Spirited Discussions
A Lunch Community about Alcoholic Beverages.
Gin and Tonic

A highball cocktail made with gin and tonic water, usually garnished with a slice of lime or lemon, served over ice

< read all 5 reviews

Zesting it Up

  • Apr 8, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+3
I love a good Gin and Tonic on a hot summer day. Add a dask of bitters to liven it up! It transports the drink into a whole new palate-pleaser.
Bitters

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
May 13, 2009
I probably shouldn't be craving alcohol at 1pm, but after reading this, a gin and tonic sounds refreshing (especially an hour before working with 50+ kids.  :P). I get the feeling you've got some knowledge of this drink, so maybe you update this review with your favorite brands of gin and suggestions on the ratio of liquor to tonic. My drink of the moment is The Old-Fashioned, which packs a bit more punch than the more smooth G&T.
 
April 12, 2009
Sounds refreshing! What recommendations can you give for the best types of Gin and tonic? I had a friend that made these all the time in law school- but I've never been able to get the recipe quite right.
April 13, 2009
All you really need is good gin (try Hendricks). Fill a tumbler with lots of ice. Add the gin about a third of the way up the glass and then fill the rest with tonic. A dash or two of bitters makes the drink much more interesting and complex. Finish off with a squeeze of lime!
April 16, 2009
Thanks for the tip- I am going to have one of these today:)
April 16, 2009
I'm jealous!!
 
1
More Gin and Tonic reviews
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Add a splash of cranberry for added flavor!
review by . January 10, 2009
* My favorite drink is a tanqueray and tonic.   The drink is very versatile and can be ordered in the hot sun or too warm you up on a cold winter evening.  The drink feels light and healthy and many can be consumed without feeling full.   The drink is best when a sliced slime is squeezed and placed in the drink.    org.mo="" target="_blank">  
review by . January 12, 2009
The perfect drink for a warm day, proving that a good bar only needs to stock four ingredients: tonic, ice, lime, and a quality gin (Make mine a Hendrick's).   If you're feeling dangerous, a slice of cucumber complements the H & T.
review by . January 16, 2009
My affection for gin and tonics may be because they were the first drinks I could take a slug of and not wince. Laugh if you like, and don't worry, I'm well aware that Gin and Tonics suffer from a perception that they're an old man's "WASP Drink."     On the other hand, they're a great way to beat malaria, they're made from juniper berries, they're the only way you can get gin - which tastes terrible - and tonic - which also tastes terrible - to form a compatible, delicious drink.  &nb …
About the reviewer
Erin ()
I really dig this website!
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
EeezOfSteeez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by EeezOfSteeez
About this topic

Wiki

Details

Polls
Beer

Refreshing Summer Cocktails

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Spirited Discussions is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists