Spirited Discussions
A Lunch Community about Alcoholic Beverages.

Absinthe makes my heart grow fonder

  • Aug 27, 2010
Rating:
+4
I am not a big fan of the taste of licorice and anise, but after creating several recipes using Lucid absinthe, I have to say I like it. In college I occasionally choked down Jägermeister, but Absinthe has a much more complex flavor profile. It certainly is not for everyone, but it's at least worth trying.

A Taste For Absinthe is a great primer for those new to yellow/green elixir (sometimes it is clear) and a handy resource for the experienced connoisseur. I really found the back-story and history interesting and enjoyed the factoids sprinkled throughout the book. I wish there was more of it. The photography throughout really adds to the atmosphere of the book and the graphic designer in me likes the choice of fonts, layout and design elements. They add up to create a classy, vintage feel. My pre-release copy was all in black and white except for the cover and I hope the final book is in color.

The book starts off with a foreword, introduction and primer, and then breaks down the recipes in the categories of classics, fruit & citrus, whiskey & gin and liqueurs & bitters and modern classics & cutting edge. The absinthe buying guide that follows the recipes is quite useful to beginner too. As I mentioned at the start, I only used one absinthe (Lucid) to mix my drinks. It is quite a pricey beverage and I would have to be independently wealthy to have used the variety of manufacturers they recommended. However, I am sure that the various absinthes each have distinct characters that make they appropriate for their recipes.

Of the recipes I tasted, I have to say my favorite is still the classic drip. With or without sugar, the simple absinthe and ice water mixture best shows off the flavors and aroma of the green fairy. Watching the louche form is quite a fun ritual. The fruit & citrus section wasn't my favorite but the liqueurs & bitters and modern classics had some tasty concoctions. I have more than half of them left to try and I am looking forward to experimenting. Ah, I see the l'heure verte is fast approaching, time for another visit with the green fairy. Á votre santé!
Absinthe makes my heart grow fonder Absinthe makes my heart grow fonder Absinthe makes my heart grow fonder

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
28
Thought-Provoking
16
Fun to Read
28
Well-Organized
21
Post a Comment
December 19, 2011
Informative !
 
February 21, 2011
Just a quick thanks for the nomination for the 2011 Lunch Awards. Of all my reviews, I didn't expect it to be for this one, hahaha.
 
September 17, 2010
Ooooooh, my friend just gave me a bottle of absinthe the other week. I've never had it before and had no idea that there were so many ways to prepare it! I'll definitely have to check it out. Now I'm excited to :D
 
September 04, 2010
Good review. I have always wanted to try this drink because of all the mythology attached to it. I know it was banned for many years in the USA. It would be very helpful if you could list some of the brands available in the USA.
September 04, 2010
All brands are available in the USA now and most are available online. Where I live in FL there is just a very limited selection of Absinthes, 3 or 4 brands. Local availability varies by region. Lucid is the probably the predominant brand and a good place to start.
September 04, 2010
Thanks for the info.
 
1
More A Taste for Absinthe: 65 Recip... reviews
Quick Tip by . September 04, 2010
Caption
I have always wanted to try this drink because of all the mythology attached to it.  I know it was banned for many years in the USA, the "wormwood" in it was thought to have been a hallucinogenic.  It would be very helpful if our community could list some of the brands available in the USA.
About the reviewer
Kort ()
Ranked #7
Art Director & Graphic/Web Designer • Photographer • Gadget Lover • Hubby • Dad • Amazon.com Reviewer • Wine, Tea & Coffee Drinker • Foodie
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Kort_Kramer
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Absinthe’s renaissance is quickly growing into a culinary movement. The “Green Fairy” is now showing up on cocktail menus at chic restaurants around the country. A Taste for Absinthe celebrates this storied and complex liquor by bringing you 65 cocktail recipes from America’s hottest mixologists to enjoy as you discover the spirit that has fascinated artists, musicians, and writers for centuries.

Absinthe expert R. Winston Guthrie has combed the nation to bring you a wide range of absinthe cocktails crafted by celebrated bartenders such as Jim Meehan of New York’s PDT, Erik Adkins of San Francisco’s Slanted Door, and Eric Alperin of The Varnish in Los Angeles. In addition to the recipes—such as the Salute to Sazerac (with rye whiskey, Angostura bitters, and lemon peel) and the Green Goddess (fresh basil leaves, cucumber vodka, simple syrup, line juice, and fresh thyme)—you will find:

- a primer on the accoutrements (spoons, glasses, fountains) for serving absinthe
- a how-to on executing your own absinthe drip
- a guide to buying the best-quality absinthe (whether imported or domestic)
- a lesson on how to discern between real absinthe and fake
- sidebars on absinthe’s rich history 

Whether you want to learn everything you need to know to host “L’Heure Verte” (the Green Hour) and impress your friends with your beautiful accoutrements and practiced pouring technique, or just make a really ...

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0307587533
ISBN-13: 978-0307587534
Author: R. Winston Guthrie
Genre: Cooking, Food & Wine
Publisher: Clarkson Potter
Date Published: September 21, 2010
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Spirited Discussions is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists