Sweet Tooth
Satisfy Your Craving!

Candy Corn RULES!

  • Sep 14, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5
It seems that every holiday has a particular food item that no one wants to touch.  Christmas has the fruitcake.  Thanksgiving has cranberry sauce.  New Year's has cabbage.  Despite this fact, these items always manage to make their way into the house for the holidays. 

Why?  A brave few people actually try these bizarre foods sitting all alone in the reject pile on the table and actually enjoy them?

So what food provokes great debates at Halloween?  The candy corn, of course!  I know many, many people who simply refuse to candy corn.  They claim that it's nasty or that they don't like the texture.  Oh well, it's there loss!

Personally, I eat candy corn like it's going out of style.  While I have no problem downing the pumpkin shaped candy corn and the chocolate candy corn, my favorite is, was, and always will be the traditional orange, white, and yellow version of the treat.  I've also been known to purchase and drink the candy corn flavored soda that shows up on Target's shelves around Halloween.  I love this sweet treat in all of its varieties.

I don't just buy it for Halloween, either.  I've been known to stride down the candy aisle at the store and pick up a bag of candy corn in the middle of March....MARCH!  Does that make me strange?  Maybe, but I can't help the fact that I love candy corn.

If you haven't had any candy corn in a long time, now is the perfect chance to revisit this wonderful delicacy.  With Halloween just around the bend, there will be plent of candy corn to go around for the next couple of months. 

If you've never had candy corn before, you need to get some fast.  I promise you that you'll enjoy it as much as any other sweet candy on the market.

Candy corn RULES!
Cany Corn RULES! Cany Corn RULES! Cany Corn RULES!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
32
Thought-Provoking
31
Fun to Read
33
Well-Organized
31
Post a Comment
August 03, 2011
The candy corn looks tasty. Should I ask about the calories ?
 
February 02, 2011
Amazing, you talked about one of the nastiest candies made and it was entertaining. I almost want to try it again.
February 03, 2011
Do it! Try one! One bite won't hurt! ;)
 
February 02, 2011
Who are these strange people that don't like candy corn? Blasphemy LOL....I'm with you, Kendall, I LOVE it. But, I didn't know Target had a candy corn soda, that sounds interesting. And no, I don't think you're strange for buying in March, if I could find it in March, I'd eat it then, too!
February 03, 2011
Target sells Jones Soda Candy Corn Soda around Halloween every year. It usually has a werewolf on the can. It tastes very close to the real thing.
February 05, 2011
Wow....see the things I wouldn't know without Lunch! I'm going to have to look out for that next Halloween!
 
October 27, 2010
Thanks for all of the comments! Devora, you MUST try candy corn. Much like beer, it's an acquired taste (but it won't give you a buzz like beer)!
 
October 26, 2010
You know, come to think of it, I don't think I've ever eaten candy corn before. I love Halloween and am given this every year, yet for some reason have never tried it. After reading this review though, I think I'm going to have to have at least one piece this year ;P Thanks for sharing!
 
October 26, 2010
lol, I think candy corn is one of my LEAST favorite candies, but they certainly are colorful and add some vibrancy to an arts and crafts project, ^_^
 
September 16, 2010
Excellent review of this misunderstood treat K. I'll admit, it isn't my favorite Halloween treat, but I do nibble on it a bit. My daughter loves it. And on New Years, I nom the heck out of that cabbage, but keep the pickled herring away from me!
 
1
More Candy Corn reviews
Quick Tip by . September 26, 2010
Oh candy corn. I always buy a bag each year and after about five pieces I'm pretty much done. Why do you have to be so tempting and yet useless...
Quick Tip by . September 16, 2010
Many people do not realize that candy corn is at it's peak flavor potential when it is at its freshest. I think one reason it is disliked by so many is that they end up eating stale candy corn. If you are fortunate enough to get some that is made by a sweets specialty shop, then you are in for a treat!
About the reviewer
Kendall Fontenot ()
Despite looking extremely cool, I have to admit that I'm a dork. I grew up on the outskirts of the small town of Oberlin, LA. I have since relocated to the Lake Charles, LA area.I love my home state … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
kfontenot
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Candy corn is a confection in the United States and Canada, popular primarily in autumn around Halloween. Candy corn was created in the 1880s by George Renninger of the Wunderlee Candy Company; the three colors of the candy mimic the appearance of kernels of corn. Each piece is approximately 3 times the size of a whole kernel from a ripe or dried ear. Candy corn is made primarily from sugar, corn syrup, artificial coloring and binders. A serving size of 22 pieces contains 140 calories and no fat. Candy corn pieces are traditionally cast in three colors: a broad yellow end, a tapered orange center, and a pointed white tip. A popular variation called "Indian corn" features a chocolate brown wide end, orange center and pointed white tip. In recent years confectioners have introduced additional color variations suited to other holidays, including Christmas and Easter

History
Candy corn has a legacy that goes back over a hundred years. The Philadelphia-based Wunderlee Candy Company's George Renninger, invented this popular candy back in the 1880's. Wunderlee Candy Company was the first to manufacture candy corn as a result. Then, in 1900, the Goelitz Candy Company (which later became the Jelly Belly Candy Company) started making these candies and continues to make candy corn today.
Candy corn's introduction gained instant popularity among farmers due to it's appearance of an actual piece of corn. Additionally, the three color on a single candy was ...
view wiki

Tags

Food, Candy, Confectioneries, Candy Corn

Details

First to Review

"Candy Corn RULES!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Sweet Tooth is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists