Social Media for PR Professionals
Social media for PR and marketing professionals

DO WHAT YOU LOVE! Er... and then what?

  • Nov 17, 2009
  • by
Rating:
-1
 I seem to have read a spate of books like this recently: a 2 page concept crammed into 142 pages. Beyond the extensive biography of the author and his enthusiasm for social media, the basic concept is a technological rehash of "do what you love" and doesn't really go much beyond that. 

To say it's light on the 'how' is like calling a drowning victim 'wet'. If you're looking for a guide to using social media to improve your business or brand, instead check out Tara Hunt's Whuffie book since there's next to nothing in here. Whereas 'Whuffie' examines businesses and makes logical conclusions about social media and its value to the bottom line, this reads like a self-help infomercial with next to zero substance. 

The basic problem is that it's easy to build a web presence when you're famous and/or already successful - and there's a natural limit to how many people can hold our attention on the web. Most of the ideas he has wouldn't work for the average Joe (who wants to watch my YouTube channel to hear me?). I suspect most people really don't need to be told to 'follow their passion'. And while Gary's probably a nice guy, the endless self promotion gets tiresome quickly.

I really need to start reading some quality books...

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
December 07, 2009
Thanks for the heads up! I find the same thing every so often. A subject that would make a great magazine article that an author tries to stretch into a book. This is not all that unusual. I will avoid this one on your say so.
 
November 17, 2009
To say it's light on the 'how' is like calling a drowning victim 'wet'. LOL

Most people are going to need more of a pep talk than "do what you love".  I still might check this out because I'm a bit of a Gary Vee fan.  We shall see if I have the same takeaway as you!  And I'll have to check out The Whuffie Factor since you wrote such a rave review about it!
November 17, 2009
Thanks! I must figure out a way of writing one of these thin self-help books so I can fulfill my dream of living on a beach. :-)
 
1
More Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time... reviews
review by . December 06, 2009
The Basics of
I first learned of Gary by accident, around June of 2008. I was chatting with cute girls via my myspace account (yes I have a bad reputation lol), when I saw an interesting looking “friend” avatar on one of the girl’s pages. It was of a chap called Alejandro Reyes, from SuccessFool.com. He teaches about marketing and Social Media through his website. I thought his Success Fool concept was pretty savvy, and read a little of what he had to say. Impressed, I found myself sending him …
review by . March 09, 2010
Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion by Gary Vaynerchuk is one of those books I see coming up repeatedly on blogs I follow and with people I follow on Twitter. So, in order to find out why this book is so popular, I got a copy from our local library and gave it a quick read. And at only 142 pages, it *is* a quick read. But what Vaynerchuk has to say can, if taken to heart and practiced, make a significant difference in your life, career, and passion.    Content:  P …
review by . December 10, 2009
Build a business around the one asset where you have the most control - yourself.    Lots of practical tips, techniques and resources to use Social Media to boost your personal brand and build a business.    Required reading for the modern entrepreneur.
Quick Tip by . December 07, 2009
This looks like a good investment. Can't hurt and may help give that boost for $ independence! Give it a go
About the reviewer
James Beswick ()
Lunch.com's "token Brit".
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jbeswick
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

The Story Behind Crush it!

Everything has changed. The social media revolution has irreversibly changed the way we live our lives and conduct our business. There are billions of dollars in advertising moving online, waiting to be claimed by whoever can build the best content and communities. Despite this change, most people keep working at jobs that don’t make them happy and businesses continue to ignore the major marketing and public relations benefits that can be found online.

Myth #1: I’m not passionate about something sexy or popular like wine so these lessons don’t apply to me.

The internet has drastically decreased the costs of building communities around niche subjects, allowing for even the most obscure subjects to draw enough eyeballs to command advertising attention. Starting a video blog about tortilla chips may seem farfetched until Doritos gives you a call and offers 40,000 a year to sponsor and advertise on your blog.

Myth #2: My business already has a Twitter account and a Facebook page, we’re set in the social media department.

This is the equivalent of claiming twenty years ago that just because your business bought a TV spot and a few ads in the newspaper, you didn’t need to pay attention to your advertising department. Social media isn’t about joining in, it’s about being involved.

Myth #3: I’m happy at my job so this book is irrelevant to me.

First of all, congratulations on ...

view wiki

Details

Author: Gary Vaynerchuck
Genre: Business, Entrepreneurship
Publisher: HarperCollins
Date Published: 2009
ISBN: 978-0-06-191417-1
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Social Media for PR Professionals is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists