Spirited Discussions
A Lunch Community about Alcoholic Beverages.
Guinness

Popular dry stout that originated in Arthur Guinness' brewery at St. James's Gate in Dublin, Ireland

< read all 11 reviews

Guinness Draught: Nothing but hype

  • Feb 19, 2010
Rating:
-3

Everyone's heard of Guinness. even if you don't drink beer, you've heard of Guinness.  As the gentleman in the TV ads would say, their marketing is, "brilliant!" Unfortunately, their beer is awful!

The Pour

Upon pouring this into a pint glass, the first reaction is, “This is one beautiful beer!”  When you first pour it, it looks brown in the glass as it comes alive in the glass and releases bubbles into a gorgeous very light beige (almost white, really) thick pillowy head.  When the beer settles down, the beer itself is almost completely black in the glass with the most beautiful head you can find in a beer. The contrast in the beer and the head is striking!

The Nose
This smells lightly of roasted malts, but without any hint of sweetness.  It is an Irish stout, after all, which is a drier stout than some other sweet stouts.  It smells somewhat clean, and there are definite hints of coffee beans.

The Taste
This has a very clean, smooth and refreshing mouthfeel and is lighter bodied than you would guess from the pour alone.  There is a very slight roasted flavor profile and it is somewhat dry on the finish.  Sounds good so far, but despite the previous descriptions, the flavor leaves me literally with a sour look on my face (something akin to the old bitter beer face).  It tasted metallic and just unpleasant to me.  I had to  follow it with a bowl of Lucky Charms to get the taste out of my mouth.

Overall
I hate Guinness. It can’t be more clear than that. It tasted metallic and just bad, and was not a pleasant beer.  If you like the flavor, for some weird reason, it is very drinkable. To me, it tastes like some sort of chemical, and Guinness’ success can be directly attributable to a job well done by their marketing folks. All hype and not much else.

Recommended: Not to my worst enemy.

Visit my blog for this and other beer reviews.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
10
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
7
Well-Organized
13
Post a Comment
February 26, 2010
Sorry. Can't agree. But then most beers give me a headache and I can't drink them. Guinness doesn't. I suspect an allergy.
February 26, 2010
Well, I won't hold it against you! :) Seriously though, everyone has different tastes...if you like it, I say drink up! :D
February 26, 2010
Killian's is another I can imbibe without horrible results after just one drink.
November 10, 2010
I've got to agree with QUEENBFLIX on both points. Guinness is my favorite beer, hands down. Killian's is my second favorite. Why? Let's just say it was the first beer I ever tasted. I was legal.....yeah, legal!
 
February 21, 2010
I like Guinness but ONLY in Ireland. I'm not a beer drinker but have tasted Guinness both in Ireland and elsewhere. They are 2 types of beer altogether!!! And don't even bother drinking from the can, it tastes awful!!!
February 26, 2010
Maybe someday I'll get a chance to try Guinness in Ireland :)
 
1
More Guinness Draught reviews
review by . November 08, 2010
posted in The Beer Snob
I am going to review Guinness Draft not as a beer snob but as a home brewer.  I don't drink much beer I buy because I brew enough mead and beer for myself and probably my friends too :-).      Guinness is one of those underrated beers which is great in part because of how it subtly differs from other stouts.  Folks either love stouts or hate the burned bitterness that characterizes them.  But Guiness goes a step further by adding a signature tanginess which …
Quick Tip by . August 12, 2010
posted in The Beer Snob
For me, the darker the better!!! If I can stand a spoon up in it, it is good to go!!! Great bitter taste. However, consider the fact that my favorite beer is free beer, and my all time favorite beer is, cold free beer!!!
Quick Tip by . March 18, 2010
The perfect breakfast beer.
Quick Tip by . March 05, 2010
posted in The Beer Snob
my go to choice when having a beer. people think its heavy because of the color, but i find it so refreshing. it tastes healthy too, right?
Quick Tip by . March 04, 2010
posted in The Beer Snob
Guinness is my chocolate milk.
Quick Tip by . February 21, 2010
Great in Ireland, esp. Dublin but awful in the rest of the world. I'm no beer drinker but like it on the tap (in Ireland, ie)!
Quick Tip by . October 25, 2009
This stuff reminds me of used motor oil. Gross!
review by . February 27, 2009
I'm not too into dark beers, but Guinness does have a pretty nice, crisp finish.  I prefer it as part of a "black and tan" (half Guinness, half Bass Ale) but can certainly finish one or two pints of Guinness if I'm up to it.    One thing I've found is that it tastes INFINITELY better when it's super cold.  So if you're a slow sipper, you may find that the last few sips might be a little warm and not as tasty.  So bottoms up!  
review by . December 10, 2008
How a truly poured Guinness should look.
I have to begin by saying that I'm a little bias when it comes to beer. There are so many beers that I haven't tried, but of the ones that I have had, I can be very picky. I don't really care for American beers like Budweiser, Coors, Busch, etc. I really tend to enjoy mostly European beers. With that said, my view may be a little skewed.    I've tried Guinness several times over the years. It's of course a very dark beer, and has a strong taste that has never interested me. I've …
review by . December 10, 2008
Guinness is one of my favorite beers.  The thick, creamy brew feels like you're almost drinking a dessert.  Interestingly enough, a Guinness has less calories than the same amount of a regular beer, so it's good for girls who want to avoid calories when going out.  I love drinking one or two with my guy friends and really savoring the taste.  Although I've heard it's a million times better in Dublin, it's still a lot better then most domestic beers in the US.  "Lovely day …
About the reviewer
Scott ()
Ranked #18
I am a 35 year old full-time employee, full-time student, and full-time Beer Snob. (Check out my beer reviews on my blog as well as here) I enjoy trying new beers and hope I never reach the point where … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TheBeerSnob
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this drink

Wiki

Here are some stats on Guiness compared to other beers:

A 12oz serving of Guinness has 125 calories, 9.8 grams of carbs and it’s alcoholic content is 4.2%. For comparison, 12 ounces of Budweiser is 150 calories and 11 grams carbs, 12 ounces of Heineken is 150 calories and 12.2 grams of carbs, 12 ounces of Corona Extra is 148 calories and 14.1 grams of carbs, and SURPRISE… a Sam Adams Light has 126 calories and 10.9 grams of carbs.



All the grain used by Guinness is grown in Ireland. The non-malt grains used in the domestic product is 25% flaked barley and 10% roasted barley. (MJBC p 181)


view wiki

Tags

Beer, Beers, Beersnob, Stout, Guinness, Dark Beers, Stouts, Irish Stout

Details

Type: Irish Stout, Dry Stout
Country: Ireland
Brewery: Guinness
ABV: 4.2%

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Spirited Discussions is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists