Pass The Remote!
Pass The Remote!
Come on over and share your remote's faves!
30 Rock

American television comedy series created by Tina Fey

< read all 7 reviews

why do i love Jack Donaghy? oh, let me count the reasons...

  • Dec 10, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+4
I have to say, my absolute favorite character on TV right now is Jack Donaghy (played by Alec Baldwin) on 30 Rock. He's Liz Lemon's boss and fictional head of NBC. 

I think Baldwin does an incredible job spinning the authoritative "suit" role by alternating between WASP entitlement, child-like giddiness, and vunerability. What's great is that he says the most politically incorrect things about sex, race, and class — and still manages to come off as likable. How does a rich, white male character pull that off? 

Favorite Jack Donaghy lines (in no particular order): 

This ought to prove my mother wrong, saying Donaghy is Gaelic for failure. What the hell does she know, she's a Murphy: Bunch of mud farmers and sheep rapists. 

Just to know she's filled with bile over me warms my heart. 

So I was doing some research on comedy and I came across the cartoon strip "Dilbert." It's quite good. And I was wondering if we could do that. 

Liz: Why are you wearing a tux? 
Jack: It's after six. What am I, a farmer? 

Don't gloat, it makes you seem man-ish. 

Sure, I gotcha. New York, third-wave feminist. College-educated, single, and pretending to be happy about it, over-scheduled, undersexed, you buy any magazine that says "healthy body image" on the cover, and every two years you take up knitting ... for a week. 
jack donaghy, played by alec baldwin

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
26
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
10
Well-Organized
8
Post a Comment
March 21, 2010
I also LOVE Jack Donaghy. I heard Tina Fey say in an interview that Alec Baldwin carried 30 Rock when the show first started
 
April 03, 2009
Also: "Never go with a hippy to a second location," and "Everybody has their coping methods - I use sex and awesomeness."
April 03, 2009
There have been so many great Donaghy quotes since I wrote this review (before the third season). I'd love someone else to collect some new quotes — hint, hint! :)
 
December 12, 2008
That's a good one! And also, I can't believe I left out my FAVE Donaghy line: "I wish I were a horse—strong, free, my chestnut haunches glistening in the sun."
 
December 11, 2008
My favorite Jack Donaghy line is: "This company has a very strict bros before hoes policy."
 
1
More 30 Rock reviews
Quick Tip by . December 27, 2011
posted in Pass The Remote!
I'm aware of the fact that everyone seems to love this series, and I'm aware of how awesome Tracy Morgan, Jane Krakowski, and especially Alec Baldwin and Tina Fey are in their roles. But it's not a series I ever really was able to really get into.
Quick Tip by . October 09, 2010
Unusually sophisticated. How I wish this kind of thing were the network's formula for competing with cable.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
will sell my life for 30 rock
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
This show grows on you, very funny!
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
I watched one episode and had no desire to watch another one. I was disappointed.
Quick Tip by . May 22, 2010
HILARIOUS! Kenneth the page, has done some awesome stuff online..go find it
About the reviewer
I'm a curious foodie, a devout fashion gawker, and an unrepentant print nerd. I work at one of the last mainstream commercial magazines that's still printing.      Other things … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
LingEatsCake
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

The show deals with the goings on behind the camera of the fictional live sketch comedy series, TGS with Tracy Jordan.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Pass The Remote! is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists