On to the 2002 re-release, I thought it was a joke.  The extra scenes didn't develop any scenes or characters any better, the CGI renditions of E.T. looked out-of-place, and the replacement of certain bits of dialogue and especially the shotguns with walkie-talkies butchered the movie.

I'm glad that Steven Spielberg saw the light recently and for the blu-ray release of the movie, released only the original version from 1982 with only a few enhancements in the background sound to bolster atmosphere.

Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
3
Post a Comment
More E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial reviews
Quick Tip by . August 05, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
One of a kind movie in general. Another great children's movie.
Quick Tip by . August 03, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Just about the most wonderful family film Spielberg has made. Only someone without a heart won't enjoy it.
Quick Tip by . July 27, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Breathtaking......One of the great Sci-Fi movies of the past 50 years.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
E.T.! One of the best films out there.
Quick Tip by . July 21, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
What can I say. I mean how can you go wrong when a kid meets a young A.L.F.(Alien Life Form). Then become friends and soon they start to get ill I mean come on now I do not think for one second that all that would happen so this is the best rate I could give and that is that.
Quick Tip by . July 17, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Best Movie of all Time from Steven! I love this movie and it makes me cry
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I went through just about every emotion while watching this movie.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
who could ever forget ET im surprised there aint a part 2 to this or a remake
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
still makes me cry like a baby.
Quick Tip by . December 13, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
Personally, I could have done without the new scenes, special effects, & editing. I love this movie dearly and hate to see anyone alter it.
About the reviewer
David Kozak ()
I'm a morbid cynic who thinks very, very differently from most other people. Chances are, if the majority says X is the greatest in its category, I'll disagree with that notion, because I tend … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
RabidChihuahua
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki


E.T. THE EXTRA-TERRESTRIAL is Steven Spielberg's warmhearted classic delight for both children and adults. It tells the story of an alien creature, E.T., mistakenly left behind on Earth. When a young boy, Elliott (Henry Thomas), finds E.T. and hides him in his home, both their worlds are changed forever. E.T. teaches Elliott and his two siblings (Drew Barrymore and Robert MacNaughton), whose parents have recently separated, about caring and love while the children protect E.T. from the malevolent world of grown-ups. Elliott and E.T. become so close that they share emotions; as E.T. becomes ill, so does Elliott. The children end up going on a fabulous adventure trying to help E.T. find a way back to his home planet. The movie was originally going to be based on a story idea by director John Sayles, but after he removed himsel...
view wiki

Details

Director: Steven Spielberg
Genre: Family, Fantasy, Sci-Fi
Release Date: June 11, 1982
MPAA Rating: PG
Runtime: 1hr 55min
Studio: Universal Studios
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Screen Gems is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists