Spirited Discussions
A Lunch Community about Alcoholic Beverages.

Skittles Vodka

1 rating: 4.0
Skittles flavored Vodka

Skittles vodka is a recipe using skittles and vodka.  

There are different variations into making this creation, but this is how I did it.

1 bag of skittles (41 ounce)
1 Large Smirnoff Vodka
5 Water bottles
5 Glass bottles (I used Orange Crush)
5 Ziplock bags
Paper towels or coffee filters
And most importantly... PATIENCE!

Because of "Remaining Characters" maximum limit, I'll explain how I did it in my review.
1 review about Skittles Vodka

Candy and alcohol! With pretty colors too!

  • Jan 18, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
1 bag of skittles (41 ounce)
1 Large Smirnoff Vodka
5 Water bottles
5 Glass bottles (I used Orange Crush)
5 Ziplock bags
Paper towels or coffee filters
And most importantly... PATIENCE!

First thing to do is separate all the skittles of all the color into different plastic ziplock bags. This takes a while especially since 41 ounces of skittles is a huge ton of candy. After separating the colored candy, pour vodka into each water bottle measuring out about the same; around half way of the bottle. Then put each color skittle into a different water bottle. Cap the bottle and then shake. And then shake some more. And then shake the bottles for about five days straight. During the five days, the skittles and the vodka will turn into a pretty color with a weird looking residue on the top. Shake some more and let the creation marinate. About 2-3 days the skittles will be dissolved. (Or in dissolving nature.) Let is sit for another day and let the straining begin! It can be difficult, but not impossible. I lined a double layer of paper towels, then held this over the funnel placed in the empty bottle. It's easier with two people, but one person can do it. It takes a lot of patience waiting for the vodka to fully drip into the glass bottles, but the wait is worth it. Make sure to have your "work station" covered in paper towels or newspaper because the excess dripping can be very sticky. After doing all 5 bottles, the creation is finally done! Make sure to shake it before you drink it and enjoy!

When I did this, it was for New Years Eve. It was a fun way to celebrate and most people found it really interesting.
Skittles Vodka

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
31
Thought-Provoking
8
Fun to Read
21
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
February 07, 2010
Devora showed me this recipie when i told her about a jolly rancher recipie on Lunch. I like how this sounds i just have one question what kind of vodka did you use?
 
March 04, 2009
This is sounds so ridiculous and awesome. Is the taste more sweet or more alcoholy? I've been dying to try this one summer: Pour flavored vodka into a watermelon...let it chill in a fridge...then go to the beach and eat alcoholic watermelon!
March 13, 2009
Mmmmmm. Sounds good. Let me know how that works.
March 31, 2009
This works great and is VERY (dangerously) good :)
April 14, 2009
Ha, that's a good way to conceal alcohol on the beach!
 
January 26, 2009
Wow, that's a recipe that'll keep dentists busy. Seriously though, as a guy who's not that fond of sweet beverages (although I do enjoy the occasional wine cooler) I'm not sure that this is up my alley. But it certainly sounds interesting. Does the dye from the skittles stain your tongue?
 
January 22, 2009
@ProfessionalLush Hangover remedies are always essential i think. And I hope you do try it; regardless if you may like it or not =] @devora That's such a cute site and next time I'll probably follow those instructions just to compare. Thank you, devora! =]@LingEatsCake hahahah great to hear! good luck. =D @HealthyRache @DesignDude So far I haven't... I know some people who really liked the skittle ideas and wanted butterfingers and reeses pieces but honestly, I don't know how well chocolate-based candy vodka would work you know? Maybe like sour skittles or starbursts. But when I have the time I do want to experiment more. haha (And DD, my boyfriend is legal...>_> shhhh..) @stephaniezhu Thank you! <3
 
January 21, 2009
If this is what our youth is up to, I am very afraid for the future and want to invest in hangover remedies. But I also want to try it because it's just like me: it might take a little bit of patience, but when you do it right you end up with something pretty & sweet that gets you drunk!
 
January 21, 2009
For those of you who need more step-by-step directions, I first learned about Skittles Vodka here: http://community.livejournal.com/handmade_gifts/87308.html Thanks for sharing this, Aphrodite, looks like a fun holiday thing to do!
 
January 21, 2009
When I first saw this, I thought, "What the...???" You've introduced me to alcohol-soaked candy (or candy-soaked alcohol?), and now there's no going back.
 
January 19, 2009
When you wrote a comment and said "Vodka SKittles" I immediate thought "WHERE?!" This seems very interesting, but I definitely have to wait until a time when I am patient enough!! Maybe a new project for a future roomie and I?? Great review!
 
1
What's your opinion on Skittles Vodka?
rate
1 rating: +4.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Skittles Vodka; Down the Rainbow!
Related Topics
Wine Tasting

An alcoholic beverage typically made of fermented grape juic

Mimosa

Cocktail-like drink composed of three parts champagne or oth

First to Review
Source: Skittles Vodka on Lunch.com
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Spirited Discussions is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists