Tea Time
All things tea -- from leaf to pot to cup.
Taylors of Harrogate Earl Grey Leaf Tea

Earl Gray Tea from Taylors of Harrogate

< read all 1 reviews

Superior Earl Grey

  • Nov 14, 2010
Rating:
+5
The English firm Taylors of Harrogate supplies many Great loose leaf Teas which you can purchase from their website - ( http://www.taylorsofharrogate.co.uk/ ).

I really love Earl Grey and the Best I have tasted yet is from Taylors of Harrogate.

Earl Grey is named after 2nd Earl Grey who was Prime Minister of Britain in the 1830's and the story goes that he received a gift of Black Tea scented with Bergamont Oil which he really  liked and that is supposedly the start of this fabulous blend but the story has never been proved so it may be just a clever marketing ploy.

Earl Grey Tea is made from a blend of Black Teas most often Chinese and India Teas but sometimes Ceylon Teas are used. It is then Scented with Oil taken from the rind of the Bergamont which is a fragrant citrus fruit.

Taylors of Harrogate Earl Grey is a rich Black Tea and has a rather strong Bergamont taste which I really like and it is powerful and and extremly tasty with a very good and refreshing aroma.

And by the way if your really love your Tea, always use Loose Leaf Tea since only inferior Tea is used in Teabags.

In the Star Trek Next Generation Captain Picard really loved his Earl Grey as you can see from this video clip.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
14
Well-Organized
14
Post a Comment
February 07, 2011
I enjoy Early Grey tea a lot. It's an added bonus that both you and Captain Picard like it. ;) Nice review!
 
November 21, 2010
For some reasons I haven't taken to English tea or Black tea. Still love my green tea and for the present moment, Ginseng! Do you take this with anything else?
November 21, 2010
Well it is a Fact that in both Japan and China the Green Tea is by far the most popular - but what do you mean by " Do you take this with anything else? " are you asking what I drink this with or . . ?
November 21, 2010
Yes :-)
November 21, 2010
Well I drink it all day with everything but it is very good with bread and of course perfect with cakes and chocolates and sweet desserts.
November 21, 2010
I thought so. The reason why I prefer green tea is because most of the time I simply drink it on its own. It doesn't have the bitter taste that black teas tend to have when drink on its own. Do you know of a way to get rid of that bitter taste? Is it the water temperature or what?
November 21, 2010
Ah but you see we do not want to get rid of the bitter taste it's part of the appeal but it has to be in the right proportion to the other elements and only Quality Teas have that and then of course you must not let it brew for too long, 5 minutes at the most and for some blacks less than that.
November 21, 2010
Really? Ok, thanks! I'll remember that next time!
 
November 15, 2010
If it is good enough for Picard, it is good enough for me! Good review, thanks Orn. Not all bagged teas are completely inferior, but enough of them to make it the rule rather than the exception. I will have to give Taylor's version a try.
November 15, 2010
There is a American firm called Stash Tea and they sell mainly on the Internet and they have a Tea called Double Bergamot Earl Grey Black Tea which I really must try. Have you tried it or any of their Teas ?

http://www.stashtea.com/
November 15, 2010
I've yet to try their loose leaf teas, but that Dbl. Berg. EG does sound appealing. I was at a B&B not too long ago that stocked their bagged teas and tried the standard Earl Grey (decent), Chai Spice (okay) and Fusion Breakfast Green & Black Tea (so so). They make better bagged tea than some, though with such a broad product line, it is tough to predict which ones will be better than others.
November 15, 2010
OK thanks. I think I will order the Double one soon.
 
1
About the reviewer
Örn Leifsson ()
Ranked #2
I have a BA in Philosophy but my main interest is Music. I play the piano andI have also learned a little to play the Guitar, Violin, Drum Set and the Djembe.   The Music I love the most is … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
ornleifs
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Tags

Tea, Taylors Of Harrogate, Earl Grey

Details

Polls
Assam tea

Favorite Black Teas

by

First to Review

"Superior Earl Grey"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Tea Time is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists