Social_Media
Social_Media
Social Media Club's Community On Lunch.com
Gmail

An email client produced by Google.

< read all 11 reviews

The BizCATS REVIEW: Gmail for BizMail? Yup!

  • Mar 31, 2010
Rating:
+5

Should you use Gmail for your business? For a long time my answer was “No.” After all, having an email with @gmail.com on the end isn’t especially professional, especially if you’ve already set up your own website domain and want your customers to see you as something like my.name@mycompanyname.com or such.

What’s more you don’t want to change your email address and confuse/irritate all your contacts. But I was wrong and I’m now convinced that Gmail is a much better business option than Outlook or any other desktop email application. So let’s look first at what Gmail is and why it’s so good, then about how to use it with your own domain name or existing email account.

Gmail is email in the "cloud." All your email is accessed and stored online and you get to it through your web browser – any browser on any computer anywhere or even your cell phone. You’d be surprised just how convenient this is when you’re no longer tied to that laptop you drag everywhere. And with virtually unending storage you never fill up your hard drive – or lose it all to a virus or when it crashes (and it seems like there’s always a crash just before you buy a new computer).

"But what if I don’t have an internet connection and need to get to my email?" Good question. That usually happens to me when I’m in the car and need to get to those driving directions a client sent me. The answer is to enable the Gmail "offline" feature which automatically stores duplicates of all your emails – and your calendar – on your hard drive. Problem solved!

Now about that pesky gmail.com email address. Yes, when you set up Gmail you will have to establish a personal gmail account and gmail.com email. But if you go to the settings/general/accounts menu you can add any existing email addresses – like the ones associated with your website – into your Gmail account. Once you’ve set this up – and it's easy – you can send all your emails via Gmail using your business email address. To receive business emails into your gmail account just go to your email provider and set up email forwarding to your gmail address.

If you’re a very small business of one or a few people this should work great for you. If your business is a bit larger and you want all your employees on gmail but on one system, Google offers Google Apps – a more sophisticated offering that comes in both free and paid versions. We’ll look at Apps in a later segment but for now, give Google’s Gmail a try – you won’t be disappointed.



What is your favorite biz technology product?

 

What product would you like the BizCATS to review?

 

Tell us your experience with this product!

 

The BizCATS REVIEW: Gmail for BizMail? Yup!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
20
Fun to Read
20
Well-Organized
20
Post a Comment
June 03, 2011
Great review.
 
April 01, 2010
Great job but I am barely able to use the apps that I have at my fingertips. Great job
 
April 01, 2010
Again, great review! My work uses Gmail, too, and I love it. A far improvement from the last program that we were using. Plus, I had been using Gmail for my personal account, so it barely took any adjusting to. I don't know about having the @gmail.com part for a business though.  I guess it depends on the type of business and other factors.  Thanks for sharing, Tim! :)
 
March 31, 2010
very helpful! I had an encounter with gmail as an enterprise email solution a few years ago, which failed miserably. somehow everything I loved about using gmail personally, I hated in context of business use (particularly no preview pane, and the threaded "conversations"). I'm now again using it for business, and having a much better experience - the calendar, specifically works great for shared calendars and scheduling with colleagues. I'm a Mac user, and still view email through my Mail program, but love that easy access from anywhere straight onto the google platform - and, as you say, that I won't loose the data in a crash.
 
1
More Gmail reviews
review by . September 17, 2010
First, I sell commercial mail servers (no, not Exchange), so  I have some bias.   I'm not going to plug the product I sell (though it's easy enough to track it down through my profile if you really wanted to).      If your small business is 10 employees or less, I think Gmail is an ideal choice.  I use it myself, and although I have some gripes about this and that, overall it beats everything else out there.      Above 10 employees, …
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2011
posted in A Whole New World
Has anyone noticed anything unusual with Gmail in recent days? After I logged in and just before taken to the inbox, the site rerouted to Youtube.com. What is happening and why? Should we be concerned about it? I certainly don't like having my mails moved around... who knows what happen in transition?!?!?!
Quick Tip by . April 17, 2011
posted in Business Matters
Caption
Simply THE BEST around for now. Coupled with Google App, it's almost unbeatable. I'd love to have the auto-swipe function in Hotmail incorporated though. That'd save me a lot of time!     
review by . September 10, 2009
The purpose of this review is two-fold: 1) to show how awesome Gmail is compared to the rest, and 2) to teach "beginner" gmail users the advanced features of Gmail.      Gmail is FREE.  Yes, free.  But so is Hotmail, Yahoo and dozens of other email service providers.  So what makes Gmail stand out above the rest?  I'll take it point by point.      Web 2.0   Oh, how I loathe the phrase "web 2.0".  …
Quick Tip by . April 28, 2010
posted in Social_Media
Gmail is organized by 'conversations'. A new email response to an old conversation will not appear at the top, but is added to the original.
review by . August 02, 2009
I don't want to rehash everything that has been said in praise of gmail already, from the beauty of labels and conversations, to the insane amount of space, to the incredible simplicity of the search feature.   I'll focus instead on using gmail to handle professional correspondence.      Gmail allows you to add additional accounts, which it checks every few minutes through POP.   So, you can easily add your work email account, assuming it allows for POP access, …
Quick Tip by . November 15, 2009
Is Gmail still beta?
Quick Tip by . September 11, 2009
Wish Gmail were prettier to look at, but it's very practical and functional with great features.
review by . December 19, 2008
I ADORE Gmail. I have such a huge problem with never throwing away emails that I could never find what I was looking for when using any other email product. I would try to organize things into folders but I'd create so many that I would forget where things were or would be unable to decide which topic it belonged in.     Along came Gmail and it's lovely tags, stars, search options and conversations.    Tags:  Any email can be tagged with several …
About the reviewer
Timothy McMahon ()
Member Since: Mar 30, 2010
Last Login: Apr 6, 2010 03:01 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TimMcMahon
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Gmail is a free webmail, POP3, and IMAP service provided by Google. In the United Kingdom and Germany it is officially called Google Mail.

Gmail was launched as an invitation-only beta release on April 1, 2004 and it became available to the general public on February 7, 2007. As of July 2009 it has 146 million users monthly. The service was upgraded from beta status on July 7, 2009, along with the rest of the Google Apps suite.

With an initial storage capacity offer of 1 GB per user, Gmail significantly increased the webmail standard for free storage from the 2 to 4MB its competitors offered at that time. The service currently offers over 7350 MB of free storage with additional storage ranging from 10 GB to 400 GB available for $20 to $500 (US) per year.

Gmail has a search-oriented interface and a "conversation view" similar to an Internet forum. Software developers know Gmail for its pioneering use of the Ajax programming technique.

Gmail runs on Google Servlet Engine and Google GFE/1.3 which runs on Linux.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Social_Media is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists