Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and the rest!
The City of Ember a novel by Jeanne DuPrau

A novel by Jeanne DuPrau about the aftermath of World War

< read all 8 reviews

What will happen next!?

  • Jun 26, 2010
Rating:
+3

This novel is very unique. It tells the story of a whole underground civilization, but they don't know they live underground. It's just where they live. And the lights have been flickering recently....and it's time for them to go back to the surface, but a foolish mayor years before lost the instructions of what to do. So it's left up to some clever young adults to figure things out.
It's an easy read and pretty fast-paced. It's great for young adults because it has the young adults as the heroes, figuring out the things the adults can't. They have their own moral code and try to do what's right. But, it's a fun story to read regardless of your age. Since they live underground, they don't know much of the things above ground. They don't know what candles are, or boats, or sunshine, or the sky.
(spoiler alert)
The 2 main characters finally figure out the way out and once above ground, discover so many things. It's really interesting to think about people pretty much discovering the world all over again. However, this book leaves you hanging by a thread as the 2 drop a note down into their city with instructions of how to get out of Ember. Will the others make it!? I'm so anxious to find out with the next book!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More The City of Ember reviews
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2010
inver read the book, or even heard of it but i did pick up the movie at my local Redbox. it was really cute, an excellent kid friendly film.
Quick Tip by . October 05, 2010
I really enjoyed this and thought it was very well written.
review by . May 21, 2010
Steampunk Themes for Young Folks in City of Ember
What was your emotional reaction as you read? Why?      City of Ember is a well crafted tale. I was compelled by the courage and fears of the people of the City of Ember. I saw many parallels between the visceral darkness descending on Ember and the inevitable social/economic collapse of our own global system. The children heroes of Ember are very real in their quirks, angst, and instinctual dreams of a better world.      Who would you recommend this reading …
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
Amazing concept!
Quick Tip by . June 25, 2010
I had dreams about this book after I finished it in one day!
Quick Tip by . June 04, 2010
Enjoyable. I'd like to read the rest of the series sometime.
review by . May 06, 2009
This book is a lot like Logan's Run (the movie) in that it deals with an enclosed city set up by unknown guardians in which the populace has no idea that there is really anything outside their world.       After a holocaust, a group of future planners build Ember, a totally enclosed city, which will be supplied for 200 years. The planners provide instructions for the populace, which will only become available at that time. One problem, the instructions seem to be misplaced over …
About the reviewer
Natalie ()
Member Since: Jun 25, 2010
Last Login: Jul 2, 2010 01:11 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Nataliejane
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Speculative Fiction Books is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists