Tea Time
All things tea -- from leaf to pot to cup.

Perfect Tea for Coffee Alternative

  • Oct 17, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5
I've long been a steady coffee drinker for quite a few years. Lately, as more stress has piled upon my plate or maybe it's because I'm getting older, I've noticed that the coffee I've been drinking has given me all the negative side effects of caffeine. I don't drink more than one or two cups a day, so this was a little odd. I figured I'd stave off of it for a couple of days but, I still needed my caffeine. Enter Celestial Seasonings Green Tea with Honey, Lemon and Ginseng.

At $3 for a box of 20 tea bags, it seemed like an affordable option as well. I think I can call it love at first bag, green tea did for me what coffee used to without all the irritability, inability to focus after a couple of hours, and funky stomach feelings. In fact, my new favorite drink is good for me, the environment and for every grower for the company!

It's gluten-free (for those of you that need to know that), chock full of antioxidants, zero-calorie zero-fat, and a line of Wellness teas and supplementals.

The teas aren't individually packaged, they don't have stings, staples, or tags on their teas, this saves more than 3.5 million pounds of waste into landfills every year. Their retail boxes are packaged in 100% recycled paperboard with 35% post-consumer content.

For the cherry on top, they support fair wages and sustainable harvests in over 35 countries. Their dedication to social responsibility is so massive, that to save your time and space, I'll provide the link: http://www.celestialseasonings.com/about/com...ial-responsibility.html. Basically, they support sustainable farming families, recycle more than 500,000 pounds of materials a year, engage in ethical trade and support 12 charities.

I do still enjoy a nice cup of coffee from time to time, what can I say? Old habits die hard. But, my new favorite morning caffeinated drink is Celestial Seasoning's Green Tea with Honey, Lemon, Ginseng and White tea.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
38
Thought-Provoking
39
Fun to Read
33
Well-Organized
37
Post a Comment
July 08, 2012
I appreciate the link!
 
March 26, 2012
They do have a decaf' namely green decaf, mint, white and chai.
April 08, 2012
Glad you found the decaf versions....I just saw a decaf green tea today at the store.
 
July 30, 2011
Do they have a decaf version of the Celestial Seasonings Tea?
August 01, 2011
Hmmm....not sure. But, I'll look for it next time I'm at the store and let you know! I'm sure they do.
 
November 05, 2010
I love their teas. They have a blueberry tea that is fantastic!
November 05, 2010
oooh....blueberry! That sounds so good, I'll have to try that one next- thanks, Sean!
 
October 27, 2010
Interesting! I've stopped drinking coffee altogether for the last 2 months! Instead, I'm drinking Ginseng. That's right! I do believe it is both the Green Tea and the Ginseng that keep you awake in the morning. Since Ginseng, I haven't had any craving for coffee at all.
October 27, 2010
I think you're right :P Since I've started to drink this tea, I haven't had any cravings.
 
October 22, 2010
After reading your review, I just went out and bought a box of their green tea! I really dig the packaging. More companies should take after!  By the way, ever hear of Guayaki Yerba Mate?  It's perfect for someone weening off of coffee because it's got a coffee taste minus the coffee side effects.  Bonus points that it has similar packaging and is even available in loose leaf.  Thanks for sharing this!  I'm enjoying my green tea :)
October 23, 2010
I'm glad your loving it! I have had some Yerba Mate before but, I'll have to check out Guayaki for sure. Thanks for the suggestion!
 
October 22, 2010
Good review! I was in the same boat. I was (and still am sometimes) an avid coffee drinker. Kona and Jamaican Blue Mountain are my favorites, but a bit pricey. Then I discovered the world of loose leaf teas and became a tea convert. Up to then, I thought all tea was what you could get in the little bags; Liption, Bigelow, etc. But I stumbled across TeaChat.com and was amazed at the variety and amazing flavors (and health benefits) to be found from tea. I'm enjoying a loose leaf Japanese Sencha Fuka-midori from Den's Tea right now. Celestial Seasonings is certainly one of the better bagged teas (you should give Tazo a try too) but if you really want to see what tea has to offer, check out some of the teas from Adagio.com. I must warn you though, once you go loose, it is hard to go back to the bags. :)
October 22, 2010
Also, if you want a tea that is "like" coffee, there are some hearty blacks, chais, oolongs and pu-erh teas that will knock your socks off!
October 23, 2010
I'm going to have to definitely check those out- thanks so much Kort! I began my pseudo tea addiction when I worked for Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf, discovering the human body really can only handle so much espresso. I used to drink their loose leaf teas and have missed that incredibly since moving up to the Bay Area. I'm a Chai fanatic- what's your favorite?
October 23, 2010
I wouldn't say I have a favorite, though I like the one from Tazo a lot and Teavana's Samurai Chai is pretty good.
October 23, 2010
I've had Tazo and thought it was a bit...spicy? I don't know how to describe it but, I'm biased toward Oregon Chai which is definitely sweeter and I'm not sure if it classifies as a Chai or not?
 
October 22, 2010
Some interesting details there but what does it TASTE like?
October 22, 2010
Oooh good question! I'll have to let you know tomorrow when I have my morning fix. It's a little sweeter than your usual green tea which is what I like about it but, I'll have to give you a better answer manana ;p
October 22, 2010
So, it's a light, refreshing green tea and you definitely have the "green tea" with a slightly minty taste (strangely enough!). The lemon, honey and white tea are barely noticeable.
 
October 20, 2010
I am a coffee drinker but I have to admit that I do have tea whenever I have a heavy meal--helps me digest my food. Thanks, Sam!
October 21, 2010
Anytime, Will! I like to alternate and now I'm on a tea kick...
 
1
More Celestial Seasonings reviews
Quick Tip by . October 22, 2010
posted in Tea Time
With green tea it is easy to over brew if you leave the tea bag in the water too long or have the water too hot. Try seeping for two minutes in water that has been off boil for about 5 minutes. The taste may be lighter but you may be amazed to find the flavor sweeter and less astringent/bitter.
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
I'm a human jukebox that is constantly changing my station depending on my mood!   Feel free to share your passion with me in my communities: Pass the Remote!, Hip Hop Culture, Wedding Planning … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
djevoke
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this brand

Wiki

In 1969, a group of passionate young entrepreneurs founded Celestial Seasonings upon the belief that their flavorful, all-natural herbal teas could help people live healthier lives. They harvested fresh herbs from the Rocky Mountains by hand, and then dried, blended and packaged them in hand-sewn muslin bags to be sold at local health food stores. By staying committed to their vision, the founders of Celestial Seasonings turned their cottage industry into an almost overnight success.

Today, Celestial Seasonings is the largest specialty tea manufacturer in North America. We serve more than 1.6 billion cups of tea every year, and we source more than 100 different ingredients from over 35 countries to create our delicious, all-natural herbal, green, red, white, chai and wellness teas. But most importantly, we're still about people and passion.

http://www.celestialseasonings.com/

Products: Green, Black, White, Red, All-Natural Herbal Teas; Kombucha; culinary spices

Where to buy: Local grocery stores, Whole Foods, Health Food Stores, Online

Price Range: $3-$28

view wiki

Tags

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Tea Time is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists