A Lunch Community
Iron Man

A 2008 movie starring Robert Downey Jr.

< read all 24 reviews

Finally a Great New Action Hero Movie!

  • May 15, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+4
It has been a long time since I left a theater feeling truly satisfied! I really enjoyed Iron Man for so many reasons- great acting, directing and special effects!

I was really excited at first at the prospect of Jon Favreau directing. I adore him. He was great in Swingers, The Break Up, even on the small screen on Friends and Monk. I had no idea he was a director, but I had a feeling he would only want his name attached to a quality product (Daredevil excluded).  I was also excited to see Jeff Bridges (the Dude!) and Terrence Howard were a part of the film, they are quality actors in my book.

However, I was not excited at the thought of Robert Downey Jr. playing a superhero and Gwyneth Paltrow in general. I was proven wrong!  RDJ who plays Tony Stark AKA Iron Man was terrific in his role. He was great at playing the womanizing, smarmy and spoiled genius turns good- which embodies Tony Stark. I was impressed with his performance. Gwyneth also impressed/surprised me. I am not a huge fan (although she was good in The Royal Tennenbaums) I feel she is a tad overrated. I take it all back! She was excellent at playing Pepper Potts, Tony's trusty, intelligent yet bumbling assistant/gal Friday/right-hand woman. They were well matched and had good chemistry.

Jeff Bridges and Terrence Howard were great in their roles- they were believable and fitting. That's kind of what makes this movie so great- Robert Downey Jr as a superhero? Jeff Bridges as a super villain? Terrence Howard an Army General? Gwyneth charming?  Yes,yes, yes, and yes!!

Jon Favreau's directing was well done as was the editing, and special effects. CGI has a way of looking cheesy and overdone, but this was so believable despite being over the top- which it was. You must approach this as a comic book come to life, things may seem unbelievable, but that's the best part- the total escape from reality.

I know I am praising this movie to no avail- but it really was tremendously entertaining. I highly recommend it and can't wait for the sequel(s). I know there will be a sequel- you find out in the best part of the movie-the last minute :) Enjoy!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
33
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
7
Post a Comment
December 01, 2009
This movie was much more fun than I thought it was going to be. This review said almost everything I would have, except to add that I walked away with a great grin on my face. Thanks!
 
May 06, 2009
I loved this movie! It helped a lot that RDJ was an alcoholic in real life like Stark ;). I am a huge fan of Terrance Howard, but I don't know if the role was right for him...I am very excited to see what Don Chedal can do with the role.
 
February 04, 2009
Jon Favreau is turning out to be quite a directing talent! Like you, I'm surprised — mostly b/c I just equate him with that funny-looking guy in Swingers!
 
January 26, 2009
This is a great flick, isn't it? It appeals to all those who never thought they could relate to any of those actors in any of those roles or to comic book heroes in general! Did you catch Marvel's head honcho Stan Lee in his trademark cameo? he was playing Hugh Heffner at a big party Stark goes to. Its just a fleeting thing. Stark says, "Hi, Hef" as he's walking past and Lee turns around and waves. A lot of people miss it. I was the only one at the showing I attended who caught it and laughed outloud.
 
1
More Iron Man reviews
review by . February 11, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
***1/2 out of ****     I admittedly state that I'm no comic junkie. While I often times will read something that's going to be or has been adapted into film, seldom do I actually read such forms of literature. Nevertheless, I like it when a director rises up to the challenge of making a huge, epic superhero movie and succeeds. And by "succeeds", I of course mean that they successfully make it for both audiences; the comic book fans and the non-associated. What makes John Favreau's …
review by . August 28, 2010
My daughter is almost 12 and is clamoring to watch PG-13 movies "like all her friends do."  We recently watched this as a family.  I had read detailed reviews that said that there were a few swear words, and a scene of a couple in bed (she was still wearing a shirt but was on top of him).  I covered her eyes on that part, and I thought the rest was pretty appropriate.      The beginning was a bit long (and boring?), but in general this is a fast-paced …
review by . May 13, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
RDJ is back and better than ever......
Comic Book adaptations back in the late 70's, late 80's and early to late 90’s were very rare and if one by chance was made well enough. it was one of the biggest films of that year  in 1978 acclaimed director Richard Donner(Director of the "Lethal Weapon" series) directed the first ever critical and commercial successful  big screen adaptation of the beloved and ever looked up to superhero. Super-Man. "Superman" was one of the biggest films of the 70's …
Quick Tip by . October 06, 2010
Wonderful adaptation of the original graphic novels, great action adventure for most ages, good fantasy with always relevant topics of self-discovery, morals and ethics
Quick Tip by . August 30, 2010
Fantasitic movie that moved Iron man to the forefront of Marvel's list of heroes that are household names.
Quick Tip by . September 02, 2010
This movie def changed the way super hero movies are watched. The humor in it made it much more enjoyable and it def opened it up to a much larger more commercial audience!
Quick Tip by . July 20, 2010
I was never really into the comic book, but I thought the movie did a great job telling the story while keeping the action constant.
Quick Tip by . August 09, 2010
I'm more enthusiastic about films (or maybe I have lower standards) - the only false note, to me, was the slut-shaming Pepper directs at Christine: I'm gonna blame bad writing, but the rest of the movie was above that. Good and actiony.
review by . December 23, 2009
Tony Stark's Iron Man MK III armor
Iron Man for all intents and purposes remembers the sole, number 1 rule of comic books and it's the rule that the X Men and Spiderman movies forgot about - to be fun.      Spiderman may have been high flying adventure and X Men may have had it's colorful cast of heroes but all the movies in the series are so racked with melodrama and long stretches that as great as they are they could sometimes be a trial to get through.  Iron Man has drama sans the melo and is …
review by . December 24, 2008
posted in Movie Hype
Shellhead in flight
The next anticipated movie from the Marvel line of comic books is "IRON MAN". There has been an overload of comic book films and thankfully, this one doesn‘t have "Fantastic Four‘s" quality. "Shellhead" goes to the big screen courtesy of director Jon Favreau with a solid screenplay by Mark Fergus and Hawk Ostby. Yes, the movie is great and as with "Spider-Man" is the cardboard cutout of everything a comic book film should be. Yes, everything but …
About the reviewer
Rhea ()
I love Hello Kitty, Social Media and all things Entertainment.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
RheaMJ
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki


Iron Man
tells the story about a wealthy man who becomes involved in building an armored suit after a life- changing experience, and then begins to use his new suit to fight evil.

Directed by Jon Favreau, Iron Man was released on May 2, 2008, and won two awards at the Golden Trailer (Summer 2008 blockbuster), MTV Awards (Best summer movie) and was nominated for 3 other wards.  The film stars Robert Downey Jr., Terrance Howard, Jeff Bridges, and Gwyneth Paltrow.

view wiki

Details

Director: Jon Favreau
Genre: Action, Adventure, Fantasy, Sci-Fi
Release Date: May 2, 2008
MPAA Rating: PG-13
Runtime: 2hrs 6min
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Shroom Review is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists