That's Beat
Place to share pics and things that are beat
Jersey Shore

A television series on MTV that follows 8 housemates spending their summer on the Jersey Shore.

< read all 7 reviews

Beat the Beat

  • Jan 13, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5
Look- the words Guido and Guidette may not be the most PC words historically... but then again, neither are tanning beds and aquanet. That said, MTV's Jersey Shore combines all these fantastically unPC concepts into an hour of television that has the profound effect of being able to take your mind off of anything. Anything. You won't think of a single problem you have as you watch a 4'9 Snookie get closed-fist-punched clear off of a bar stool (please note: 4'9 is legally a midget... sorry, shnooks). Your bad day at work will seem like a distant memory when you consider the traumatizing "fred flintstone toe" that Sammi the Sweetheart has (will Ronnie and Sammi last? only time will tell). And the Situation? Forgetaboutit.

If you're, say, I don't know, Italian... then yes--YES problems may arise if you watch this show. All characters are self proclaimed "Guidos"... with the painted italian flag on everything you could imagine: garage doors, laptops, DJ spin equipment. And if you don't think being Italian is about hair jel, being juiced, family, and tanning.... you know, the important things of Italian culture, then you may be miffed and slightly offended.

Despite these glaring inaccuracies of Italian Americans, Jersey Shore is pure entertainment mostly for the fact that these people are like nothing this Californian Girl has ever seen. My old roommate went to Rutgers and first brought my attention to these self-proclaimed "Guidos." When she would tell me the stereotype--5'10, fake tanned, buff beyond belief, gold chaings, house music--I couldn't quite grasp the concept. Sure, I had seen True Life: Summer at the Jersey Shore, and watched with open mouthed amusement, but nothing could compare to MTVs diamond of a reality show such as this one.

Let's not beat around the Jersey bush.... my 27th birthday party is surprisingly Jersey Shore themed. Bump-its AND denim on denim in all it's glory. I'm also thinking of painting my garage door with the red, green and white motif- but then again, my Jewish grandma would plotz.

Sincerely,
J-Woww SF
Beat the Beat

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
14
Fun to Read
23
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
October 23, 2010
How was your Jersey Shore party? Sounds like it was a blast, J-WowwSF ;p Maybe you could make a list of how to host the perfect Jersey Shore party?
 
January 19, 2010
Funny review. I'm surprised it took TV peeps so long to jump on the Guido meme.
 
January 18, 2010
I was finally sucked into the awesomeness that is "Jersey Shore" after much coercing from my friends, and I'm helplessly hooked now. Hilarious review, Jhomeezie, keep 'em up!
 
January 14, 2010
Ha, did you get your Joisy Shore name through the Facebook Jersey Shore Name Generator?  I got the Kim Kardashian of San Francisco, and The Opportunity.  I'm gonna use the latter for if I ever get invited to a Jersey Shore themed party :D  Great review, Jenny, I love this show, too!
 
1
More Jersey Shore reviews
review by . February 03, 2010
posted in Reality Rehash
All Sorts of Ridiculousness
Who knew that a heavy dose of self-tanned, worked out, Ed Hardy decked out, potty mouthed, uninhibited, self-professed guidos and guidettes could be so entertaining?        When I first watched the True Life Jersey Shores series that spawned this series, I couldn't believe that people like that existed, which is one of the reasons why I was so captivated with it, because it let us get into the minds of people who behaved in such ways.  The people on the show seemed …
review by . December 07, 2009
posted in Pass The Remote!
Where do I begin? This is the BEST trash "reality TV" show that's been on air since I don't know when! In 2003, the MTV series "True Life" aired an episode called "I Have A Summer Share" which introduced the world to the Jersey Shore and what one of the "stars" called "the world's biggest meat market" with a bunch of incredibly tanned, f-bomb dropping, violent, obnoxiously drunk and mostly Sicilian/Italian …
Quick Tip by . November 12, 2011
posted in Pass The Remote!
It's TV shows like this that sometimes make me loathe humanity if shit like this is popular. All this show consists of is a bunch of entitled 20 somethings of Italian descent with forcibly-tanned skin that only care abouit partying and getting laid. If I were of Italian heritage, I'd smack somebody if they associated me with these piles of garbage. Also, the fact that they associate each other as "guidos" really makes them bad caricatures. The only good things about Jersey Shore is that South Park …
Quick Tip by . January 18, 2010
posted in That's Beat
shows like this make me want to sell my TV and move to a jungle hut somewhere
Quick Tip by . January 14, 2010
I know this show is trash, but why do I always look forward to the next episode & why do I think it's so good? Because it's so bad?
Quick Tip by . December 08, 2009
so ridiculous.
About the reviewer
Jenny Homer ()
Member Since: Jan 13, 2010
Last Login: Jan 16, 2010 01:32 AM UTC
About this tv show

Wiki

Download Jersey Shore Episodes

Jersey Shore is a television series on MTV that follows 8 housemates spending their summer on the Jersey Shore. In it, the show examines the lives of young adults living and vacationing on the various resort towns in the northern part of the Jersey Shore, more specifically the town of Seaside Heights, where they live in a common living space and help to run a t-shirt store. The show plays upon the stereotype of the guido, prompting criticism from groups such as the National Italian American Foundation and from some people living in the area.

On this week's episode of Jersey Shore, Ronnie finally gets what was coming to him after Sam finds the "the note" documenting his run-ins with other ladies. And Snooki is now swingin' single — watch out forJersey Shore Season 2 Episode 5
 

view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
That's Beat is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists