That's Beat
Place to share pics and things that are beat
Judgement Day- April 19. 2011

A prediction made by Christian radio host Harold Camping that the Rapture will take place on May 21, 2011.

< read all 6 reviews

A Quick Tip by Count_Orlok_22

  • May 20, 2011
  • by
What's rather amusing about this is we have seen these idiotic predictions come and go. From The Great Disappointment of 1844 to Y2K, people almost seem eager to have their real problems erased by some form of divine worldwide devastation. If you look at it logically, it becomes clear that the majority of these end of the world scenarios are nothing more than juvenile fantasies thought up by people who can't handle the perplexities of reality and thus have been seduced by an apocalyptic faith so that they can escape their current reality and find another which is more suitable to their psychological ineptitude. What's truly amusing, more so than anything, is that if these people understood prophecy then they would realize that the Bible states that the end of the world will happen at the arrival of the anti-Christ and that when he comes none shall know it is him. This presents us with a problem because almost every single century after the death of Jesus, some religious sect or another has claimed that the anti-Christ is among us and that the end is nigh, which nullifies the prophecy to begin with making it self-defeating. If we are to be ignorant of the end of the world when it comes and there's always some mentally unstable individual or group who are predicting the coming of the end then the end cannot come to fruition as described in Biblical prophecy. Simply put, the prophecies of the Bible rely on people not expecting them to come true in order for them to come true because the Bible was written and compiled during a time when it was a minority religion and they wished to scare people into entering the faith. However, now that Judeo-Christian religion is and has been the dominant religion for well over a thousand years, people are willing to take the Bible literally and thus negate the predictions found therein. If you threaten people with an empty prediction of impending disaster in order to get them on your side, then once the majority of people are on your side, the prediction disproves itself. As most prophecies do.
Apparently, God's got a sense of irony.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
15
Post a Comment
May 24, 2011

But wait! There's more!! 


We're skipping the Rapture and going directly to destruction!  Amazing that the guy is disappointed that billions did not die.  Christian??

An excerpt from an ABC News article.

Don't lose hope; the world will end just before Halloween! Boo!

"Speaking outside the headquarters of his media empire near the Oakland, Calif., airport, Camping said his prediction that the Rapture would occur Saturday might have been wrong, but he stands by his prophecy that the world will come to an end as forecast on Oct. 21. "

http://abcnews.go.com/Entertainment/harold-c...ction/story?id=13669592
May 25, 2011
What bollocks!
May 25, 2011
Agreed. As one reader said, "I'm not going on that 'Camping' trip!"
 
May 23, 2011
Why a plus 5? Entertainment value?
May 23, 2011
Yep. Gave me the biggest laugh I've had in years.
 
May 21, 2011
Plus the Bible says that none of us will know when it is going to happen so that shows how much he knows, that guy who says we are going bye bye is crazy.
May 21, 2011
Still here. LOL!
 
May 20, 2011
Amen, brother LOL...I hadn't heard of this new one, so thanks for shedding light on it.
May 20, 2011
LOL! Pretty funny, isn' t it? I love that Harry Camping can't even explain where he got this date from or how.
May 23, 2011
Yeah, I was like who the F thought of this? Harry Camping?!?!?! Is that his real name? Really? Did he have a dream one night and God spoke to him telling him that we're all doomed? Isn't he a bit late on that memo? LOL...crazy people make life so interesting!
May 23, 2011
I just think it's hilarious that he made this same prediction about 1994. If at first you don't succeed, try, try again. Doesn't seem like that should apply to apocalyptic prophesies though.
 
May 20, 2011
the only prediction I enjoyed was when wrestling did a countdown called "Y2J: Raw is Jericho" LOL! Ok, we should stop talking about this now since this is the attention they crave...

But going back to what you've said, the book of revelation does predict things like this; I mean religious leaders who do this sort of thing for their own gain....
May 21, 2011
How's Hell on the West Coast? It's still pouring here, so I'm not sure where all the brimstone and fire is.
 
May 20, 2011
Good commentary. You said: " juvenile fantasies thought up by people who can handle the perplexities of reality ..." I think you meant "can't handle." :)
May 20, 2011
Oops. LOL!
 
1
More 2011 Judgment Day reviews
Quick Tip by . May 20, 2011
posted in That's Beat
I just called my banks and they said they do not honor the apocalypse so you could not skip out on paying your bills for a month. The guy who made the prediction said he needed $$ to pay bills too...wow! what a scam!
Quick Tip by . May 20, 2011
posted in Inspirations
The more a religious leader tries to predict the end of the world, the more it will not come true. I remember Van Impe and others...but hey I give them credit for being bold enough to try (however dumb their motivations may be).
Quick Tip by . May 20, 2011
Ha! Does that mean I don't have to pay my bills anymore? ;-)
Quick Tip by . May 21, 2011
posted in That's Beat
Jokes aside, I just heard in the news last night that an old man tried to euthanize his own pets to prepare for the apocalypse....saying that he didn't want them to suffer the trials and tribulations. Thankfully, the animal control and sheriff's dept. were able to take the animals away from him.      Ok, now this is disturbing, some people are actually taking this prophecy seriously.
Quick Tip by . May 20, 2011
What? Judgment Day is here already? Sh*t! What'll I wear?!?!
About the reviewer

Ranked #5
Member Since: Dec 16, 2008
Last Login: Jun 7, 2012 07:25 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Count_Orlok_22
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this event

Wiki



The 2011 end times prediction is a prediction made by Christian radio host Harold Camping that the Rapture (in Christian belief, the taking up into heaven of God's elect people) will take place on May 21, 2011 and that the end of the world as we know it will take place five months later on October 21, 2011. These predictions were made by Camping, president of the Family Radio Christian network, who claims the Bible as his source and says May 21 will be the date of the Rapture and the day of judgment "beyond the shadow of a doubt". His followers claim that around 200 million people (approximately 3% of the world's population) will be raptured.

Camping's predictions have not been embraced by most other Christian groups; some have explicitly rejected them. An interview with a group of church leaders noted that all of them have scheduled services as usual for Sunday, May 22. Camping previously claimed that the world would end in September, 1994.
view wiki

Tags

Events, Religion, Judgment Day, The Rapture, Harold Camping

Details

Type: The Rapture, Judgment Day
Location: Worldwide
Date(s): May 21, 2011
Venue: Earth

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
That's Beat is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists