Spirited Discussions
A Lunch Community about Alcoholic Beverages.
Gin and Tonic

A highball cocktail made with gin and tonic water, usually garnished with a slice of lime or lemon, served over ice

< read all 5 reviews

The British Empire wasn't just founded on cups of tea.

  • Jan 12, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
The perfect drink for a warm day, proving that a good bar only needs to stock four ingredients: tonic, ice, lime, and a quality gin (Make mine a Hendrick's). 
If you're feeling dangerous, a slice of cucumber complements the H & T.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
17
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
April 13, 2009
Yum! Have you ever tried Hendrick's Gin?
 
April 12, 2009
Cucumber, that's the way to do it! I went to an event not too long ago where they had gin and tonics with various muddled ingredients, including strawberries and raspberries, but the cucumber was definitely my favorite.
 
March 04, 2009
Gin & Tonic is my go too drink, though a little less adventuresome than another fav: Harvey Wallbanger. Any other good gin-based drinks you recommend?
 
February 16, 2009
Mmm... I really like Beefeater. I'll try Hendrick's sometime though.
 
January 15, 2009
I've never really like the taste of Gin & Tonic until I tried it with Right Gin. It's a new brand on the market and has a bit more of a citrus taste instead of juniper. Very refreshing!
 
January 13, 2009
Since gin isn't really the sort of thing one drinks neat (at least I don't) I like how tonic doesn't mask the unique flavors of different gins. Like I mentioned, Hendrick's is my favourite, but I also like Tanqueray Ten and Dogfish Head Jin (if you can find it). The slice of cucumber is really the only variation I've ever had the desire to try. However, if you're looking for something a bit sweeter, gin gimlets are quite good as well (gin, lime cordial, top it off with seltzer if you so desire).
 
January 12, 2009
I really like this drink, too. Is there any variation that you particularly enjoy? I like mine the basic way. Are there any other drinks that this one goes well with?
 
1
More Gin and Tonic reviews
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Add a splash of cranberry for added flavor!
review by . January 10, 2009
* My favorite drink is a tanqueray and tonic.   The drink is very versatile and can be ordered in the hot sun or too warm you up on a cold winter evening.  The drink feels light and healthy and many can be consumed without feeling full.   The drink is best when a sliced slime is squeezed and placed in the drink.    org.mo="" target="_blank">  
review by . January 16, 2009
My affection for gin and tonics may be because they were the first drinks I could take a slug of and not wince. Laugh if you like, and don't worry, I'm well aware that Gin and Tonics suffer from a perception that they're an old man's "WASP Drink."     On the other hand, they're a great way to beat malaria, they're made from juniper berries, they're the only way you can get gin - which tastes terrible - and tonic - which also tastes terrible - to form a compatible, delicious drink.  &nb …
review by . April 08, 2009
Bitters
I love a good Gin and Tonic on a hot summer day. Add a dask of bitters to liven it up! It transports the drink into a whole new palate-pleaser.
About the reviewer
Uncle Sam ()
Former world traveler, aspiring world traveler, slightly hedonistic
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
unklesam
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Details

Polls
Beer

Refreshing Summer Cocktails

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Spirited Discussions is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists