Sweet Tooth
Satisfy Your Craving!
skittles

A popular fruit flavored candy with a hard outer shell and chewy center

< read all 1 reviews

Skittles Candy... now Vegetarian Friendly!

  • Jul 7, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
As a kid, Skittles was among one of my favorite candies.  I remember how happy I was when "Tropical Skittles" first came out.  Yes, to this kid that grew up on a tropical island... it was heaven.  Then later on in life (when I turned sweet 16, lol) I decided to be a Vegetarian.  This mean't giving up some of the things I enjoyed as a child (like marshmallows, pepperoni, and yes... Skittles). 

I didn't give up all hope though. I knew that some day, my beloved Skittles loved me enough to give up the "Gelatin" in it's ingredients so that we could be together again.  So as time rolled by... every couple of years I would check the package for the "ingredients" list to see if I could be reunited with my childhood friend. And every year, I only ended up being disappointed... until yesterday. 

Yes, I'm happy to announce that Skittles is now Gelatin and Gluten-free.  And how is it? Well... the Rainbow tastes just as good as this kid (at heart) remembers  :)

Enjoy

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
13
Thought-Provoking
11
Fun to Read
19
Well-Organized
8
Post a Comment
July 21, 2009
That's awesome!  There really needs to be a better gelatin substitute out there, so that gelatin wouldn't even be made anymore. 

Until then though, at least my veggie friends can now enjoy Skittles Vodka, too :P
 
July 08, 2009
Now the only thing Skittles needs to improve upon is their delivery method. I love to take a bag of Skittles into the movies, but the hard shells and crinkly bags are almost as annoying as a cell phone in a movie theater -- fortunately, I try to watch only really loud movies.
July 21, 2009
Do what my mom does and bring Tupperware :P
 
1
About the reviewer
Duc Truong ()
I'm a man with many hobbies. I work a full-time job in the field of 'Lyophilization' for a small Pharmacuetical company. It's a dream job because it gives me lots of days off to pursue … more
About this topic

Wiki


Skittles is a brand of fruit-flavoured sweets, currently produced and marketed by the Wm. Wrigley Jr. Company, a division of Mars, Inc.. They have hard sugar shells which carry the letter S. The inside is mainly sugar and hydrogenated vegetable oil along with fruit juice, citric acid and natural and artificial flavours.

 

History and overview

Skittles were first made commercially in 1974 by a British company. They were first introduced in North America in 1979 as an import candy. In 1982, domestic production of Skittles began in the United States. On March 2, 2009, Skittles launched a web-based marketing campaign where their official website became a small overlay with options to view different social media sites in the main area, including its official YouTube channel, a Facebook profile, and a Twitter account. The move was debated by people interested in social media
view wiki

Tags

Candies, Skittles Candy, Mars Snackfood, Skittles, Taste The Rainbow

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Sweet Tooth is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists