Spirited Discussions
A Lunch Community about Alcoholic Beverages.

Alberta Premium Rye 25Yr Old (100% rye whisky)

2 Ratings: 3.0
A solid 100% Rye Whisky from Canada

Alberta Distillers the distillers of Alberta Premium 25 year Old Whisky is owned by Fortune Brands whose stable of whiskey brands includes, Jim Beam Brands, Canadian Club Whisky, Knobb Creek, Makers Mark and Laphroig just to name a few.    … see full wiki

1 review about Alberta Premium Rye 25Yr Old (100% rye whisky)

Review: Alberta Premium Rye 25Yr Old (100% rye whisky)

  • Feb 23, 2010
Rating:
+5

Alberta Premium Rye 25Yr Old    95.5pts
A Review by Chip Dykstra (Aka Arctic Wolf)
The Rum Howler Blog (and Now Whiskey Too!)


Alberta Distillers the distillers of Alberta Premium 25 year Old Whisky is owned by Fortune Brands whose stable of whiskey brands includes, Jim Beam Brands, Canadian Club Whisky, Knobb Creek, Makers Mark and Laphroig just to name a few.    The distillery is situated in the heart of the City of Calgary.  This is a true Canadian rye whisky, made from 100% prairrie grown rye. It is quite unlike anything else produced by any Canadian distiller (or anyone else for that matter).

(In the Bottle  (4.5/5)

This has to be the most understated presentation of a 25 yr old spirit found anywhere in the world.  What Alberta Distillers got right was the black protective sleeve which protects the spirit and quite rightly quotes Whisky guru Jim Murray’s assessment that this is the finest Canadian whisky currently produced.  What Alberta Distillers got wrong is the bottle itself.  The 25 Year Old whisky is packaged in an identical bottle to its five year old sister.  Only the Label is changed.  The whisky deserves a better presentation.  But at less than $30 a bottle for a 25 year old spirit, I can be very forgiving.

In the Glass  (9.0/10)

Once poured the whisky begins to show its character.  A hint of prairie meadow rises from the glass with a full barrel of spicy rye.  What is so inviting is the incredibly clean nose. This is all about rye.  The aroma is not harsh, rather it is invigorating.

In the Mouth   (58.0/60)

I love a paradox, and here we have a beauty.  Rye is spicy, and grabs your tastebuds and won’t let go.  Here we all that rye flavour; but, instead of burning your mouth with spice, this sits gently and smoothly on the palate.  In fact this is one of the smoothest whiskies I have ever tasted.  Earthy, spicy rye flavour first, second and third, and only the lightest hint of toffee sits in the mouth. This is rye whisky as it is meant to be. No offnotes of thick bourbon to spoil the parade.

In the Throat   (14.5/15)

Again I marvel at the smooth profile the whiskey displays.  No harshness, just clean and nice all the way down.  Again the rye is foremost, but in the slide down the throat other flavours leave their haunting presence as well.  Nothing distict, just slippery vestiges of chocolate, cinnamon, toffee, and honey that finally leave their mark on the exit.

The Afterburn  9.5/10

There was a time thirty to forty years ago when Canadian whisky was the in thing.  A time before the mad rush to bourbonize the spirit for the sake of the American palate.  I like to imagine that I can remember that clean taste. Unfortunately about 25 years ago the whisky began to change.  Distillers were increasing the corn in the mash to save money (or to appeal to another palate), and then increasing flavouring ingredients (Canadian whisky is allowed 9.09% flavouring) to compensate for the loss of the rye flavour.  But now, another change seems to be underway, which is bringing Canadian whisky back to its roots in rye.  Alberta Premium tastes like Canadian whisky is supposed to taste, with no comprimise to the false Gods of Bourbon!

Note:
Jim Murray has named Alberta Premium Limited 25 Year Old (and/or its sister bottling, the regular Alberta Premium Rye Whisky), as the best Canadian whisky four years in a row.   I have found no fault in this assessment.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
March 16, 2010
My Understanding is that this whisky is finally running out. I can still find it in Alberta, but I picked up a case just to be safe.
 
March 14, 2010
You posted this review a few weeks ago. Where did you find the 25yr? It's no longer available in Ontario.
 
February 23, 2010
Great review! Love the format.
 
1
What's your opinion on Alberta Premium Rye 25Yr Old (100% rye w...?
rate
2 Ratings: +3.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Alberta Premium Rye 25Yr Old (100% rye whisky)
Details
Brand: Alberta Premium 25 Year Old Whisky
Category: Canadian Whisky

Related Topics
Piña Colada

Sweet, rum-based cocktail made with light rum, coconut cream

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Spirited Discussions is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists