Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and the rest!
Quick Tips
Showing 1-10 of 141
posted a Quick Tip about 1984 (novel). February 23, 2011
posted in SF Signal
1984 (British first edition)
Pretty dry (dare I say boring) read in places, but the discussion about total context manipulation and its implications still remain pretty scary and relevant
posted a Quick Tip about Stranger in a Strange Land. February 23, 2011
posted in SF Signal
Stranger in a Strange Land
   I've only read this book oh, about 30 times - but I've been slacking of late;  I don't think I've re-read in the past five years or so.      For someone …
posted a Quick Tip about 1984 (novel). February 19, 2011
posted in SF Signal
1984 (British first edition)
1984 is an essential book, not just for SF readers, not just for readers, but for everyone, everywhere.
posted a Quick Tip about 1984 (novel). February 19, 2011
posted in SF Signal
1984 (British first edition)
It's been years since I've read 1984, but it made a huge impression on me.
posted a Quick Tip about The Handmaid's Tale. January 12, 2011
The Handmaid's Tale
One of the reasons I like dystopian novels. She definitely makes you think about things well telling a well-drawn tale.
posted a Quick Tip about The Giver. January 12, 2011
The Giver
Fascinating. I love the way she created the world without long chunks of history and explanation.
posted a Quick Tip about The Roar. November 07, 2010
The Roar
Fantastic young adult dystopian book with some great world building, told in alternating narratives.
posted a Quick Tip about When You Reach Me. November 07, 2010
When You Reach Me
This is a really striking novel that made me take another look at A Wrinkle in Time.
posted a Quick Tip about Stranger in a Strange Land. November 06, 2010
Stranger in a Strange Land
Not for me. I had a hard time connecting with it. What did you like about it?
posted a Quick Tip about Gathering Blue. November 06, 2010
Gathering Blue
This companion novel to The Giver. I don't like it quite as much.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 Next
Post a Quick Tip

Quickly share your opinion and then share it with your friends.

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Speculative Fiction Books is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists