Pass The Remote!
Pass The Remote!
Come on over and share your remote's faves!

For those of us who miss the "Sopranos" we have a new show to embrace

  • Sep 20, 2010
Rating:
+5

“Boardwalk Empire” a new HBO series airing at 9 PM est has all the verve, violence and sex that made the “Sopranos” such a mega hit!  This should not be surprising since it is created and produced by Terrence Winter who wrote and produced the “Sopranos.”  In addition, this great show has the incomparable direction of Martin Scorsese whose artistic yet realistic interpretation of American crime and political corruption in past works is once again on prominent display in this series.  Scorsese is also an executive producer so he has left his “fingerprints” on the series throughout a myriad of aspects from casting to costume and scene production according to the official website.
 
“Boardwalk Empire” is about the “explosion” of organized crime in America after the passage of prohibition.  In the series, organized crime and political corruption is viewed through the microcosm of Atlantic City NJ.  The main character “Nucky” Thompson (Steve Buscemi) is a local politician who understands the potential money he can make from off of prohibition by running political interference for the organized crime syndicate. 
 
Some of the things that I like about this series are how the plot is a look at America’s “Roaring 20’s,” a historical time period not often depicted in Hollywood.  In addition, I am impressed with the attention to detail that went into costume design, and especially set design.  A boardwalk had to be built in Greenpoint NY to replicate the original boardwalk and store fronts of Atlantic City of the 1920’s.  The series is a look into the often ignored by Hollywood early crime life of “Lucky” Luciano, Al Capone and other major American crime figures.  Finally, the acting is superb, this is a genre that is “custom” made for Buscemi, (remember his superb episodes in the Sopranos, Reservoir Dogs, Con Air, etc.). 
 
If you didn’t watch the debut this Sunday, “get on it” this is going to be another great cable series “must see TV”!!!
 

For those of us who miss the For those of us who miss the For those of us who miss the For those of us who miss the

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
December 10, 2010
LOVE this show
 
October 18, 2010
I love this time period and Martin Scorcese mob stories, so I knew that I was going to be hooked. It's a perfect fill-in for my Sunday night True Blood obsession. Don't you just love HBO programming?
October 18, 2010
Yes I love HBO programming and True Blood. I am also a Big Love fan and I am waiting for the Showtime series The Borgias, same folks that did the Tudors.
December 07, 2010
I haven't checked out the Showtime Series but, will have to give it a look. I also wanted to let you know that I featured this in my Pass the Remote! Community.
 
September 20, 2010
I agree! I just got done watching it and it is pretty impressive! Nice review! I think I am hooked!
September 20, 2010
I am really interested in the potential for the character development on this show as I was on the Sopranos.
 
1
More Boardwalk Empire reviews
review by . December 07, 2010
posted in Pass The Remote!
HBO has another winner on its hands and as the first season of this epic series winds down it is time to grade the first season. Firstly it is hard to watch this film and not realize that the outdoor scenes do not occur on the actual historic Atlantic City Boardwalk but in a recreated set somewhere in Brooklyn.      As the series began so did Prohibition. The main protaginist of the series (Nookie Thompson) sees this as a great opportunity as he can control the illegal alcohol …
About the reviewer
Michael Neulander ()
Recently graduated with a Masters in Humanities degree from Old Dominion University reading in philosophy and history. I graduated from the Univ. of Miami in 1980 with a B.A. in Political Science; specializing … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MNeulander
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

Boardwalk Empire is an upcoming American television series from premium cable network HBO, set in Atlantic City, New Jersey during the Prohibition era. Starring Steve Buscemi, the show is adapted from Nelson Johnson's book, Boardwalk Empire: The Birth, High Times, and Corruption of Atlantic City by Emmy award-winning screenwriter and producer Terence Winter of The Sopranos.[1]
The first episode was directed by Martin Scorsese. On September 1, 2009, HBO picked up the series for an additional 11 episodes.[2] The series is scheduled to debut on September 19, 2010.[3]
Filming was done on a specially created set in Greenpoint, Brooklyn.[4]
Contents [hide]

[edit] Martin Scorsese's Contribution

Martin Scorsese was involved in the project even before creator Terence Winter. He directed the pilot and established the look of the show, which other directors later emulated to make the show feel seamless. He is also one of the executive producers of the show. Winter stated that Scorsese weighs on the casting decisions, watches all the cuts and dailies. Up until the shooting of the show's first season, Scorsese and Winter would meet every Sunday afternoon to review what went on during the week where Scorsese would have comments and suggestion. Martin Scorsese is expected to continue to be creatively involved in the ongoing production and if the series ...
view wiki

Details

Polls with this tv show
Arli$$

Best HBO Series

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Pass The Remote! is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists