Classic Silver Screen Film Reviews!
Classic Silver Screen Film Reviews!
Classic Films of the Silver Screen!
True Grit (1969)

Westerns movie directed by Henry Hathaway

< read all 5 reviews

Wayne finally gets his Oscar

  • Nov 4, 2011
Rating:
+5

These are just help aids, not strict rules

 

What was your initial reaction to the film?  I saw this film as a teenager when it first came out and was spellbound by it.   I went back to see it three times at the little movie theater in my little home town.   I have always been a John Wayne fan and was glad to see him finally receive his Oscar for this film.  Many have complained that it was John playing John Wayne once more.  I so disagree.  After seeing the new version with Jeff Bridges, I appreciate John Wayne's performance even more.

 

How did you like the cast...performances?  I thought the casting was perfect.  Kim Darby perfect in her performance.  And although Glen Campbell is not an actor by nature I thought he did alright up against the two dynamos of Wayne and Darby.

 

Was the Story developed nicely?

 

Pros? Cons? Bottom Line?   One of Wayne's Best.  Right up there with Liberty Valance and Rio Bravo.

 

How would you recommend the movie?

 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
November 05, 2011
John Wayne played in a lot of movies. True Grit, although a good movie, was not his best. I think that the Academy wanted to honor him at some point for a fine career in movies.
November 05, 2011
I do agree it was a career oscar. But I don't think he would have gotten one if he had not made True Grit. Liberty Valance is probably my favorite film of his. But it was very much an ensemble film with many great performances. True Grit is all John Wayne and an out of character John Wayne at that.
November 05, 2011
I believe that John Wayne should have gotten the Oscar for The Quiet Man or El Dorado.
November 05, 2011
I agree with you, but they had long passed him over by the time True Grit was made. So without True Grit I doubt he would have ever earned the award. With the exception of The Shootist nothing after True Grit was really of the quality for him to have been nominated in my opinion.
November 07, 2011
I agree. True Grit was the last chance to honor him for an award. The Quiet Man was perhaps his best career movie performance.
 
November 04, 2011
thank you for the review and welcome to Lunch!!
 
1
More True Grit (1969) reviews
Quick Tip by . January 11, 2011
Tomboyish young woman hires a tough Marshall to help capture her fathers killer. In the sea of other John Wayne Westerns, it's not bad.
About the reviewer
Larry Sampson ()
Ranked #7
I am a retired Federal employee. I worked for 34 years for the Civil Service. When I retired I was working at The Library of Congress in Washington DC. I was able to retire at a somewhat young age of … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
littlesam1
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki


John Wayne hams it up as a one-eyed, broken-down marshal in this 1969 adaptation of Charles Portis's bestselling novel. Kim Darby plays the formal-speaking adolescent who goes to Wayne for help tracking down her father's killer, and singer Glen Campbell straps on his guns to join the quest. Directed by old lion Henry Hathaway (Rawhide), this is largely a showcase for Wayne (who finally won an Oscar), but it is also a decent Western with a particularly stirring final act.--Tom Keogh
view wiki

Details

Director: Henry Hathaway
Genre: Western
Runtime: 128 minutes
Studio: Warner Home Video
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Classic Silver Screen Film Reviews! is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists